We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It's a 3 1/2 star but they try like it's a 5.”
Review of Ocean Maya Royale

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Ocean Maya Royale
Ranked #47 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Barrie, ON
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“It's a 3 1/2 star but they try like it's a 5.”
Reviewed 26 March 2009

This is an excellent resort in a very nice setting. The staff is what really makes this resort. From start to finish they go all out to please you. The food was no better or worse than any other all inclusive. It is a buffet after all. My only negative comment would be that the front desk at check in and out is a little slow. Just keep that in mind a lower your expectations and more importantly allow yourself a little extra time to check in and out. The entertainment staff are excellent. These folks have an amazing work ethic and are very genuine. They are the pulse of this resort even if their speedos are a little tight (holy banana hammock). Overall very highly recommended. An outstanding family resort with plenty of time for relaxation a good quality family time. I would not hesitate in very highly recommending this resort and we will return.
Some tips:
1. Coffee is weak so stick to lattes. The bartender opens at 0900 and he makes a latte better than any starbucks.
2. Beds are hard so be prepared. Ask for extra pillows first thing.
3. In the Mexican restaurant order Mexican food, In the Italian restaurant order Italian food and you wont be disappointed.
4. Try the Mojitos they rock.
5. No need to bring towels they have lots.
6. Although there is no expectation to tip it would be a a good idea to bring along some US one dollar bills. Again these folks work hard and they deserve anything extra.
7. The kids club is excellent and the two staff that run it are perhaps the most engaged people at the resort. Alex and Adrianna are outstanding.
8. Lobby has free high speed so it is worth your while to take a laptop and or a skype phone.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DisplacedEastCoaster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

6,505 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    3,415
    2,034
    643
    255
    158
See reviews for
580
4,081
55
18
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (1,578)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton, AB
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2009

After looking a for a last minute deal for Riviera Mayan, I found two weeks at $1097 pp Canadian. It was worth every penny!!! The food was delicious! The staff was very friendly, the nightly entertainment was very professional.
We spent most of our time laying around the pool because the beach was not all that great. But that wasnt a big deal for us becuase we travelled quite a bit to other beaches. The pools like many I have seen in Mexico were not heated. It was very refreshing after laying out. Being there for two weeks we got to know many of the staff which are very friendly, especially if you take part in activities around the pool.
My fiance spent much time around the bar where he got to know the bartenders that were extremly fun, friendly and spoke very good english. I also recommend to sit around the bar if you are looking to meet people.
The food was very good. Breakfast I always had an omeltte that was never dissapointing, and fresh fruit. Lunch was a very large variety of pastas, sandwiches, salads and many mexican dishes. If you were around the pool or sitting on the beach you had a choice of the pool bar that had hamburgers and hot dogs, or snacks of your choice. Dinner was always our favorite. Dont miss out on Japanese night where you have a choice of fresh made sushi that made my fiance wait around for a second helping. The a la carte restaurants were also very good. The Japanase restaurant was more than we expected, you have a choice of different dinners and I recommend the one where you sit around the grill. That was very exciting and delicious!!!
The only negative thing I can think about off the top of my head is the rooms need to be updated. Especially with some new matresses. But this seems to be a regular complaint at many Mexican resorts. However they were pretty bad. I tossed and turned basically everynight and couldnt wait to get home to my bed where I felt like a princess.
We made sure we came up to the lobby everynight for the entertainment which was different everynight. The shows were very professional and you can tell the entertainment staff works very hard to learn all the dances.
The trip to Playa del Carmen was about 10-15 minutes. Make sure you book the shuttle a couple days in advance so you can get the times you want. Or if you prefer its a $14 US cab ride. Which also helped us a couple of times where other couples would be going the same time so we shared a cab.
I cant really say too much more except that we had a really great experience at this resort. I felt very safe, to walk by myself. I wouldnt however be by myself at night. that goes for any resort.

  • Stayed November 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CanadianChica83
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ontario, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2009

We've recently just got back from vacationing at Ocean Maya (formerly H10 hotel) and we were quite disappointed. First, the check-in took a very long time (over an hour). We were travelling with teenagers and families so we wanted our rooms to be close by each other but that did not happen. Nothing special about the food, not a lot of varieties. Very disappointed with the fruits options, not a lot of tropical fruits at all. The specialty restaurants (they have 3), were not very good. Watch out for the Mexican restaurant. I would say though that the Japanese restaurant was excellent. Also regarding the 2 specialty restaurants (Mexican and Italian), if you want steak or lobster, be prepared to pay extra. Not all inclusive in the specialty restaurants. The beach was NON-EXISTENT!. They had a beach area where they have the huts and lounge chairs, but there is no swimming to the beach unless you want to jump off the dock (which we would not recommend). One thing I would give this resort is that their grounds are very well kept, beautiful flowers could be seen and the grass is very green. Very disappointed to have booked at this resort!!!

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank 99Rocha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
barrie
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2009

We loved this resort (we are not in any way connected to hotel)! We went with our 2 young children during March break & loved it. Alot of negative things we read in the reviews before we left I did not experience. I've been to Dominican & Jamaica staying at 5 stars so I think I had pretty high expectiations going in & was pleasantly surprised.
THE GREAT:
The service & entertainment staff were beyond anything I expected. My kids & our friends had a blast. There was always something for us to do on the resort with the kids (kids club, mini disco for kids, & dance shows at night. The pools were awesome: always chairs (not a big resort - good), shallow & deep, and clean. Next to the pools a beach, which the kids loved playing in the sand & there were always free chairs & huts. The beach did not extend to ocean - which we did not mind because our kids always want to swim in pools. There are resorts on either side less than 50 ft where you can enter water to swim if so desired. The food was very good for an all inclusive - I love food so I'm hard to please. There was always choice & fairly decent tasting. The Japenese all la carte was great. There was always coffees at the lobby bar - top notch really. Definetly the most beautiful reasort grounds wise I had ever been to. Great spa - it had alot of services & great staff.
NOT SO GREAT
Beds were hard & a bit small. Rooms were very basic & water had a funny smell at times. Overall the rooms although spotless would be the only low point of this resort.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vacationgirlBarrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ingersoll, Ontario
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 March 2009

Like many others, we read the reviews before we left and were a little nervous. So here is our summary: we were there from March 6 to 13, 2009. We arrived at 10:15 PM- the reception desk told us to leave our luggage (they would keep a watch on it- and they did!) and go to the Buffet to get some food and drinks as it closed at 10:30. We did, and we were VERY appreciative... we commented on what a great way to greet us. The first night at the buffet was lobster and steak dinner- again, a great first impression for dinner.

People complained of waiting too long at the bars for drinks- I never waited more than 4 or 5 minutes, and I do NOT think that is too long at an all-inclusive!! People complained of cold food- we found some of the food in the "warming trays" of the buffet to be cold- so to compensate, we waited a few extra minutes while the cooks finished what was on the grills- and our food was fresh- and HOT!! People complained of no beach- the beach was fabulous- at least the sand portion of it... the water in front of the resort is quite disgusting with black sea grass everywhere- but give yourself a treat and walk down the beach to the right of the resort and you can walk for about 20 kms into Playa Del Carmen if you wish- on the way you will find areas to swim in. We typically walked about 3 or 4 kms (each way) along the beach every day enjoying the sites- and walking off all the food/drinks we were enjoying. The pools are very nice- 2 larger pools and a kiddie pool as well. People complained of the sewer smell at the disco- again this is true but we only went to the disco one night to see what all the fuss was about- we are not disco people- and the disco is very "micky mouse" anyway!! People complained that the beds were to hard-- boo-hoo!! Yes they were hard but that is not uncommon in resorts. Besides- I asked for a king size bed like I do every time I go to an all-inclusive- and this was the first time I got one without having to ask at check-in, so we were very pleased about that.

Overall- we really liked the place and would go back. The complainers really need to give themselves a reality check- we are foreigners in their country, we are usually looking for a great vacation at bargain-basement prices (I was) and we expect them to cater to us??? ? Come on!! As you read above, when we had a "concern" about an issue, we adapted- and we had a great vacation at this resort.

The grounds of this resort are breath-taking with very mature trees, shrubs, flowers etc- it is an older hotel that was renovated in 2007 and some of it's age is evident- but again- it was a 4 star and we feel it lived up to the 4 star rating. If you do go, you must go into Playa Del Carmen to "5th Avenue" for your shopping- there are hundreds of stores and lots of bargains if you barter with the merchants (typically you should pay about half their asking price for items- except in the higher end stores).

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sunandfun2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
East Lansing, MI
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

Terrible beach (basically wasn't one) and food nasty; the beds are like sleeping on wood. We were told the resort was updated but we didn't see where! Don't waste your time here. If you're looking for beach vacation you will be disappointed.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank GoGreen1128
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minnesota
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2009

The staff make this resort a great choice. The beach is the only drawback. We had an excellent stay for 5 nights. The food was better than we expected. There were many choices and always too mch to eat. The Japanese and Italian restaurants were great. Make your reservations for the whole week early. The bungalows are quiet and arranged nicely. The resort is well laid out and easy to move around. The pools were cold in the morning but warmed up later in the day. The mixed drinks are weak but plentiful, they have Corona on tap. The coffee shop adds a nice touch of class. The check in and out were simple, no problems the whole week. The activities staff was fun and energetic, you could be invoved in some sort of activity all day long if you wanted. Ride the free shuttle into Playa and see the real beach and shop the famous flea markets. The grounds were immaculate.

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ashesovercancun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.2 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#54 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,420 reviews
0.4 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#45 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
18.3 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,259 reviews
7.6 mi away
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
Hotel Riu Palace Riviera Maya
#40 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
5,463 reviews
19.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Maya Royale? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Maya Royale

Property: Ocean Maya Royale
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal, km. 299, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#35 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#51 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Ocean Maya Royale 4*
Number of rooms: 320
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All-inclusive luxury in an intimate Caribbean setting, in the heart of the Riviera Maya. Ocean Maya Royale is a luxury all-inclusive beachfront resort in Riviera Maya, in the heart of the Mexican Caribbean. Offering intimate settings and lush tropical landscapes, this Caribbean gem is very close to Playa del Carmen, Tulum, Cozumel and Cancun. Relax and enjoy our Despacio Spa, two swimming pools, exclusive south beach section featuring Balinese sun beds, Dive It! Watersports center and our a la carte restaurants, where you can taste the best International cuisine, including our new beachfront La Dolce Vita restaurant. Ocean Maya Royale is exclusively an Adults Only resort, a perfect retreat for couples, honeymooners and any one over the age of 18 looking for a more relaxing and sofisticated Caribbean experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com, Expedia, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Ocean Maya Royale reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ocean Maya Royale Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Ocean Maya Hotel
Ocean Maya Playa Del Carmen
Hacienda Maya
Ocean Maya Royale Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing