We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Nearby Hotels
Banyan Tree Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$922
US$818
BanyanTree.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$1,998
US$397
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)(Great Value!)
US$288
US$281
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
US$320
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$378
US$336
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$497
US$463
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,076
US$1,004
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Viceroy Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$816
US$796
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$781
US$585
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$723
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14,256)
Filter reviews
14,256 results
Traveller rating
6,474
4,540
1,781
826
635
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,474
4,540
1,781
826
635
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetfun poolmain buffetswim up bareco parkbeach area
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
8,208 - 8,213 of 14,256 reviews
Reviewed 31 May 2012

After much review reading I picked this location for my wedding. What a great decision. It was inexpensive compared to the comparable resorts in the area. We ended up paying about $1,000 per person, including airfare and it was so worth it. We did not upgrade to the Royal Club, and that was just fine. The food was so good, we really enjoyed the Italian and the Asian restaurants, the lamb chops were so great.
The size of the resort was great. There is plenty of room to walk the resort and not be on top of other people. I really liked that, we could take a walk without even leaving the resort.
The wedding was beautiful. We planned all of the details in about 45 minutes, while having a cocktail. It was so relaxing. Our wedding coordinator, Mary Alma was so sweet, she did a great job taking care of all the details.
All of our guest loved it so much that we talk about it every time we are together and we are planning another trip for our anniversary.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank irishangelina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a great vacation with the whole family all my kid and my daughter in-law, who is pregnant and was pickie with her food, took care of her so good at pacos tacos. Our driver JUAN GOMEZ was so nice, my daughter wanted to bring him home. JOSE IUITS, our bell man, was great. And let's not forget our bartender, Thomas from First Club. He was the BEST. He was so nice and patience with all of us.
We had a blast. 10 days was not enough for us and you'll fall in love with this hotel and there staff and they go out of there way to make you feel great.
The hotel is so big and there was so much to do and to see. The hotel keeps you busy and all the restaurant provided so Much food and good food by the chef Aurelio Panti. And sue cheff Daniel Perez went out of his way to serve us and my daughter with a special need she is not able to go up the stairs, they brought her food to the place she was at and she felt like a princess all the time. I don't have enough space to say that we made the right decision on picking this hotel.

Room Tip: We stayed in building 19 but if you are a party person go for this if not ask for building 22
  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Isabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

Very helpful and friendly staff, beautiful resort and beach! Literally I have zero complaints. The food and drinks were good too. A true paradise, I already want to go back! I am a very picky traveler, but this place was amazing and I highly recommend it!

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank 0208JJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

We had a great time at the Occidental Grand Xcaret April 22-May3, 2012. It was a 50 minute drive from Cancun Airport. We used Entertainment Plus (USA Transfers) to/from the hotel and they were excellent. From arrival to departure at the hotel, everyone was friendly, courteous and helpful. The room was a standard room but was very clean with the minibar refilled daily and a very large shower with great water pressure. The concierge at the building was always helpful and friendly and they made our restaurant reservations - thank you Santos and Carl. The place is very large. There is a tram that takes you around which we found useful. Thank you Juan, the tram driver, who always waited for us when he saw us approaching. The Beach: this hotel does not have an ocean front beach but rather has a secluded lagoon which we liked a lot. If you are looking for pounding waves, this is not the place to go. The snorkeling is great right off the beach in the perfectly calm, clear water with plenty of fish. The bar service on the beach provided by Daniela and Ricardo was top notch! The buffets were ok, nothing spectacular, except for a few Mexican dishes at the beach buffet for lunch. The sit down dinners were very good and the staff was very attentive but you are limited to four nights per seven night stay in the specialty restaurants and you have to make a reservation. We saw Armando, the same head waiter, in two different restaurants and his attentiveness really made us feel special - thank you Armando! Xcaret Park: the park is connected to the hotel and is a five minute walk. The normal $100 ticket is discounted at the hotel for $79. Yes, we know this park gets great reviews but we could not see why. It was very expensive and once you got inside there were additional costs for many of the things you would have liked to do. There was a lot of walking around with not that much to see. The bat exhibit had no bats, the mushroom exhibit had almost no mushrooms, there were very few orchids in the orchid exhibit, there was one manatee in the manatee exhibit and so on. The butterflies, sea turtles and aquarium were nice. The snorkeling at the hotel was better than the park. The underground rivers had zero fish so I don't know why you snorkel and it so dark you see nothing while wearing horrible vests which did not allow you to move very well through the water. They do collect all of your property when you enter the river, put it in a very large bag, lock it, give you the key and then transport the bag to the end of the river for you to pickup. If you did not buy the $119 ticket, then a buffet lunch is $30 ($30 for a buffet lunch in Mexico???). There is no water available in the park except for small bottles at $2.50 a bottle. The evening show gets great reviews but we could not see why. We left early, however, in all fairness, the Mexicans who are bused in just for the show loved it. If you have ever been to Disney, you will be disappointed. We would return to the hotel again particularly because of the lagoon.

  • Stayed: April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Steve_PutnamValleyNY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2012

My wife and I went to Occidental May of this year 2012. They solicit you constantly in the Lobby for their time share they call the Royal Club! This was a big turn off, it became ridiculous to get them to leave you alone! The first quesation the staff ask you is, do you speak spanish. Variety and quality of the food and beverages was poor. In our room, the TV only had 1 or 2 english channels when it worked! Their beach is pathetic, if you can call it a beach. But now we know and will not be returning to the Occidental.

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Eric W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management response:Responded 29 June 2012

Dear Mr. Eric W,

We would like to thank you for sharing your feedback with TripAdvisor. I apologize that we fell short of your expectations.

The representatives in the lobby are not hotel employees and they are promoting the First Club, which is a membership program for all Occidental Hotels & Resorts that offers special amenities and travel perks. It is different from our Royal Club, which is available to all guests for an upgrade fee and provides access to the most exclusive area in the hotel and offers extra luxury amenities. Please accept our apologies for any inconveniences the First Club representatives caused you, we are going to speak with their manager to avoid this in the future.

Please accept our apologies if we offended you by asking you if you spoke Spanish. Many guests love to practice speaking Spanish and we are always glad to help them improve.

I’m sorry you were disappointed by our culinary offerings, we usually receive great feedback. We have two buffet restaurants, the snack bar, Taco’s Pacos, La Piazza and our five specialty restaurants. I am disappointed to know that you did not enjoy any of our choices and I will immediately share your comments with our Executive Chef.

Our rooms are equipped with a cable box that has several English speaking channels. If the cable box is missing, we can send one to the room and set it up.

It’s disappointing to hear that you did not like our beach. It is a man-made beach that is free from currents and waves, which most families enjoy since it is safe for kids to swim. Many guests also enjoy the activities, such as snorkeling and swimming with many beautiful and exotic fish.

Once again please accept our sincerely apologies for not providing you with a fully enjoyable vacation.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews