We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing small hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #72 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Royston, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Amazing small hotel”
Reviewed 20 July 2014

My daughter and I booked this fabulous, stylish hotel in Aprril, and we stayed here for 5 nights. Antonio greeted us with a warm reception and showed us our beautiful, spacious room on the first floor. The room with balcony overlooking swimming pool with palms trees was simply charming.
We loved this hotel!!!
The staff was fabulous. Gabriella and Yanina were very helpful and friendly.
We felt like all the time we were getting excellent service, so much caring.
Breakfast was simple and delicious, included in prize. We were so glad to stay there as we prefer small stylish hotels with such as fantastic atmosphere to the large hotels.
Location is great as well- near the beach and the 5th Avenue with plenty of shops and restaurants.
We even had fantastic massage with Gabriella last day in the special open air, large and very stylish room on the first floor- and it was unforgettable. We are greeting especially Gabriella once more and additionally Yanina and Antonio! Thank you so much for your hospitality!
Overall everything was perfect and surely we will stay here when we come to Playa del Carmen next time.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Denise403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

391 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    244
    126
    16
    4
    1
See reviews for
102
155
10
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (50)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
israel
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 June 2014 via mobile

I have no words! But I'll try to find them
Excellent service! Great price! Clean spacious rooms! Great location near the Mamita's beach and the Main Street! Fresh breakfast included
We were planning to stay for only 4 nights and stayed there for 6 :)

Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank tuti22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gordonton, New Zealand
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 June 2014

This hotel has everything - great location close to the shops, restaurants & beach. It has lovely staff who really enjoy their jobs and are so friendly. The rooms are lovely and spacious and clean. The pool is an added bonus because when we visited in June the sea water was warm and not at all refreshing, so we found the pool a great way to cool down. They also have this lovely lounging room above the bar with books, TV & DVD and you could even get a massage up there :-)
We would happily stay here again and recommend it to everyone.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ShellAntLuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Adelaide, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014 via mobile

Room was spacious and clean. There was air con, wifi in the lobby, (average wifi in the room) and free bottled water.
We got a good deal on expedia for just over $100 per night for the room.
Perfect location, right next to the Main Street (5th avenue - where all the restauarants and bars and shops are) and down the road from the main beach.
Would stay here again!

Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank Sarah B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 June 2014

My husband and I booked this little hotel on our last trip to PDC from 6/6/14- 6/1-/14. The hotel is small and nicely located. Overall we loved the hotel. The staff was great. Yanina was by far the highlight of our stay. She was so caring, friendly and polite. Her attitude made us feel incredibly welcome and comfortable. When we arrived to the room we were blown away! It was beautifully decorated for our honey moon. They put local flowers and chocolate on the bed, and they even had placed a bottle of champagne right beside it.

Pros:
- Yanina at the front desk was AMAZING!
- Small and cute little hotel, everything was neat and clean
- Delicious breakfast was included
- The room had a ceiling fan which we loved
- They gave us coupons to get a free beach umbrella and chairs at Mamita's Beach, which was at a walking distance from the hotel
- Mamita's beach was great

Drawbacks:
- There is no parking, so you have to find a street spot around the hotel (particularly hard at night when all the few spaces are taken).
- The hotel location was very good, as it was near the 5th avenue and close to the beach. On the same coin, since that are is so busy most of the time, you will hear some music in your room. Just make sure you close the door and the balcony and turn on the ceiling fan, then you should be fine. The noise did not bother us at all.

I would definitely recommend this hotel to everyone visiting Playa and will come back to it in a heartbeat. Having a parking lot would make this hotel just perfect, as every time we go to Playa we do have to rent a car.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the pool
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank msgarciamayorca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2014

We stayed here for 7 nights on our honeymoon and absolutely loved it. The staff were so helpful with any questions we had and activities we wanted to book and we entered the room on the first day to find rose petals on the bed and a complimentary bottle of champagne waiting for us. It was such a treat after travelling all day. We also got massages at the hotel which were very relaxing. The location of Riviera del Sol is really handy to 5th ave if you like shopping and only a quick stroll from the beach. The breakfast each morning at the hotel was great and it was great not to be locked into an 'all inclusive' deal and to have the freedom to try the different food options in town. We found walking to 30th avenue meant we got a more 'authentic' mexican food experience and at half the price of the 5th avenue eateries. We would definitely stay here again and would recommend it to anyone going to Playa del Carmen. Great hotel!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Viverama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
Reviewed 12 May 2014

Stayed here May8-12, 2014. Nothing but great things to say about this hotel. Service, location, and rooms were spot on. I'm glad we didn't we didn't go the 'conventional' all-inclusive route. The beach is only a 5 minute walk and the staff is very good with recommendations.
Gabriella was simply amazing and exceeded all of our expectations.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone looking to stay in PDC. Will definitely be back soon.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank falcons727
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#42 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
496 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,444 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#30 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#50 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,357 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,224 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Hotel & Condominiums Play...
#19 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
848 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Property: Hotel Riviera del Sol
Address: 1a. Av. Norte y Calle 30 Nte. | Quintana Roo, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotels.com, Priceline, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Expedia, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing