We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Maya Royale
Nearby Hotels
US$265
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Mahekal Beach Resort(Playa del Carmen)
US$278
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$268
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Hotels.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (7,207)
Filter reviews
7,207 results
Traveller rating
3,905
2,186
674
276
166
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
3,905
2,186
674
276
166
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsblue moonel charropool bardolce vitajapanese restaurantentertainment staffprivilege areaprivilege beachprivilege guestsfoam partyquiet poolbeach areathomson repprivilege packagecoco bongoour favouriteactivity pool
Filter
Updating list...
2,834 - 2,839 of 7,207 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014

My husband and I went to celebrate our anniversary here in July and fell absolutely in love. Staff was the sweetest...our waitress Ana Iris was so amazing! ! Very clean, entertainment was great..we felt right at home. Looking forward to going back real soon.

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank sjacosta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just come back from a weeks holiday at the Ocean Maya Royale, had a fabulous time, the hotel is amazing, immaculate gardens and beach, staff very friendly and helpful, accommodation amazing had very large room, very clean and tidy and cleaned every day, lots of wild life in grounds.
Also recommend a Hot Stone Massage in the spa, A-MAZ-ING,
Must visit the italian restaurant at the hotel called La Dolce Vita - the staff are very very friendly, especially Oscar and Jose, they were both amazing, they made you feel welcome and special and were very helpful, always referred to us as " my king and queen." The service was excellent and the food is amazing, have several meals during our week, no complaints what so ever.
Could not find one thing to complain or pick fault about the hotel either, EXCELLENT
Would definitely recommend it and also holiday there again

Room Tip: We had a deluxe double room with sea view but it doesn't really matter as there is plenty of wildlife in the grounds to see, where ever you are and the ground are immaculate, would recommend a balcony rather than a terrace because the balcony's are more private. The terraced are near the pathways so not so private as you can see in them
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
10  Thank Helen R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We booked two weeks here hoping for chilled out relaxation and that's exactly what we got! The hotel itself is beautiful. I loved that instead of big blocks of rooms, the accommodation is organised into villas throughout the grounds with 8 rooms in each. In between each villas are small paths with beautifully landscaped gardens around them and the local wildlife so many reviews talk about; we saw deer, coatis and iguanas every day and it's great that these little guys exist alongside the tourists. They won't bother you at all and will quite happily carry on about their business as you snap away with your camera!

The rooms themselves are extremely clean, comfortable and spacious, a lovely space to come back to at the end of the day. We were in block 23 which had a lovely view over the gardens and a patio space that had been created; it was really convenient position wise too as we were about in the middle between the beach / pool area and the main restaurants / bar / lobby but it isn't a huge hotel so I don't think any rooms are going to be in bad locations. Perhaps during the day those near the "party pool" might be able to hear the music so if that isn't your thing you could ask to be away from there but you aren't going to get any noise from that at night so I can't honestly see it being a problem.

All the restaurants are fantastic; we ate in them all and I think it's brilliant that are all included in the all-inclusive, as many times as you want to go. We tried them all multiple times! Our favourites were the Dolce Vita don by the beach, being able to listen to the waves on the beach as you eat is just lovely and the Japanese restaurant Yookoso at the hibatchi, show-cooking tables. Alfredo the chef is an absolute asset to the hotel; he is talented, friendly and fun and his food is delicious! We quite simply did not have a bad meal the whole two weeks.

The two pools are great - the party pool is perfect for those who want a more lively day time scene, with the swim up bar, music, volley ball and other games. We used this pool almost every day at around 4pm for cocktails in the pool! Just next to it is the quiet pool and this is perfect for chilling out and it is quiet! I don't really understand some of the reviews complaining that this resort is too loud as I think it's perfectly possible to avoid the loud pool completely and have a very peaceful holiday, which we did most of the time, using mainly the beach and the quiet pool but it was nice to have the option to go to the party pool for a bit of music and drinks. The fact that this hotel is adults only is another aspect that really does help the atmosphere be one of luxury and relaxation.

Around the pool people do "reserve" sunbeds with their towels despite notices asking them not to do this...but this happens everywhere. I never quite understand why it's so important to some people to have specific sunbeds every day especially when just a few feet away is a gorgeous, white, powder sand beach and the Caribbean sea! We lay on the sunbeds on the beach most days and this was perfect for us...equal distance between the warm waters of the Caribbean and the equally warm waters of the pool! The bar staff working on the beach walk up and down all day taking drinks orders so you don't need to move if you really don't want to! (please tip though - this must be hot and tiring work yet it's all done with friendly smiles and cheery attitudes).

That brings me onto one of the best things about the fantastic resort; the staff are absolutely some of the best I've ever had the good fortune to be looked after by anywhere, ever! Every single member of staff we came across from the bartenders to the maintenance guys had a warm "hola" for everyone and they work so hard; wherever you are in the resort somebody is working to make this hotel the paradise it is, whether that is raking seaweed from the beach (there's not much of it but it gets cleared straight away anyway!) or pruning bushes in the lush gardens. We even saw someone painting a lampost by torchlight one evening as we walked to the Dolce Vita restaurant. It is not surprising therefore that the hotel and grounds are immaculate. What is truly lovely is that the staff genuinely seem happy to see you and to enjoy their jobs. I thanked one of the men who keep the beach tidy for working so hard to make the place beautiful and with a big smile he replied "this is not work, it's play!" What a lovely attitude! (because in 38 degree heat, I bet I'd think it was work!)

I would not hesitate to recommend Mexico and this hotel in particular to anyone. Go, immediately and when you're there make sure you try the Blue Sky cocktail! Thank you to all the staff for a wonderful holiday!

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
21  Thank TravelGirl1801
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

Just returned today, all I can say is this hotel is paradise. The room was perfect thank you so much for accommodating all our requests. The room was cleaned every day with clean towels. The food was amazing our favourite restaurants were the Italian and Japanese, there is something for everyone, I am a very fussy eater but had no problems. The grounds were we'll maintained and clean. The staff never stop. Our favourite waiters were Oscar and Jose from the Italian restaurant, and favourite bar staff was Oli and Octavio from main bar.

The entertainment was ok could be better during the day. We stayed by the noisey pool it was fine we had no problem at the end of the day everyone is on holiday and they were enjoying themselves.

Overall the hotel is paradise and I would definetly return again xxx

Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
1  Thank sharonsnedd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 August 2014

My spouse and I went in Easter, 2014 (sorry for the late review!)LOL
Service, food, atmosphere and staff were excellent. An adult only resort, we were able to relax so nicely as a couple.
The staff was helpful. They even fixed my sunglasses which had fallen apart!
I would recommend for a relaxing holiday.

Room Tip: All good rooms, I quite liked being far away from the pool and beach, very quiet and restful
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
6  Thank NotaPickyGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews