We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful but needs a little work”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 16 more sites!
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Ranked #71 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Greenville, North Carolina
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Beautiful but needs a little work”
Reviewed 6 June 2014

We stayed at this hotel for the second time last month and still loved the beauty of the natural surroundings, the trails that wind around the huge complex, and the delicious food, but were disappointed with the lack of soundproofing on the doors (we had to ask for another room, because the noise of all the other guests in our hotel block drove us crazy) and the persistent moldy smell, which got into all of our clothes and remained for days after we returned and even after we washed them. The music blaring out of speakers at the small beach area gave both of us a headache, as well, because we could not escape from it, except to hide out at the quiet pool, which did not have a view of the ocean. If you want a quiet beach vacation, this is not the place for you. The wait staff, as usual, was very friendly and I enjoyed practicing my Spanish with Aod, Otilio and Mehu. The staff at the Hospitality Desk was also great, as was Carlos, the fitness instructor, who offers free personal fitness training from 7am to 3pm every weekday. He was a real sweetheart! It seems that the front desk staff has also received instructions to be more friendly to guests, because they were nicer to us than last time. The coolest thing that happened to us was having the hotel be overbooked on the weekend and receiving the offer to spend that weekend at their branch hotel on Cozumel Island. The hotel paid for transportation and free tickets to the Xcaret park, and we were quite pleased. The only complaint about the Cozumel Occidental is that the staff was not very friendly. Perhaps someone can train them to be as nice as the awesome people at the Xcaret main hotel!

Room Tip: Rooms on the third floor away from the pools are quieter, although you will need to pay a little mor...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Jill T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Jill T,

Thank you very much for your valuable comment on and for staying recently with us. We was very pleased to read y you had for our hotel. Regarding to the comments about the loud music at the beach area: we have taken note and will discuss these issues with the department heads. We all know that we need to work hard to improve our standards in we strive for perfection, and to continue to be able to exceed our guest’s expectations.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

12,097 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,363
    3,932
    1,553
    715
    534
See reviews for
3,948
4,893
153
87
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,762)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014

Took this trip in late May/ early June and we saw nothing but rain. There was a tropical storm happening and we were right in the middle of it. The hotel had much to do during our rainy vacation. We took advantage of the room (wink wink), the restaurants, and the daily activities. We also did a few excursions which were amazing. One word of advice, buy tours outside of the hotel. We went to 5th avenue and walked around and found tours priced at $60 dollars (negotiable) while in the hotel we paid $125 USD for the same tours.

Save your money.

Room Tip: We booked the my time package and it came with a room upgrade. The first night we had a deluxe room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank hundumplin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, ReputatioManagement at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear hundumplin,

First of all thank you for choosing our Occidental Grand Xcaret as the holiday place.
Unfortunately we are starting our rainy season, but remember this is the Caribbean and the weather constantly changes.

If you come back with us, please contactos prior your arrival, we will let you know the forecast weather.

Many thanks,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atascocita, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I read a lot of reviews on this hotel and for the most part, I think the negative comments aren't justified.

The beach- yeah, there isn't a lot to it. Being a fan of Cozumel more so than the mainland, I am spoiled to calmer waters. If this hotel didn't have the lagoon set up like they do, the rough waves would really limit the beachgoers and then they would complain about that. VERY nice beach set-up in my opinion.

Food- no complaints there either. I cant imagine what else people could ask for!? There are several options for dining and for people to still complain? Wow!

The room- well, it was a little dated and needed a few touchups here and there BUT I always had hot water and it was clean. I noticed a rust stain in the shower that seems like an easy fix with the right spray and one of our outlets was missing on the wall. Eyesores? yeah but I try not to sweat the small stuff.

It is true that everything is spread out and a lot of walking is required unless you wait for the shuttle cart, which doesn't run frequently and is usually full of passengers so you cant get on. It only holds 6 or 8 ppl so your chances of getting a lift in a timely manner are very, very slim.

It really annoys me to have to pay 26.00 for 24 hours of wifi. There is NO free wifi.. even in the lobby and other public areas. I paid for 1 24 hour period and it was so slow that I didn't bother to purchase additional wifi time. We wanted to watch Netflix in our room but the wifi is not up to that task. The TV is almost all Spanish so :( One other truly annoying thing is that the snorkel gear rental is NO WHERE NEAR the beach. You get 2 hours free but it is about a 20 minute walk each way to get it and return it. PLUM SILLY and illogical.

I got an excellent deal on this trip and if I could get the same deal again I would book it right this second.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Connie T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
DearConnie T,

Thank you for the time you took to send us a review about your recent stay with us. We are so pleased to read we were able to take care of you, providing you an outstanding service. It was truly an honor to host you. It’s very exciting to hear that you loved your vacation and that you really valued the personalized service, our property and of course the beauty of our small beach.

Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

By far favourite resort in Mexico yet. The premises are very large, the pools are fantastic and are threading through the entire resort. There are a lot of animals and birds aournd and even some ruins near the ocean.

The food is great, quite honestly I don't think I've ever eaten so much. If you plan to take advantage of any of the à la carte reservations need to be made right after the arrival because those places fill up very quickly.

You also get a discount to the Xcaret park to which you get taken in the cutest boat. That park needs a solid two days to explore the entire place.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Kateryna_to
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Itze P, Reputation Management at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this review, 7 June 2014
Dear Kateryna_to,

Thank you for your kind words. We’re so glad that you chose to spend such a special time here with us at Occidental Grand Xcaret. The beauty of Xcaret is the perfect place for a getaway.

We pleased to read your experience is now a lifetime moment. We hope you’ll join us again soon, whether for a special occasion or simply a spontaneous escape.

Regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

We spent many occasions viewing this hotel and reading all the reviews. I can honestly say it was one of best holidays , we never thought anywhere could beat Thailand! From the moment we arrived in Mexico the weather was incredible. Every staff member could not do enough for you and always greeted you with a smile, and fantastic animals scattered around the hotel!

Due to the reviews everyone said you must upgrade to the royal package. There was no availability but its not needed. We stayed in a.beautiful large comfy rooms and far enough away from the main lobby. We never had a problem booking any restaurant reservations. 10 day holiday meant we could have 6 dinner reservations.

Breakfast and lunch we went down to the beach restaurant, where we met Jose Luis Pino a fantastic helpful man who ,made our holiday even more special.

We would definitely recommend if your thinking about swimming with dolphins also consider the sea trek. It's 30 minutes under water 1 on 1 interaction with a dolphin! One of the most incredible things we have ever done! This is available at the park next door, It is a little pricey but so worth it!

We also stayed for a weekend at the Occidental grand in Cozumel. Small traditional mexican hotel on a stunning beach, with fabulous snorkeling.

We would not hesitate to return. Thank you so much for making our holiday.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

The last time I visited the Occidental Xcaret was 4 years ago. It was on my first trip my BF and I were upgraded to the Royal Club, and this trip with my sister we added the Royal Club. The Occidental has many restaurants and pools which are all good, however, they do not hold a candle to the Royal Club. I am going back again this December for a wedding, and will be booking Royal Club again :)

Service at the Royal Club is exceptional. Our servers, Roberto, Diego, Hernan, and Ishmael were and are AMAZING! For example, one night my sister and I arrived just before closing, after dinner we asked about the Bananas Foster table side. Due to the lateness of the night (after 11pm) we passed, and took desert to our room.The next night the servers surprised us with table side Bananas Foster presentation! Just one example of the VIP type of service!

Thank you also to Grisela for her Superior Customer Service during our stay in the Royal Club!

Room Tip: Upgrade to the Royal Club for Superior Service
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jzolman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

Me and my partner just returned back from Occidental Grand Xcaret, where we stayed 10 days. Resort is large and beautiful! Staff were very nice,helpful and willing to help: when we arrived we get a room closer to the reception. We just asked if there is an option to get something closer to the pool/beach area, so after one night it was sorted for us. Rooms were spacious and all area is very clean. The resort has got everything you need during your stay: there are many pools, beach side (unfortunately small and man made), archeological site, few shops, gym, restaurants, travel agency. Xcaret natural park is just few minutes walk from the main reception area and definitely worth for visit. We get an offer for free excursion to Cozumel Occidental Hotel for 2 nights, so we were really pleased as we wanted to go there anyway. I believe the reason for it was, that hotel was overbooked during the weekend, but we welcomed this opportunity to be honest. We also received free tickets to Xcaret park, so can't really complaint ;). Food in bufer is quite average, but you have a chance to book a restaurant for evening (I think you can choose from 5 or 6) - we enjoyed the Oriental one the most: meal was just delicious! We never go twice to one place or one country, but this was our second stay in Mexico within 6 months and can't stay this was the last one :). I believe that experience is not just about the country but about people you meet as well.

Room Tip: Building 15 was just perfect - 3.floor with pool view :) - very close to the bufet, pool, beach.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ivana B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.5 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#57 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
16.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,431 reviews
15.1 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
22.2 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,233 reviews
14.9 mi away
Catalonia Riviera Maya
Catalonia Riviera Maya
#8 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
8,589 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Reef Coco Beach
The Reef Coco Beach
#104 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
3,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Occidental at Xcaret Destination? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Occidental at Xcaret Destination

Property: Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Address: Carretera Federal Chetumal Puerto Juarez Km. 282 | Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Occidental Grand Xcaret All Inclusive Resort)
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#40 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#45 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#47 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#48 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#53 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#77 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Occidental at Xcaret Destination 4.5*
Number of rooms: 764
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The 5-star Occidental at Xcaret Destination in Riviera Maya is a perfect combination in a natural setting with preserved cultural landmarks and an all-inclusive resort with a unique array of rooms, services, and state-of-the-art facilities. Choosing among the many possible activities is the most complicated part of a stay at this resort in Playa del Carmen. Swimming with dolphins, attending a Mayan Indian ceremony, enjoying all types of water sports at the beach club or sailing down the beautiful rivers and canals that surround the hotel are just a few highlights. The Xcaret eco-archeological park offers one of the most unique and exciting park, especially for families, by guaranteeing over 40 cultural attractions and expositions on art and traditions in Mexico. However, as people normally say at the hotel: "Do it all...or simply do nothing." Choose from a list of diverse activities such as strolling through the lush gardens at the resort, enjoying the sun while lying on a hammock, or taking a refreshing swim in one of the resort's five pools or private beach. Anti-stress remedies at the resort are endless. Regardless of how you plan each day at the resort, the hotel's choice of culinary selections is designed to satisfy the demands of every kind of guest. With 10 bars, including the one at the club, and 11 restaurants, guests have the freedom to choose a snack, an informal meal, a gourmet feast or a candlelight dinner, among many other options. The key to this resort is balancing between modern facilities and the marvelous Mexican rainforest that is filled with stunning local wildlife. Entertainment, relaxation and nature coexist at the Occidental at Xcaret Destination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TravelUp, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Holiday Gems, Barcelo, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Travelbag, Priceline, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Occidental at Xcaret Destination reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Occidental Grand Xcaret Hotel
Occidental Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Grand Flamenco Xcaret
Xcaret Grand Occidental
Occidental Xcaret
Hotel Xcaret
Xcaret Playa Del Carmen
Grand Xcaret Occidental
Xcaret Hotel
Grand Occidental Xcaret

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing