We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best of the best”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #73 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
los altos, CA
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Best of the best”
Reviewed 27 January 2012

Great location, great people, great time. Just spent another week here. 300 meters to the beach, complete with towels and umbrellas. Restaurants just around the corner.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank gregfischer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

385 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    241
    123
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
153
9
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
Reviewed 16 January 2012

I recently stayed at the Riviera del Sol to attend a nearby wedding. The location was perfect and just off the beach. The restaurant overlooking the pool made for a pleasant breakfast experience every morning. The staff was incredibly nice and welcoming. The hotel doesn't have a lot of frills but was a great value and very nice and clean. The only negative was that the room was a little musty when we arrived but there are doors opening to the pool and a powerful overhead fan so that was gone in no time.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaigeJ_2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fairfax, Virginia
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 January 2012

We stayed here during the BPM festival and loved the location to both Ave. Quinta and the two best beach clubs Mamitas and Kool. There is easy parking if you rent a car and taxis are always within a block if don't. We were on the first floor where you can see Cozumel and the beach at the end of the hall from outside the room to your door. I'll echo that it can be noisy on this floor during times like the BPM Festival or New Years Eve. But it wouldn't be a problem during regular days, even during the BPM festival it quieted down by 11pm. We anticipated this, so it was no problem. The staff are very friendly, professional and helpful. I'm an Ah Cacao junkie so I loved being so close to the best coffee drinks.

Room Tip: The first floor hall with rooms 103 to 106? is open on the end to give an nice view of the ocean. Ho...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank trumanwaters
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed 7 January 2012

We arrived several days before New Years Eve when the Playa was getting bustling full of party people.

We found a park easily on the street out the front of the hotel. The check in process was seamless and we were taken to our room within minutes.

The hotel is in a great location between 1st and 5th Avenues and north of the main restaurant and shopping area. This location would usually be very quiet however due to NYE parties on the beach there was a lot more noise and people than what we expected.

The room that we were shown to was room 101. It was on the ground with a private balcony looking out at the pool. It was a great King room however it backed onto the street facing the beach. We could tell that it was going to be very noisy with the NYE parties on the beach so we asked to be moved.

The hotel was very accommodating about moving us. Our new room was on the third floor facing north. It was much quieter and perfect for what we needed.

The hotel is lovely and small but large enough to have all the facilities. The free breakfast daily is really good. The hotel could do with a little spruce up but it's definitely clean and fairly modern.

The hotel pool is clean and refreshing. Although the hotel is not on the beach you are provided with daily memberships to Mamita's beach club just across the road.

I would definitely recommend this hotel for someone wanting a discrete, quiet, get away in the Playa

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fiona M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sweden
Level Contributor
69 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2011

The main reason why we picked this hotel was the positive reviews at Tripadvisor... and they were correct !
It is a three star hotel but the staff is outstanding and you feel very welcomed from the first minute.
Location is great ! one minute away from all resturants and bars but still you can not hear any of the partying and less the five from the beach.
As a guest of the hotel you are given tickets to the one of the better beach clubs so you get access to sun chairs and sunshade.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwedenPer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
portobello london
Level Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2011

first time to playa,luckly to have found riviera,very near to 5th ave and beach.was with 74 year old mum and 1 year old baby! all went well,great owner and staff. thanks once again chris carter.

Stayed December 2011, travelled with family
Helpful?
2 Thank chrisportobello
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
toronto
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed 19 December 2011

Stayed at Riviera del Sol for 2 nights in early December. We were very warmly welcomed and offered a cool beverage when we arrived. The staff is very knowledgeable and provided great restaurant recommendations and arranged transportation. The rooms are spotlessly clean, and simply and tastefully decorated. The hotel offers beach towels and complimentary access to Mamita's beach club, which is a 10 minute walk from the hotel. During the busy season, you need to get to the beach early (before 10am) to get a chair.

The location is outstanding. One block from 5th Ave, great restaurants, and close to the nicest beach. Best of all, it is very affordable and outstanding value for money. If you don't need to be right on the beach, this is the hotel for you.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank beacher99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,398 reviews
0.4 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#44 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#21 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 478 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,716 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Property: Hotel Riviera del Sol
Address: 1a. Av. Norte y Calle 30 Nte. | Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #73 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, LoveHolidays, Odigeo, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing