We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Far exceeded our expectations”
Review of Hotel Lunata

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Lunata
Ranked #88 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Far exceeded our expectations”
Reviewed 5 July 2014

My Wife and I stayed at this hotel, our first time in Mexico, This hotel way exceeded our expectations, our Room was delightful the shower and air con, all worked great, good view from our Balcony of the walking street ,The staff where friendly and helpful , would go back there in a heartbeat

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DanandWan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

369 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    230
    111
    21
    4
    3
See reviews for
31
192
29
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (55)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

My husband and I stayed here for 2 night. Its a small hotel (only 10 rooms) with great service and very welcoming. The rooms are quite big. We took the delux room with a king size bed which was very comfortable. Nice decor. Centrally located on main 5th Ave.

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank lioraa672
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 12 June 2014

This hotel was very nice. It has a/c, free wifi, tasty free breakfast of cereal, fruit, OJ, and coffee at least while I was there, it was clean with very friendly staff, a small balcony and peaceful garden area. Like many of the hotels on this strip/street, it is very close to the beach and near all the action. I liked that it was just a few blocks from the party area, but not in the heart of it, so I could still sleep at night without it being loud. I went with my boyfriend and we had a great time. If I had more money, of course I would stay at one of the fancy more expensive hotels on the beach ha, but for the price it was awesome.

Room Tip: I stayed in the very top room racing the street and was fine. I am guessing all the other rooms are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank nicolettab123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed 28 April 2014 via mobile

Fantastic hotel in the heart of 5th ave. The rooms are big, clean and have individual balconies. The hotel is also a very interesting and cool design. The deal with the beach club at fusion isn't as good as some of the other clubs like Los Palapas. I wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We had seen the beautiful and peaceful garden at Hotel Lunata on our last visit to Playa del Carmen, and decided to give it a try on a recent visit (April 2014). It is located right on Fifth Avenue just steps from the restaurants and shops, about a block from the beach, and a short walk from the bus station and the ferry port to Cozumel. Our garden room was attractively decorated, spacious, and well appointed with 2 beds, a small refrigerator, flat screen TV, a balcony with table and chairs overlooking the lovely garden, free Wi-Fi, an endless supply of purified drinking water, and icy cold air conditioning. The water pressure in the shower was fantastic. Our room and all the areas we saw were spotlessly clean. The complimentary breakfast served in the garden each morning included coffee, juice, fresh fruit, cereals/granola, and toast. The young women who worked at the front desk during our stay (Erika, Faviola, and Ariel) were all very helpful - giving directions and making excellent suggestions for dinner and local activities and services. There was a security guard on duty overnight, and we felt very safe on the proprerty. All in all, we were very happy with our stay at Hotel Lunata, and highly recommend if you want to be where the action is in Playa del Carmen, and are looking for a less expensive and more authentic alternative to the all-inclusive resorts.

Room Tip: Our double room overlooked the garden - very quiet with no trace of the street noise, and we liked e...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lghammond
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oslo, Norway
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Hotel Lunata is situated right on 5th avenue in the city centre of Playa del Carmen. Close to restaurants, the bar street, bus terminals and the ferry terminal to Cozumel. The room was nice and clean with a lovely hacienda style. I have read that som guest did complain about noise from the street. We had a room facing the street, but did not exprience any problems. The hotel is a bit pricey, but with such good location you might have to expect that price.

The two concierges/receptionists Erika and Aria was always nice to us, and provided perfect service for us. The breakfast was very basic, some fruits and toast with jam.

All in all, a cute, small and well driven hotel, which met our expectations.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Torstein1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bradford, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

My husband and I read reviews about this hotel months before and after booking it and were still shocked when we saw it. It was beautiful! Check in was simple and quick. We stayed in the room Ariel. It faced 5th ave. We did not have any difficulty with the noise. They have 2 layers of sliding glass doors! The colors, the back yard, the breakfast, everything was great! They have a security guard at the front entrance at night who stays until the staff comes in in the morning! We loved this. The best thing we can say about this hotel is the staff. Everyone was so great...we wished we could remember everyone's names but,,,our minds were too relaxed lol. However we do remember Erika! She was fantastic...she shared her healthy shake with us, referred us to the beach club, and just went above and beyond. We left there feeling like we had made a wonderful friend!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jennifer152014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#81 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
0.0 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#72 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
247 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#85 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
288 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#20 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
0.1 mi away
Kinbe Hotel
Kinbe Hotel
#105 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
637 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Lunata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Lunata

Property: Hotel Lunata
Address: 5a Avenida | between Calle 6 and 8, Downtown, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#42 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Lunata 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Cancelon, getaroom.com and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Lunata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lunata Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Lunata Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Lunata Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing