We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (508)
Filter reviews
508 results
Traveller rating
325
160
18
4
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
325
160
18
4
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsmamitas beach clubperfect locationfresh fruitquaint hotelshort walk to the beachthe staff was friendly and helpfuldefinitely stay here againtwo blocksrooms are spaciousbreakfast was includedsmall poolevery morningcheck in was easywater pressurerental carupon checkcereal
Filter
Updating list...
111 - 116 of 508 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2014

Gabriella greeted us with a warm reception, personally showing us to our beautiful room on the first floor. The room was spacious, clean and wonderfully air-conditioned, a welcome relief from the heat outside. Complementary water was provided daily and an inexpensive mini bar was a convenient touch.

Our balcony view looked out onto the pool which was well looked after and a refreshingly quiet spot away from the crowds at the beach. In the evening the hotel was decorated with numerous candles around the pool and looked really attractive.

The staff at the hotel couldnt have been friendlier and provided excellent service. The buffet breakfast that was included was substantial with fresh fruit, eggs, beans and pastries and was available from 7am to 11am which meant that we were accommodated both for our early starts and lie-ins.

The hotel provided pool/beach towels, together with vouchers for Mamita's beach club for free use of their sun-loungers and umbrellas which provided an alternative option to the pool at no extra cost.The hotel bar served reasonably priced drinks which were good value too.

At no fault of the hotel, the surrounding bars started playing loud music between 5pm-8pm which we could hear in our room and occasionally the surrounding traffic was slightly disturbing during the night, but to be honest I think that is the nature of staying in Playa del Carmen and would probably be noticed no matter where we had stayed.

There was nothing that I could suggest to make our stay better and the 6 nights we spent here were very relaxing.

Room Tip: Ground floor rooms open out straight beside the pool so for a bit more pricavy ask for a higher floor.
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Rebecca K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2014

I have to start by saying that the complementary breakfast exceeded my expectations! It was simple but very delicious. I wish I had more time to try the brasserie. The rooms were nice and simple. The bathrooms could use an upgrade. There was almost zero water pressure and basically stood under the dripping shower head. The bed was a bit FIRM. Other than that I loved the spot. Great location. Near the beach and affiliated with Mamitas Beach Club. Also just across the street from Almirante Pech, one of my favorite restaurant/bar/lounge. I would certainly return.

Room Tip: Try a rooftop terrace
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank scro830
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2014

After a week in Cancun we really enjoyed staying at Hotel Riviera del Sol for two nights. The hotel is charming and well maintained. Our room was clean and comfortable. Breakfast was quite good considering it is free. The location is great, only a couple blocks to the beach and a five minute walk to the hub of Playa.

Would definitely recommned this hotel.

Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank dblang1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 April 2014

We just returned from Playa Del Carmen, stayed at Riviera del Sol. Usually we stay on the beach, so were a little hesitant to try this out, but we were pleased overall. Beautiful hotel, lush grounds, the rooms were exactly as pictured on the web site, very clean, pleasant staff. A huge bonus was the daily breakfast buffet, it was exceptionally good, many choices, and different offerings every morning. Loved the fresh fruit and juices! They will give you passes for Mamitas, its about a block away, not far to walk at all. You have to leave your room key at the front desk when you leave the hotel which seemed a little strange at first, but actually it was kind of nice one you got used to it, a form of security, plus not having to keep track of it all the time. We didn't use the pool, but its a nice option to have. A couple of the nights there was loud music coming from the bars nearby, but it really was never a huge issue for us, although if you are wanting peace and quiet this probably wouldn't be a good choice for you. Overall we would probably consider staying here again, we got a good price with early booking this year.

Room Tip: Upper level rooms are more private, first floor opens directly into the pool area
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beaverlake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 April 2014

So many positives: great location (one block to beach,1/2 block to 5th Ave, 20 min to bus/train station); excellent staff (friendly, efficient, informative); lovely breakfast in the morning; crazy comfortable for a hotel stay.

Only one negative for us: late evening noise. When we had the balcony doors open, it was lovely until nightfall when the thumping of the music from the restuarants across the street made itself felt. Closing the doors mitigated the noise but then the aircon came on. When we google earth Riveria, we saw the block across the street was green (map was date stamped a year ago). We asked Gabriella (front desk) about it. Apparently, the building is new...

Noted that some reviewers felt the breakfast set up was noisy and some of the rooms were not as private. We were on the third floor so less traffic but all balcony face in to the courtyard (pool area) and yes, open to breakfast set/restaurant noise. We're morning folks so if didn't faze us as much. However, the way the hotel is set up, the rooms are also open to the new business across the street and therefore to the late evening noise.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deedee8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews