We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed our stay!”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Fredonia Wi USA
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Enjoyed our stay!”
Reviewed 15 November 2013

We were travel agencies spies of sorts, and will give a stellar review to them!
We arrived 5 hrs early - guest desk gave us wrist bands and towel cards - said go have fun - eat, drink, swim etc VERY friendly staff throughout resort!! I had no issue tipping $1.00 often as staff was worth it, and remembered it by returning even better services!
Food was good to great - something a little different every meal at main buffet, and wide selections at every restaurant, from cooked to order to buffet selections. Sure, the occasional piece of tough meat on buffet, but that is usually the case at any buffet ! Simply dont eat it and grab another. ONLY issue with any of them is that every one of them does close for a time between meals.
Room was available 20 min. late but was no issue as we sat poolside and walking beautiful grounds taking in the entire resort. Room was cleaned well daily. My wife who is a bit of a cleanahaulic, would make the bed in the morning only to find it re-made in the afternoon in a slightly different style each day :-) We had no issues with bugs or bad smells inside, though on occasion, if the wind was wrong, we would smell the nearby jungle [ and maybe a bit of the on site sewerage system??...lol] Winds shifted often enough to not make it an issue.
As expected, the pool with the swim up bar was the younger crowd for the most part, larger pool nearby was the older crowd. We spent a lot of our time between the two at nice tables / chairs with umbrella's.
Dress code is not "enforced" at pool side restaurant, but being dry, wearing shoes of some sort and having sleeves is appreciated. They did grill burgers outside for those who wanted to eat in their swim suits and were conscious of basic courtesy. This is an "adult only" resort where you wouldnt expect a wet chair at lunch in my opinion.
I am not a drinker at home, at all, but found the cocktails to be well balanced with alcohol - if you want more, just ask...or tip well and they will start pouring you very strong drinks..lol
Wildlife abounds - PLEASE do not feed them [ per signs everywhere] ! It only encourages them to beg for more! Nothing like watching some dingdong feed the coate's then start to have a fit because it bit them trying to get a pc of bread they were teasing them with!! These ARE wild animals, not anyone's pets! When I first walked out onto my porch a whole herd of them came running to me, expecting food as the guests before us [ and next to us ] obviously had, and were.
I find it hilarious that so many from the UK complain about "loud and obnoxious" Americans and Canadians, but then dont mention a word about the huge, cellulite riddled, man-thong wearing, wrinkly old banana boob exposing individuals from their homeland....There are MANY forms of pollution out there.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
11 Thank troy82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,569 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,458
    2,049
    646
    258
    158
See reviews for
584
4,124
57
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,582)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
saint louis
Level 5 Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 November 2013

I like to state in my reviews first, that we have been to All Inclusives in the region for over 20 years. We go 2 to 4 times per year as it`s an easy 2 hour and 40 minute flight. We`ve been there a lot, I`m guilty.

The Ocean Maya was just perfect for us as it`s a smaller resort therefore you don`t have to walk or get a golf cart to move about. We never stay at the larger "mega resorts". You can get anywhere in a couple minutes.

Food: Outstanding. If I had to pay for those meals at a hotel where I live I`d be broke.

Rooms: We had the Run of House, we didn`t pay for any "special" room. It was just fine.

Beach: It`s a lot of sand, with beach chairs and palapas/umbrellas with plenty of room for everyone, great. If you want an expansive beach that looks like Punta Cana, then go there or further south to Tulum.

Privilege Services: In my experience with numerous resorts, it`s totally not worth it. To each his own.

My overall report, go have a great time. You`ll love it.

Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
6 Thank drooly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Durham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Guests who claim this is an excellent resort and describe it as paradise must have done very little travelling! It's a shame about this hotel, they really do need to sort out their problems.
On arrival we found our room was damp and although eventually they agreed to move us, it took a fair amount of shall we say 'discussion' at reception, before they reluctantly and not very politely agreed to move us.
We were also disappointed with the cleanliness of the room (as were other guests we spoke to) apart from the bed being made, little else was done. A broken fingernaiI found on the dirty toiletries tray ( toiletries had been used by previuos guests) was still there when we left....tissues were not refilled..... the wash basin was covered in dirty runs on the outside....so i cleaned the bathroom daily, to be on the safe side.
The beach is disappointingly small, a huge portion taken up at the front for Privileged guests and the sea was at best cloudy but often full of weed..... so no chance of snorkelling. Both pools were used for activities so little room to swim and the music from the 'activity' pool boomed out relentlessly all day, every day....so take your own player n headphones if you want some respite.
Then there was the shaded sunbed grab! There simply are not enough sunbeds or umbrellas. Our first day was spent wandering up and down the beach for an hour and a half asking if sunbeds were free. We then had to drag them along the beach and pitch up under someone else's umbrella which wasn't ideal and they probably thought it was a real cheek! However by then we were beginning to get sunburnt ( my husband is very fair skinned) despite a good layer of sunscreen.
Even at 8 o'clock in the morning the sunbeds all have towels on them but only one or two people sitting there! As my husband gets up every day at 6am to get to work on time, it is ridiculous that we had to do that on holiday in order to get a sunbed with shade. There are plenty of empty ones in the cordoned off Privilege area....what a waste of the beach!
We took this up with customer service and their response was that they couldnt do anything about it saying they had put signs up asking people not to do it. We suggested that as they make the rules, they should enforce them but they said they didn't want to upset their guests. So this issue will not be resolved any time soon!! We offered to pay extra to use the Privilege sunbeds but they wouldn't allow that. Eventually after a lot of arguing they agreed to reserve two sunbeds and an umbrella for us every day ....a security guard kept them for us and we gave him a five dollar tip every day.
Now to be more positive ..... the gardens are beautiful and very well kept, a real credit to the gardeners, and we really enjoyed watching the wildlife in the grounds. We also found most of the staff helpful, polite and hard working. The girls cooking fish and steaks on the hotplates in the evening buffet restaurant were impressive and cheerful despite being so hot. Generally the food was good and there was so much choice you would have to be extremely picky not to find something to eat, but yes they need to think about warming the plates.
Mosquitos are a problem....especially at the Italian restaurant where I received some horrible bites which made my legs swell up....so take plenty of mozzie spray or better still buy some 'Off' from the shop as it works well.
We went to Chichen Itza....expensive trip and a very long day but amazing and well worth it. Coba was excellent too but the buffet lunch left many of us ill with sickness and diarrhoea for the duration of the holiday. We also shared a taxi with another couple and went to Tulum which was the highlight of our holiday....amazing place....beautiful beach and a lovely swim....(and a fraction of the price of the other trips!) so can definately recommend it.
If you get the opportunity to go to Coco Bongo's give it a go ...we had a fantastic night.
And finally...... there were too many very loud, drunk, greedy, wasteful Americans at this hotel. The rooms are jaded and not very clean. The beach was very disappointing, as was the sea, and generally it was a struggle to chill out and relax. Would we go back to The Ocean Maya ?....well i'm afraid the answer has to be no....nor would we recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank holliedaze28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bude, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 November 2013

Great for first holiday to Mexico, lovely staff, nice little beach, big pools. People put towels down early which is annoying,it is hard to get a lounger with shade unless you decide to do same which we don't like to do. One loud pool for games and drinkers, one quiet one.
A lot of people were going to return, we don't normally revisit anywhere but would recommend it to friends for a relaxing holiday.
Only a £10 taxi trip to Peurto del Carmen, worth a trip. Lots of trips available from hotel to various sights. Enjoyed jungle trip which involved zip wires, abseiling, snorkelling through caves.
Only one bad day of weather and maybe two afternoons, apart from that lovely and hot.

Great for first holiday to Mexico, lovely staff, nice little beach, big pools. People put towels down early which is annoying,it is hard to get a lounger with shade unless you decide to do same which we don't like to do. One loud pool for games and drinkers, one quiet one.
A lot of people were going to return, we don't normally revisit anywhere but would recommend it to friends for a relaxing holiday.
Only a £10 taxi trip to Peurto del Carmen, worth a trip. Lots of trips available from hotel to various sights. Enjoyed jungle trip which involved zip wires, abseiling, snorkelling through caves.
Only one bad day of weather and maybe two afternoons, apart from that lovely and hot.
Seemed s waste of space in Privilege as no one there and just annoyed everyone else.
Lovely staff, very hardworking and at times putting up with rude customers. We saw a lot of the lovely Nora who was always busy.
Plenty of food and drink, loads to choose from.
Seemed s waste of space in Privilege as no one there and just annoyed everyone else.
Lovely staff, very hardworking and at times putting up with rude customers. We saw a lot of the lovely Nora who was always busy.
Plenty of food and drink, loads to choose from.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MEBAJB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tucson
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

Excellent resort we flew into cozumel and took the ferry over which took about 30 min and was very simple i would choose this route over flying to cancun and taking a taxi, it was more enjoyable and im comparing that the the taxi ride from hotel to cancun airport on our deptarting flight, the hotel had beautiful well kept grounds and very nice staff, food wasnt anything to write home about but it was edible. nice beach and would return again if ever in the area..

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MGPHAAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Derby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

first trip to mexico with my partner. really liked this hotel. on arrival we were a little disppotinted with our room as it was really out of the way of anything with a view of trees and noting else, we did email prior to arrival to request a room close to the sea. after speaking to the reception team they sorted a new room for us which would be ready the next day after 3pm. the view we had in the new room was a nice view of the gardens and sea :) they also left us a bottle of wine and some chocolate covered strawberries which was a nice surprise.

we spent most of our sunbathing on the beach just by the massage hut, we found it really peaceful with a nice breeze of the sea and also away from the daily entertainments that went on around the pool bar. which was good as we wanted a nice relaxing holiday. we did find that we had get up really early (6am) to reserve sunbeds, even though they say you're not to, everybody does it so it best just to get up get a good spot. once your towels are down, go back to bed or go for breakfast.

food wise, it was good, we mainly ate at the mexican and the buffet. they change the theme daily in buffet to stop it getting boring which is good. drinks on tap, they waiting staff are on it with asking if you want drinks. the tamarind margarita was my favourite.

The staff all work so hard, they workm really long hours and always have a smile on their faces.

i would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CaraMills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cayo Coco, Cuba
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

Been back a few days now we flew on the Dreamliner not as quick as I was expecting going but only 8 and a half hours coming back.we stayed at this hotel last year and found it had changed very little a bit of decorating had been done .more mossies this year probably because of the rain we had 6days sporadically but when it rained it poured.we saw more iguanas this year and we saw the usual critters those coatis and raccoons and what a nice surprise we saw the deer .beach was lovely but still had problem getting beds as people were hogging them I suggested that maybe they let customers use the privilege area for a small charge for the brollies and beds as there were nearly all empty probably because it cost too much for the package.we ate at the Italian which was nice .holiday overall was very chilled and would return again.we did not go anywhere as the cost of trips were very high cheapest being 68pounds each and long days,very tiring.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fishy0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
664 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,525 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#42 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,420 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,281 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,649 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#41 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
5,503 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing