We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Royal Playa del Carmen(Playa del Carmen)
US$423
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$286
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$806
Bookit.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (318)
Filter reviews
318 results
Traveller rating
172
121
20
2
3
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
172
121
20
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsado bus stationexcellent locationferry to cozumelshaped poolevery morningsuper close to the beachwah wahfifth avenuehotel is perfectpartial view of the oceanbreakfast was includedcleanest hotelssmall tvbreakfast choicessmall propertydrinks coldfree wifi
Filter
Updating list...
98 - 103 of 318 reviews
Reviewed 30 March 2014

This small family run hotel is in the heart of the Playa scene. Half block off the beach and half block off 5th Av. Our group consisted of 3 couples. We all booked 4th floor rooms as these rooms all have small refrigerators. The rooms are clean, comfortable, quiet,and well stocked with traveler needs. They even provided a small shampoo sized bottle of Aloe Vera for us who burn easily. The A/C worked well and was quiet. The management was very helpful as for hauling our bags to our rooms, orienting us to the hotel and its facilities. They were very accomodating whenever we asked about something or requested something of them. Our view was of the courtyard/pool area and breakfast area. We also had a good partial view of the ocean. The hotel provided a breakfast every morning-every morning one of the two breakfasts offered was a mixed fruit and yogart w/granola plate. It was yummy. Other choices were scramble eggs w/sausage or bacon, or some type of Mexican breakfast dish, plus toast, freshly squeezed orange juice, and coffee or tea. It was always a very good meal.
As I said the hotel is just a half block away from the beach and we enjoyed the beach everyday.
I also said the hotel was just a half block from 5th Av. where there are many restaurants and shops to choose from. From about midday on 5th Av. is a pretty bustling p[lace. Yes, the shop and restaurant people are asking you to come in to see their wears or for a meal, but they never seem to be offended as you pass by.
The one deficency of the hotel is the elevator. It didn't always work and we told them about it when it wasn't working and they would have it fixed later that day or the next day.
On our next trip to Playa del Carmen we plan to stay at Hotel Pasada Sian Ka'an.

Room Tip: If you want a small refrigerator and the best view get a 4th floor room
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MnRetiree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014

We stayed here for 3 nights

Location
The location is good, 5mins from the ADO bus station and one block from 5th Avenue (which has all the shops on) and most importantly a 1min walk to the beach! BUT… don’t expect to get much sleep, as the bars nearby play their music very loud until midnight every night that we were there!

Rooms
The beds are not that bad, just pre-ask for mattress covers on your beds to make them softer . The air conditioning is very good. We had the most basic twin room so all the room has was 2 beds, air conditioning and a small cupboard with a safe and a small old bathroom. No TV, No fridge. We paid 79USD per night which I thought was quite expensive.
Bathroom ensuite
The toilet in the bathroom did not work properly, it filled up and could not flush. When I asked the receptionist if we could have the problem fixed or change rooms we were quickly and politely informed the manager is at home and will not speak with us on a Sunday.
The shower pressure was poor and if too many people were using the shower in the morning, the water pressure disappeared to a trickle of cold water.

Security
I had to use the toilet in hotel reception (as the toilet in my room was not working) for the rest of my stay which I was not happy with. In addition, on one occasion when I used the toilet a 3am in the morning, the hotel receptionist was sleeping on the sofa – this says a lot about the hotel security at night – anyone could get into the hotel by walking straight past the sleeping hotel receptionist. Beware, location may come at a high price.

Breakfast
The breakfast is a set-menu, you can choose one from two options, which was okay. The fruit was fresh and the toast was plentiful.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kel2001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2014 via mobile

Stayed here Feb 7 thru 14. Second time in Playa del Carmen. Loved this small hotel. Beautiful garden. Cozy vibe. Good breakfast. Nice staff. Clean room. Very quiet at night. Bar next door plays loud music in the day but by early evening cant hear it anymore. The grounds are kept clean. Pool was nice. Perfect location. One block from beach and one block to 5th Ave. Nice beach but even nicer beach north of pier (north of Calle Constituyentes) where you will find Mamitas Beach Club. Hotel is situated where more locals hang out. Close to ADO bus station and also if you walk three blocks up you will find the Colectivos (mini carpools) that take u anywhere up and down hwy 307, went to Xelha, Xcaret, and Cancun for $40 pesos or less. Cant beat that! If your looking for a clean and quiet room to come home to after your day of activities this is it. You wont be disappointed!

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Chiquis2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

This place is a lot closer to the beach then it looks on the maps. The location is fantastic! You can either take the ADO bus from the airport for around $10 USD, or take a cab from the airport for $ 400 pesos which is about $30 USD. The ADO is really very nice and takes you a block from the hotel. Once in Playa you just walk to the hotel. The hotel itself is beautiful. The staff was warm & had a relaxed charm, yet anticipated our every need. The rooms are big with large bathrooms.Like the other reviewers have said, the beds are a bit hard. I called the front desk & asked for mattress pads.They were there the next morning. The breakfast was very good. I am very picky & loved the breakfast. They also had fresh juices & coffee. If you like Starbucks its two blocks away. Every question I had for Jose at the front desk was answered. Every suggestion was amazingly accurate. The lovely woman at the front desk suggested a seafood place on the beach two doors down called The Tarraya. It is the oldest restaurant in Playa. Fantastic seafood at some of the best prices in town. We ate there three times.The seafood platter was really special. Sitting either on the beach or under the palapa watching the ocean & eating was very romantic.The beach itself right there is the best spot in Playa. Its busy enough to see all the action,its got perfect waves and fun water to swim. Many other parts of the beach are thin stretches or hugged right up to some resort. $150 pesos gets you a lounge & umbrella for the day right in front of the Tarraya. Another fantastic thing about all this is when you want to go out of town on a day tour its simply a block & a half to the ADO & a short cheap bus trip to Coba , Tolum, Akumal. Almost all big attractions can be had for little money this way. If you want a private tour the Sian Kaan hotel has there very own tours as well. We were there for 10 days and enjoyed many sites.There were many European guests at the hotel. The place was very quiet at night. If you go by elevator or stairs to the top the view from the roof is spectacular.At night you could hear live music from the hotel on the beach from the roof & see all of Playa. I had no problem with mosquito's. Its easy to see how anyone would want to keep the glass doors open, the fresh sea breeze is wonderful. The balcony space is just so nice.The room had safes, TV,air conditioning,hair dryer,little table & chairs.The sundries were of decent quality.Plenty of hot water. We got our laundry done at a place a block away perfect. Dropped it off & picked it up later that day. This is a wonderful hotel,a wise choice for budget travelers with all the action close by. This was our fourth trip to this part of Mexico & second to Playa. This hotel is very well run and I would go back & recommend it to a friend.

Room Tip: We were on the third floor. If I came back I would do fourth floor. The bungalows in front are cheaper.
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank jessica_41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2014

Stayed at the hotel fromJan 30-Feb 3rd. Great mid sized hotel in Playa. We had a room on the first floor that was right in front of the pool. Quiet room, cool AC (we had to turn it down to sleep), and 1/2 block form 5th ave. and 1 block from the beach. Check in was quick and easy, getting beach towels was a non issue, and best of all.. the hotel is quiet. There is a beach bar that butts up to the back of the hotel that you can hear when you walkin the cooridors.. but once you are in your room, the sound dissappears.

I have stayed at many hotels in the city of Playa and this one is the best yet. Rooms are clean!

One negative is that the beds are somewhat firm.. they werent like sleepng on boards..l but they were pretty firm. This is my individual preference and would have no impact on my decision to stay here again in a couple months.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank tlabossiere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews