We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Occidental at Xcaret Destination
Nearby Hotels
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$385
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$293
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hideaway Playacar(Playa del Carmen)
US$326
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$258
Barcelo.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$352
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$728
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$444
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$556
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$399
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$233
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (14,509)
Filter reviews
14,509 results
Traveller rating
6,618
4,604
1,803
835
649
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
6,618
4,604
1,803
835
649
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsroyal clubman made beachfun clubpacos tacosel pescadorsonora grillle buffetfirst clubtime shareseafood restaurantunderground riverbeach buffetfun poolmain buffetswim up bareco parkbeach area
Filter
Updating list...
6,282 - 6,287 of 14,509 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2014

We had a very difificult first night and Zaida Valencia, the front desk supervisor was very understanding and handled all of our questions and needs. It is a pleasure to know that we can get great service in times of need. Thank you Zaida!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

Our guests’ satisfaction is our priority; therefore, we will review them with the Hotel Manager in order to avoid this incidents in the future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2014

It's funny to me to read the reviews of this hotel. It's like the old saying...you can't please everyone! No matter how great something is, there will always be someone who expects perfection and will always find something petty to complain about. These are not fake reviews. E are real people who want other people interested in planning a vacation to know how much we enjoyed ours. Plain and simple. We take our time to rite a good review for a place, and good people that deserve a good review. And, some of us don't gt to vacation a dozen times a year. Maybe those people should travel less, as they don't seem to enjoy yourselves as much as we do.

We have been to this hotel twice, staying t the royal club both times. We could have chosen a different hotel, or different location but we did not. I think that says a lot. Part of its charm is that the setting is the jungle... Wildlife all around. Deer, lemurs, lizards...even families of monkeys swinging through the trees on your way to lunch...it is awesome and where else can you enjoy that kind of nature? Restaurants are incredible, beach is perfect, view is breathtaking, people are welcoming and friendly, shuttles every 10 minutes, beds are comfortable. The housekeepers sprinkle your bed with flower petals and make animals out of the hand towels! Stocked fridge...Uncrowded pools (several throughout the property). Great shows, wonderful hotel shops...you can even have a personal photo shoot done by the beach! Animals to take pictures with, tropical drinks, easy taxi service, tours booked through the hotel, friendly front desk staff. And it is close to ruins, Xcaret park, Xplore, Cenotes, horseback rides, swimming with sealife, malls, casinos, Playa del Carmen and Cozumel. Safe and courteous taxi drivers who know how to get anywhere your heart desires, right from the front entrance of the hotel. They come within 5 minutes.

You will not be disappointed in this hotel, or a vacation in Mexico. This is a place that truly has it all.

Room Tip: Royal club. Junior suite! Awesome restaurants, but the royal club has its own and it is right near your room and between the pool and the beach. Unbelievable views from the hotel window.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lisa L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OccidentalatXcaret, Social Media & Customer Care Coordinator at Occidental at Xcaret Destination, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2018

Thank you for taking the time to share your Occidental at Xcaret Destination experience. We have taken all your feedback on board and this will be used constructively to perfect our future guests’ experience.

We appreciated your sincere and constructive comments. Please know that one of our main goals is to work on a daily basis to constantly improve our services and guest satisfaction.

Our guests’ satisfaction is our priority; therefore, we will review them with the Hotel Manager in order to avoid this incidents in the future.

Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Great resort had a lot of fun. The resort is located close to so many excursions and top sites. Resort had multiple bar locations and one in the pool. This resort is great for honeymooners, family vacations, couples, etc. We enjoyed all the animals located throughout the resort, ie Macaws, monkeys, flamingos, iguanas, etc. Great staff especially Roberto, Lilliana, and Filiberto! Lilliana was our bldg concierge and she made us feel welcome and helped us plan our days. Roberto and Filiberto provided excellent service when we went to dinner. If you see these people when you visit please tip them they are good people! (the website says you don't need to tip the staff. Don't be a poop-face, tip them, and tip them well)

Room Tip: Staff is very accommodating! Rooms are not amazing but then again why are you in the room when the party is outside? We stayed in bldg 22. This location was close to a lot of the pools, quiet, and located near one of their shuttle stops.
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank HollyBrown-Legacy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

just arrived back from an amazing holiday..... just great .... hotel was set in superb location with great facilities and views... food, drink was 1st class... and all the staff was brilliant..... i would go to say this was definitely in my top three holidays of all time.... thank you....

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Virgin Holidays
5  Thank Wh1905
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Just returned from birthday trip.

First impressions: This place is fabulous! A veritable feast for the eyes.

Check in: Slow line, no welcome drink (although they had them right there) but finally after half an hour, patience rewarded. It was our turn - and the clerk turned on his heel without a word and walked into a back office, never to return. Gone! Thank goodness this was an aberration. We were eventually helped and given the king room we requested. It was in Building 20, second floor.

Room: Huge. Pristine and extra clean. Comfy bed. Big private balcony overlooking the pool. Beautiful dark wood and cream tile. Icy cold AC. Big TV in armoire, Digital room safe. Luggage rack. Pretty bathroom. *Everything* worked. Heaven.

First, the things we loved:
The setting: The grounds and buildings are beautiful, and spotlessly maintained.
The food: The buffet is out of this world. Beautifully presented, fresh, top-shelf food. Everything is labeled. Everyone hustles. He did a double take over the quality of the meat. At a buffet! Very impressed. I am a seafood person and was very pleased indeed. The salmon and squid in particular were outstanding. Ate too much. A la carte options: The seafood restaurant on the beach was most memorable, and the steakhouse was amazing. Goodness, that was delicious food! Hacienda was okay, but not great Mexican fare.
The pool: He's a fool for pools, and said this was the best he had ever swam in. Ever. Write that, he said. Now, I don't do pools, but I am so glad I finally jumped in this one. Delicious, clean, warm, beautiful. Mmmmm.
Flora and fauna: Exotic plants and animals. I did not see monkeys but the are there. Macaws, flamingoes, little mammals, etc.
The bars: Branded spirits in a glass (except at pool bars) and no lines. Cheers!
The service: Everyone is super nice and very warm. Everyone says hello, smiles genuinely, and does their level best to solve any kind of problem you bring them. You make your a la carte reservations painlessly in one go at guest services. I just would like to sincerely thank everyone at Xcaret for making my stay so lovely. Anyone who complains about the service here probably can't be pleased.

Tips: Not expected ever. Service with a smile everywhere. And they hustle for you. Fast. I tip my hat to that.

Business Center: Nice and cool inside. Computers work well. $20 gets you access for the week. (Do not waste your $87 bucks on glitchy, weather-dependent wi-fi that only works well in the lobby.)

Bathrooms: All over the property, clean and well maintained.

The guests: Very polite, erudite, cool crowd. Even the kids were well-behaved.

Checkout: A breeze, no surprises, and a sincere thank you for our stay.

The things we did not love:

Jungle sprawl. The grounds are ginormous, everything is spread out and the maps are more artwork than functional. The front desk should give everyone a compass and a mobile phone, or a personal guide for the first day.

Yes, there are trolleys. Now, find the stop on that confusing little map. Riiight. And then wait. In the heat. Walking the resort, you will get lost, and not just once, and you will get frustrated because you are in a jungle, it is hot and uber humid, and there is no breeze whatsoever. (For example, it is at least a quarter mile from Building 20 to the buffet.) I love walking, by the way, always have, but this was excessive in that heat. Climate's not their fault; just sayin. Now, the 25-year-olds seemed fine with it, but some of the older folks looked like they just wanted to pass right out. (Unfortunately, a gentleman had actually passed out ... and passed on ... just the week before we arrived. So if you are older, please pace yourself and listen to your body. The heat and humidity stress the heart. If it is pounding, sit down and drink some water.)

Socializing: The jungle sprawl makes it hard to make vacation friends. You don't see the same folks twice. So mostly you talk to whoever you came their with.

Signing a waiver upon registering: If anything happens to you on the property, up to and including fatal injury, you cannot hold Xcaret liable. So watch out for scary-slippery tile floors - I had several scares - and metal door stops welded in tile floors of your room near the closet. Big ouch. Blood everywhere. Never had to sign a waiver anywhere else I stayed. For them it makes sense.

Xcaret Park costs $99 per person, guest or not. This is just admission. But if you go 3 times, you pay $59 for each visit. Big whoop.

Amenities: Had to buy water; the bottles in the mini fridge made my tummy rumble. Instead of soap in the shower, there is a horrid, cheap, plastic gel dispenser that doesn't work. Not only does the gel smell dreadful; it does not lather. Very Motel 66. Buy your soap and conditioner. Ladies, take a mirror to make up; there is no vanity mirror and the bathroom lighting is dim. The towels are very white but very rough. No moisturizer, mouthwash or any of that. You are on your own.

If you want to buy toiletries - please no fruity stuff; It makes big bugs dive-bomb you - , please do it anywhere BUT the DREADFUL TOBACCO SHOP FROM H---.. Cigarette prices change from $7 to $10 dollars in an hour. The entire staff - including the guys who ignore you and hate to put their phones down to ring you up, and in particular the nasty, short, Mexican lady named Anataxia who never, ever smiles - act like they are doing you a huge favor by overcharging obscenely for any and everything. Sunscreen spray? Sure! $33. Hair gel? $15. Tiny tube of antibiotic ointment? $33. Oh, you want to charge it? Sure! If you spend 200 pesos. 197 pesos? No charge for you! You will leave angry. Other guests shared similar experiences. So: Please. Stay. Far. Away. They really don't belong there.

Beach: Yes, I knew it was a man-made lagoon, and that was fine. What I did not know is your view will likely be other people's big ugly aqua shade fixtures. Or butts. Not water. Very few palapas. But they do bring you drinks, which was a nice touch. And the music was great and not overly loud. Bring water shoes if you have them; it is a bit rocky. However, you can snorkel right there and see lots of fish. Definitely hit the snack bar overlooking the ocean.

Taxi: Make sure the guy they hail for you speaks some English. Both of ours took us to the wrong places. Waste of time and money.

Annoyances aside, this is a beautiful resort unlike any other I have been to.
And the people were a large part of that.

So: Thank you again sincerely, lovely Xcaret staff. You are truly outstanding.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank Lyrce
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews