We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in great location”
Review of Kinbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Kinbe Hotel
Ranked #106 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Aus
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in great location”
Reviewed 25 April 2011

Hotel Kinbe is a lovely hotel 2 minutes walk from the beach and right near the restaurants, market and nightlife. Staff were super friendly and our double room was very clean although quite small. The hotel has a small pool with waterfall although we didn't use it as the beach was so close. The free wifi was great. A breakfast option would have been a nice touch.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank HonestReviewerAus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

630 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    221
    248
    84
    46
    31
See reviews for
60
324
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2011

Nice hotel. Close to beach - 30 seconds walk. Great pool which others look at with envy. Rooms are small and basic, but air con works well and fridge comes in handy. Friendly staff. No restaurant, but many close by

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alexmc12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oklahoma
Level Contributor
49 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2011

After seeing our room we decided to upgrade to a larger room. We were told one rate for the room we chose, but charged another when we went to check out. I had read in reviews that some of the rooms were small, but they are TINY. We ended up in a loft room (18) with stairs that were unsafe. The tread depth was not consistent or safe, if there were building codes enforced in Playa this room would not have a loft. The room has a television which is difficult to watch downstairs or upstairs. The room furnishings were sparse and simple. After staying at the Kinbe, I can definitely say that the three rooms I saw were over priced compared to the other hotels I have stayed at in Playa over the years. My brother and sister-in-laws were booked up the street one block away and had a larger and better furnished room for about $35 a night cheaper.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank oologah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
Level Contributor
18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2011

Hotel Kinbe is a cute boutique hotel. Well decorated with great ambiance a cool waterfall pool and an upscale swiss family robinson vibe.
Location: great, right off 5th avenue, but not too noisy. Walk out the lobby and view the gorgeous ocean.
Rooms: a little small with not many places to put your things, but comfy and very cute.
Staff: Jan was awesome and really helpful when we came in late at night and tired from getting lost on the way home from Chichen Itza. He also suggested great places to eat and helped us find a place for our rental car until we could return it the next morning.
Overall, a really cute chic hotel with great ambiance, location and staff. Would stay here again in a heartbeat!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank littlebunny76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 April 2011

This place was easy to find taking the bus from Cancun and arriving at the station on Avenida Cinco. It's right off the main street, so maybe a little removed from the nightclub music at night, but a few nights the bass was thumping in the early morning. It was perfectly cute for my girlfriend and I-- small, simply cool designed room, charming garden courtyard and chic pool & waterfall area, and sunny roof area great for reading a book, taking a nap and enjoying views of town and the ocean. It's about two blocks from the beach. The best part were the staff, Andrea and Alejandro, who both alternated shifts and helped make our trip amazing. They were extremely friendly and willing to offer advice on places to eat and things to do, providing us a terrific taxi (Ivan) who we used the whole trip and just who we looked forward to seeing everytime we returned to the boutique hotel from a day of adventure in and around Playa and the Yucatan region.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dclmoney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New Orleans, Louisiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 30 March 2011

I adored the Hotel Kinbe. We had 2 rooms in the newer part of the building and one in the older. If you can, definitely choose the newer, they are larger and very cleaner with pleasant little balconies. The one room we had in the older section was very small but charming and very clean. The locale of the hotel is perfect, only a two minute walk to the beach right down the street and only a few minutes to virtually any other entertainment we wanted. They have a great roof top seating area which was isolated every time I went up there and provided a decent view of the beach. On the flip side, I did get to see a corpulent fella smoking from a bong at the building across from me but meh. My one complaint was when I had called the concierge prior to arriving regarding parking, I was advised that there was a paylot around the corner but when I arrived there, the concierge on duty was not aware of one. Fortunately, I paid the retired, and lovely, cop who lived across the street $10.00 per day for parking in front of his home.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank melismatic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manchester
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 March 2011

Kinbe is lovely, the rooms are good, we had two different rooms on different nights, the ambience is great, ditto the location. The staff are unobtrusive but always around to help. there's great places to eat just nearby, the beach is really close and the pool is such an asset. watch out for grackles bathing at the top of the wall next to the pool and splashing you! We'll make it our stop off point in playa from now on.
John and veronica

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pabloManchester
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#69 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#121 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
200 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#83 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
136 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#105 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
265 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Lunata
Hotel Lunata
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbe Hotel

Property: Kinbe Hotel
Address: Calle 10 Norte | Between 1 & 5 Avenida, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinbe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbe Deluxe enjoys a great location:few steps from the playa and from the famous “Quinta Avenida”. All the rooms face the pool and the astonishing waterfall, which creates a quiet and peaceful sensation and an intimate atmosphere.From the rooftop is possible to enjoy a wonderful ocean view, sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Kinbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinbe Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing