We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad use of space in the rooms but perfect location”
Review of Kinbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Kinbe Hotel
Ranked #105 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Kansas City, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Bad use of space in the rooms but perfect location”
Reviewed 27 July 2014

Kinbe was the exact place we were looking for: great price, it has the most perfect location imaginable for "independent" tourists - a two minute walk from the beach or less and the same distance to the 5th with all the restaurants and other amenities.It has a beautiful garden - great for pictures- and being in the middle of a busy street,you still feel like you are in the rain forest. The roof views are great and I really liked the general style of the hotel.It's kind of minimalist with Japanese vibes,looks like that's what they tried to make it look like and..thus..the rooms had those tiny tiny shelves which were no good for anything,we stayed for a week in the hotel and most of our clothes and belongings were laying in the luggage or on the floor. Bathroom has one tiny tiny shelve,it was the worst. I understand that for the price you can't expect much and the rooms are really small(still very clean and the stuff was GREAT) but,seriously,with just a little bit of practical thinking,and not much expenses they can be very convenient for the visitors.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

638 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    226
    251
    84
    46
    31
See reviews for
64
327
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chino Hills, California
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 July 2014

We travel to Playa every year and have stayed at various resorts during our stay. This year, after spending a week at a resort, we decided to stay a few extra nights in downtown Playa. Kinbe Hotel is a small, clean and easy access hotel right in the middle of downtown Playa. It's off 5th Avenue down the street from a Starbucks. The rooms are simple yet clean and the service is outstanding. You have access to a beach club a block away. There are several great beach lounges/clubs/bars/restaurants within a 2 block area. If you want to travel to Tulum or Cancun and are on a budget, the bus terminal is 3 blocks away.

Room Tip: Room 21 is a private spacious room with a small balcony and nice lounge chairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ernienlisab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

If you are on the high maintenance side of things, I wouldn't recommend this hotel. However, f you want to feel the local life up close go for it. The location is amazing, customer service is great, and the overall architectural style is Playa themed. Some rooms have uncomfortable shower floors but hey, it's playa and they use volcanic rocks so, can't get better that showering in a nature like manner. Price was lower than advertised as we got it as a bundle via Travelocity. Because of the stye, they are constantly making sure everything is in working conditions. Remember it's not the Ritz, so adjust your expectations. I gave it a 4 only because the water fall was not working and because I did require a soap holder or shelf on the shower, other than that, everything was amazing!

Room Tip: I meant to leave kids activities blank. Playa in general is not a place to visit with kids (I found...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sea157
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Antonio, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 July 2014

I am happy with the hotel, the customer service was good Carlos help us at all times with information about the area as long with booking for our tours. Also, the hotel is well located you'll be on the middle of everything. I'll book with them again!!!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lupita R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This hotel was wonderful. We were skeptical at staying at a small hotel but the staff made our stay very comfortable.The hotel was very clean and the layout of the hotel was unique allowing us to enjoy the out doors. This hotel is very close to the beach and to the restaurants. The hotel staff (Carlos) helps us rent a car and plan our excursions. We would defstay here for when we go back to play del carmen.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank globetrotter S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Jose, California
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 June 2014 via mobile

Pros: staff was great, location was awesome!!! Close to everything and anything! Can't ask for more....

Cons: our room was filled with baby Mosquitos, the room seemed a bit run down.

In general we enjoyed our stay in playa del carmen, the hotel room alone could have gotten a little TLC. I think it needs a little can of fresh paint because seems we were not the only ones with that issue of Mosquitos we found a shoe print onthe wall we assume trying to kill mosquitos. Maybe a mosquito net around the bed and or a screen on the sliding patio door. Other than that location. Location location and staff was awesome too!

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Losfrancos82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel k, Public Relations Manager at Kinbe Hotel, responded to this review, 4 November 2014
Losfrancos82 thank you for your review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay at Kinbe. We will take your comments into consideration to improve our guests experience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 June 2014

I stayed here in May for 2 nights in room 4. There was a terrible smell of dirty drains in the bathroom. The room faces out to a garden and there are no mosquito guards on the windows so they easily got into the room. Our t.v. didn't work. I had a long flight the day I was checking out so I tried to have a sleep in but couldn't due to hammering noises. During my trip i stayed at much nicer places in the area at a fraction of the cost of this hotel. A very disappointing experience

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mair176
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
hotel k, Public Relations Manager at Kinbe Hotel, responded to this review, 28 October 2014
Mair176 we appreciate your comments and we thank you for your stay. We regret your stay wasn't as you had hoped. We will take your comments and make sure to address the issues you mention on the room. Hope you can give us a second chance and visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#82 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
148 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#51 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#74 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
247 reviews
0.1 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#102 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
658 reviews
0.0 mi away
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
Siesta Fiesta Hotel
#116 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbe Hotel

Property: Kinbe Hotel
Address: Calle 10 Norte | Between 1 & 5 Avenida, Col. Centro, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#72 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#86 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Kinbe Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Kinbe Deluxe enjoys a great location:few steps from the playa and from the famous “Quinta Avenida”. All the rooms face the pool and the astonishing waterfall, which creates a quiet and peaceful sensation and an intimate atmosphere.From the rooftop is possible to enjoy a wonderful ocean view, sunrise or sunset. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Kinbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinbe Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing