We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel, great location, a touch musty...”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Ranked #33 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 28 July 2010

I have been staying at Riviera del Sol for years, starting in 2003. This is a great small hotel, very convenient location to both the beach and 5th Avenue. The hotel provides passes to Mamita's beach club which covers the cost of 2 chairs and a palapa. We stayed in room 105 this time, which is right next to the restaurant area. The restaurant turns on the music at 8-ish in the morning, which you can hear in the room if you are a light sleeper. You can definitely hear the music later in the day. Did not bother me, but if you wanted to get in an afternoon nap, you might find it disturbing. My husband slept right through it. The room itself was clean and comfortable, the bed was firm, but not rock hard, like some you find in Mexico. Our one gripe was the room had a distinctly musty smell. The A/C dripped onto the bedside shelf, and I assume this was the cause. The pool area is nice. I ate breakfast at the hotel in the morning, but we did not eat lunch or dinner there. This is the first time that I've been there that they have had a fully functioning restaurant. Overall, I recommend this hotel, and we will likely continue to stay there on future trips to Playa.

  • Stayed: July 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LaurelHouston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

159 - 165 of 438 reviews

Reviewed 22 April 2010

We often tack on a a day or two in Playa del Carmen before or after we spend time further south on Soliman Bay near Tulum. This spring we spent both the first and last nights of our extended trip at the Hotel Riviera del Sol. This was our third stay there, and it remains my favorite *relatively* inexpensive hotel in Playa's North End. Note that prices have gradually crept up in the last couple of years. It remains a great value.

We like the included continental breakfast, which is just enough to get you going in the morning, as well as passes to Mamitas. The rooms have been lately spruced up quite nicely, as has the bar/restaurant area. It's bordering on chic! My son loves the pool and its recently redone deck. The people who work at the Riviera del Sol go out of their way to be friendly and helpful. Juan Jose is a most gracious host.

But my favorite part of the Riviera del Sol experience is the location. It simply can't be beat for easy access to the beach, La 5ta and all the dining options in the North End. Plus -- and this is huge -- it's easy to find free parking in the area.

  • Stayed: March 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank John W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2010

This hotel has just 23 rooms. The rooms are quite big and very (!) clean. Nice and personal service. Just a few steps away from the beach. Next to quiet part of 5th Ave. Small pool. Nice restaurant, meals are delicious and good value for money.

Stayed: February 2010, travelled as a couple
2  Thank gelegentlich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We chose the Riviera del Sol for our accommodation while on vacation for two weeks in January 2010. This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen; our first time at this hotel. From the very moment we set foot in this charming hotel we were pleased with our decision to stay here; it is truly a ‘gem’ to be experienced.

Many thanks to Juan Jose and Melina for their help with our reservation and providing information about local interests and activities to make our vacation memorable. Juan Jose’s map of Tulum was our favorite souvenir – we took it with us when we visited this beautiful historic site.

What we appreciated about this hotel:
Most importantly, the friendly and helpful staff - they are the people who made this a wonderful experience; the hotel is very clean and well maintained; the rooms are comfortable, spacious, quiet, with good A/C and ceiling fan; the restaurant serves good food; and the location is superb – just a short walk to the beach, or a short walk to all the activities on Fifth Avenue.

Our stay included breakfast served in the lovely restaurant area by the pool. It consisted of coffee, fresh orange juice, fresh fruit, sweet buns, and toast. You can also order from the menu for a small additional charge. Alberto and Roberto were the waiters who provided excellent service and were very helpful with our limited Espanol.
On two occasions, after very busy days, we chose to have our evening meal here. It was so relaxing. We had the risotto and lasagne; both were very good.

Also included with our accommodation was a pass for lounge chairs and a palapa sombrilla at Mamita’s Beach Club, which is located on the best stretch of beach in Playa del Carmen. It was worth getting up early to watch the sunrise from here, then going for a long morning walk on this beautiful beach - very peaceful.

The following businesses in the area are worth noting as they contributed to making our vacation fun:
Mexico Blue Dream - a dive shop located on the way to the beach - be sure to check it out. My husband and son had such a great experience with their all day snorkeling adventure that they went on a second excursion.
Renzo’s Pizza - for a quick snack (and/or a game of chess) located a few blocks away on Fifth Ave.
Ambasciata D’Italia Ristorante - on 5th Ave is definitely worth a visit – good food and service.
Chango Internet Café - one block away on First Ave (request to hear Elizabeth’s cd – she has a beautiful voice).

We will stay at the Riviera del Sol on our next trip to PDC. Thank you to the management and staff who made us feel at home while we were guests in their hotel. We had a great time! Enjoyed our stay immensely!

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChristineOnVacation
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2009

We have stayed here 16 nights and it's so nice, clean and quiet. The 5th avenue is only 50 m away, but you can sit on your balcon and enjoy the peace. The beach is just one street away and you get a beachtowel and a cupon every day from the hotel, so sunbed and parasol is free on Mamitas Beachclub. The hotelpersonel is also so helpfull and if you need anything they will gladly help you. You also have free internet and it works fine.
We had a great stay and would love to come back another time ;o)

  • Stayed: August 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FamilyJensen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2009

I recently completed a 10+ day stay at RDS, I was familiar with this property from a previous visit, but didn't stay until this past trip. The staff is very personable, friendly, and aware of there surrondings. The rooms are spacious, but very clean, efficient, beds are firm, but, still comfortable. have a small pool, but, if you want a relaxing day, instead of the techno/electronica beach action, this is relaxing alternative. Close proximity to several restaurants, lounges, etc. Most things are within a short walk anyhow. I've stayed in many different properties throughout my travels, budget, highend, all inclusive, etc. I even have 10+ years in the hotel biz- this place is perfect for an intimate getaway! The hotel is between 5th ave, and 1st st, they offer beach passes for Mamacita's beach club. The rooms are very quiet, very little traffic, street noise. I would personally give it aleast 3.5 rating to 4.0 for the overall value.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beachbumvinnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2009

We stayed at this lovely hotel for a week in May for my best friends wedding. They had a small wedding party of only 50 people and everyone who traveled from the US and Canada was able to stay here. We booked all the rooms for the week except one, which was occupied by an older couple who spent the entire season there every year. We received an excellent group rate off of prices that were already reasonable.

My experience started with the hotel about six months in advance. As the maid of honor, I was responsible for booking rooms for several of the other guests as well. I started email correspondence with Alex, and then we began to talk on the phone the closer we got to the date. Check in was not a problem and rooms were clean and comfortable. My BF's dad lives in Playa and we've been traveling there on vacation for years. The hotel is located on the north side of 5th avenue. This is the newer side of the town that is still seeing a lot of development. It's just a block from the best beach, Playa Tucan, and you get complementary chairs at Mamitas beach club while staying here.

The staff was friendly and helpful. They accommodated all of our needs. We had a welcome pool party for all the guests one afternoon and allowed full access to the kitchen and breakfast bar. We also had a small bridal shower one night in the same area before heading out for the bachelor and bachelorette parties. The after the wedding it rained and we were too exhausted to move, so the front desk gave us some menus and we ordered food from a nearby restaurant that delivered.

The hotel is lovely and we spent a lot of time in the lounge on the second floor recovering from the previous night's partying, watching television, using the free internet, and gathering to make plans for the night when it was time for more partying. All the rooms have air conditioning, some have kitchenettes and they have spacious balconies that overlook the courtyard and pool. What was also great about this hotel is that north side of 5th avenue has a more laid back vibe. Staying in hotels on the other side of 5th Ave puts you right in heart of the beach clubs and party scene. It's pretty impossible to sleep at night down there!

Rivera del Sol is the perfect location for young, active people who want to have a good time in Playa, not stay in an all inclusive and get a fair rate for a clean, comfortable room with good service.

  • Stayed: May 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank canwegoalready
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
BRIC Hotel & Spa
BRIC Hotel & Spa
#46 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
509 reviews
0.3 mi away
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condominiums Playa del Carmen
Acanto Boutique Hotel & Condomin...
#18 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
867 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#28 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
855 reviews
0.2 mi away
Aventura Mexicana
Aventura Mexicana
#25 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Riviera del Sol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Riviera del Sol

Address: 1a. Av. Norte | and Calle 30 Nte., Between 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach., Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £65 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Riviera del Sol 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Riviera del Sol is an outstandingly beautiful hotel located in Playa del Carmen. Here you will enjoy a peaceful atmosphere accompanied by the warm, friendly, and courteous service the Mayan Riviera is famous for. Riviera del Sol is designed exclusively with your relaxation and comfort in mind. Each room has a private patio or balcony overlooking the pool and stunning garden area. Whether it’s just the two of you or your entire family, you will find that staying at Riviera del Sol is a truly exceptional experience - Welcome to the magic that is Riviera del Sol! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Riviera del Sol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riviera Del Sol Hotel
Riviera Del Sol Playa Carmen
Hotel Riviera Del Sol Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing