We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Staff makes this place...”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #48 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Staff makes this place...”
Reviewed 30 August 2014

The resort itself is nice, there are some opportunities for improvement in various places. However, the staff made our vacation a memorable one. To name a few people we'll never forget:
Oli, Victor, Octonio, and Eber. We had daily interactions with these guys and they went above and beyond to show us the best part of hospitality in Mexico. From recommendations of attractions, to the making of a drink, jokes, and shared traveler stories...each exchange was something to share when we got home. I will say, the food was not well received with our party. I know everyone now is a "self proclaimed" foodie...but there is much room for improvement. There are different cuisines throughout the resort, the best experience was the Thursday night Mexican buffet and celebration in the courtyard. Guess... stick to what you know. The SPA was amazing, we had a couples massage right on the beach, well worth it. Also, a hidden gem is near this resort. If you walk along the beach to the left of the main part of the beach, past a few resort fronts. You'll find a private, beautiful green water lagoon. A MUST SEE ask the pool bar guys they'll tell you. Last but not least, the place isn't much of a party place, some nights that's not so bad. However, the resident DJ should be fired, he was rude at any approach during all events he was in charge of. Not exactly welcoming and not going to stay on for a second later. So if the dance is going great...when they say ends at 11:00pm expect 10:59pm.

Room Tip: Something near the middle, the end hotels facing the beach can be a hike to get to the main lobby an...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Bert O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,337 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,297
    2,007
    625
    253
    155
See reviews for
559
4,001
53
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,560)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014

Overall a fantastic resort. Staff was very friendly, great food...staff..day activities..and clean! It is a great place for couples who want to relax together. Night life had some shows but no late partying. Depends what you are looking for, if you want a great place to relax with one another highly recommended. If you are a young group of friends this might not be the best place for you. Overall I would visit again and recommend it to others :)

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank raemclean
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2014 via mobile

Overall we had a great time here. A few small things which could be improved on. Room was nice and spacious, however, we had to request clean sheets twice on arrival and the sheets never reached the end of the bed! Reception quickly sent staff to resolve this and were happy to offer compensation. The quieter pool could do with a good clean, my husband stood on a piece of metal wire in there! Despite this we enjoyed our stay. The staff make this hotel, always smiling, polite and friendly. Particularly Oli (shot man!), Ana and Octavio for keeping us in drinks!

Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
8 Thank Trendi_Wendi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2014

Stayed here for two weeks in August. Fantastic place. Please don't listen to the moaners especially about wi-fi this is free everywhere and if it goes off occasionally so what 'it's FREE'. On arriving check in was very quick and our suitcases were taken to the room by the Bell Boy.The room was very spacious and had two queen sized beds. We were in room 3501 which was quite near the pool but nothing is very far away from anywhere.
There were four restaurants, La Hacienda which was the buffet, Japanese, Mexican, Italian and the Al a carte. All were excellent but the Italian was our favourite. The Mexican was situated pool side and doubled up as a snack bar during the day.
Pool area is lovely with two pools, one quieter than the other. The noisier one had the swim up bar where you were served by Tony and Gerado who always had a smile on their faces.
One day our air conditioning went off and an engineer was sent around immediately. Unfortunately he couldn't rectify the problem immediate;ly and we were offered another room for the night and the next day, after the engineer spent quite a while solving the problem we returned to our room. Couldn't ask for better service than that. We spoke to different people at reception asking for updates and each one was able to answer without any hesitation so obviously they all 'talked' to each other which doesn't happen very often in the UK.
There was entertainment every night, some good, some bad but they try to cater for all tastes.
I am sure there will have been something I have missed but all in all a fabulous hotel. Oh don't forget the mosquito spray.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank MSs403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Padiham, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at the Ocean Maya for 2 weeks, we had upgraded to the Honeymoon Suite and with this came privileged benefits. On arrival we were quickly checked in and welcomed with two cocktails. This level of service continued right through our stay, the Privileged benefits are far more than a few top shelf drinks.
We ate breakfast in the Privilege Area every morning and Franciso and Alberto ensured that well looked after and we had a choice of items on the menu. My hubby had the traditional Mexican breakfast of chilaquiles on several occasions.
We only ate in the Hacienda once or twice as the restaurants at the Ocean Maya were amazing, the Mexican was nice and relaxed, we ate at the Japanese at both the show grill and a la carte and we could not fault this, Alfredo puts on quite a show and his food is delicious.
My favorite place had to be Dolce Vita, Marco the manager has an excellent team of waiters and runs the restaurant really well, on occasions we came doen for drinks in the bar as its such a lovely atmosphere. We were looked after by Primitivo ( who kept us topped up with drinks bringing them over even before we asked ) Elyses ( apologies for spelling) spoilt us with the fresh bread and we were lucky to have Oscar as our waiter on a number of occasions and also as our Beach Butler. Oscar is very funny and friendly and takes time to ensure you have the best holiday experience. Karolina also looked after us for most of the day in the privilege beach area, again we were spoilt by her.
Yovanetti helped us work through the cocktail menu in the lounge, yes the lounge is hot, but its Mexico.
Our room was lovely and well cleaned daily by the maid, the evening maid also came round and turned down the bed and provided fresh towels, the mini was replenished daily, therefore we enjoyed drinks in the hot tub each evening.
The beach area is lovely and clean and we didn't see much seaweed and we went in the sea everyday, as it was lovely and warm. There is a bit of seaweed, but it is the sea so its not really such a surprise, also there is so much wildlife at the hotel and we did not tire of seeing all the animals.
Overall we had an amazing time, from boarding the Dreamliner at the airport. The rep Lindsay from Thomson and all the staff at Ocean Maya were superb and couldn't do enough to ensure that we had an amazing Honeymoon. Thank you all so much.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
20 Thank Janella A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

My husband and I stayed at OMR for the first time on 9th August for 2 weeks. We booked privilege and were treated like royal guests throughout our stay.We had a junior suite(room 205), located in the Royale building quite close to the main area. The restaurants are fantastic such a huge variety to choose from, something to suit everyone. Denise and Alisandra went out of their way to ensure we had everything we needed. Francisco and Antonio looked after us at breakfast time in the privilege lounge, Azucena then Karolina looked after us at the beach, Marco, Adrian and Oscar (James Bond) were perfect hosts in the Italian( try the salmon, main course), Alfredo entertained us at the Japanese tepanyaki table and Tila and Yovanetti kept us refreshed in the evenings with an endless supply of drinks. All the staff were friendly and gave a fantastic service, they work very hard to ensure everyone has a good stay. The hotel and grounds are extremely well maintained and very clean, we saw lots of wild animals. We never had a problem finding a sunbed as we were in the privilege area but there were plenty of sunbeds empty at the beach even though the hotel was full. We tried the spa on a few occasions and had really good service at a reasonable price. Tips : take Factor 30 suncream or above it is very hot and use mosquito bands and repellent throughout your stay.
We had such a fantastic time that we had re booked to go next August within an hour of us arriving home. If you are thinking of booking , just do it, fantastic adult only resort you will enjoy it.
Thankyou to all at OMR for totally spoiling my husband on his birthday, see ya next year.

Room Tip: Privilege junior suites are lovely and roomy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank TRobbo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

The Hotel was above our expectations. The gardens are immaculate and there are maintenance men constantly keeping the areas and buildings looking great.

We were originally in block 5 which was a great room but we upgraded to a sea view for 11 nights – this was room 1204 which was not as good as the previous block. Although the room was clean it was a little ‘tired’ and in need of some maintenance (bathroom in particular).

The level of service and attentiveness was great particularly Oli (shots man ‘see you in 5 minutes’) & Absalon (Speedy) in the lobby bar and Miguel & Tony at the pool bar. The entertainment ranged from magic shows to dancers to fire juggling and the outside staged area was particularly pleasant with attentive waitress / waiter service.

One thing that we were impressed with was that the hotel was completely full but there were plenty of sunbeds / loungers and you never had to wait long to be seated in one of the 4 restaurants or the hacienda buffet area – which was our favourite. Again the choice and quality of the food was astounding, I would have no problem paying for every meal I had if was served it at any external restaurant.

From the men clearing the beach daily from sea grass to the gardeners to the bar tenders everyone works so hard to make your stay as pleasant as possible and with a smile and a ‘olla’ everytime it really does make the difference.

Keep up the good work.

Room Tip: Block 12 has ocean views but is by the noisy pool - this is quiet after 1900 and before 1000hrs. B...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jasonmci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,059 reviews
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#50 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 9,198 reviews
7.8 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#31 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,976 reviews
20.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#24 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#36 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HRS, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing