We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location, service, decent ("Moody") room” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kinbe Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kinbe Hotel
Ranked #106 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Haarlem, Netherlands
Level Contributor
118 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 268 helpful votes
“Great location, service, decent ("Moody") room”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 November 2009

Stayed here in Nov09 in a ground floor "Moody" room (room #1, behind reception). Very centrally located on Cally 10, just off the main Avenida 5. The bottom floor also ensured no noise was coming through, though with little day light. Room was large and clean. Staff was very friendly. Breakfast options plentiful. Great dive shop Scuba Playa located opposite the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2009, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haarlem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

606 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    209
    240
    81
    46
    30
See reviews for
59
311
42
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 October 2009

Hotel Kinbe is great. If you're after something a little more tasteful and personal than the massive beachfront resort, this is perfect. We had a great view of the beach and the rooms were lovely. Location is perfect, right in the middle of playa and only 15m to the beach. You are given vouchers for one of the beach front bars so there is no problem finding a sunbed on the sand, and the staff could not be more helpful.
Only thing we could fault them on is the value of breakfast. You get a voucher for a restaurant up the road as there is no restaurant on site, and this only covers a basic continental breakfast. We ended up paying an additional 80pesos each morning so we could have the buffet instead. It's definitely not worth paying extra to have breakfast included unless you're happy with cereal and toast.
Kinbe is a really beautiful place to stay, and looks a lot more expensive than it is.Definitely excellent value and I would stay there again in Playa.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 28days
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 October 2009

We`ve had a great holiday at Kinbe Hotel! The staff was very welcoming,kind and always keen to help us in anything we needed. The hotel was very clean and the location was just perfect, only 50m from the beach. It had a very classy ethnic style and our room was very bright and with very cool furniture. A fantastic holiday!!! We`ll definetely reccomend this hotel. Emiliana and Robert from London

  • Stayed June 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cooltime
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

The Kinbé is a boutique hotel with the best location ever: one block from the 5th Avenue and even less from the beach. Our room was chic, wide and very bright. We felt sleep every night with the sound of the waterfall in a fantastic king size bed.
We loved the rooftop terrace and the lush tropical garden.
The staff is amazing very helpful; thanks Alexis and Raul!! They kindly gave us the best tips for restaurants, tours and much more.
Thanks to the cleaning ladies, they really make us feel home.
Elena, the sales manager, who made our reservation was very kind and clear, thanks to be so patience and intelligent.
We are travelers and we recognize a good and professional hotel management;
We met once the general manager at the desk and we didn’t have the opportunity
To tell her how much we enjoyed our stay, thank you Stefania.
We strongly recommend the Kinbe’.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mexico4ever2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Switezerland
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 October 2009

My boy friend and I spent a couple of weeks in this small charming hotel very very close to the beach, only 50Mt.
We were looking for a relaxing place in the centre of Playa Del Carmen, Hotel Kimbe was absolutely the best compromise we could find.
Room are very tidy.
Staff is friendly and helpful.
They organized for us wonderful daily trips and they help us in all we wanted to have.
We are already planning to go there another week, maybe during March next year.
We strongly recommended Hotel Kimbe'.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Cipresso
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 October 2009

This hotel was perfect and met it's purpose for my friend and I. The rooms were small but clean, but that is all we really needed, considering we spent all our time on the beach. The beach was about a 2 minute walk away from the hotel. We went to the beach all day and were allowed to use the beach umbrellas and chairs of one of the beach front hotels.
The staff was very nice and informative. They were able to answer a lot of our questions regarding places to eat and sights to see.

  • Stayed December 2008, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank NewYorkNik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 September 2009

Nice trendy hotel. Rooms are not as spacious as I would like to have seen, but certainly enough for my needs. On saturday the outdoor nightlife sounds were able to creep into the room. The staff is really incredible and back over backwards to satisfy the needs of the customers. Well done!

  • Stayed August 2009, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Haploke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 117 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 221 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#124 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#40 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,347 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
Hotel Boutique Posada Mariposa
#112 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.3 mi away
Barrio Latino Hotel
Barrio Latino Hotel
#67 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 645 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kinbe Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kinbe Hotel

Property: Kinbe Hotel
Address: Calle 1o Norte entre 1a y 5a, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#87 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Kinbe Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Kinbe is a fusion of lush tropical garden setting with distinctly chic shape that gives a soaring charm in a comfortable and friendly atmosphere. Close to the 5 Avenida, just 50 meters from the Caribbean Sea. The impressive reception, the particular pool, the stunning waterfall and the panoramic terrace are the enchanting of the hotel. The unique shape design of the rooms offers the guests a feeling that each room was designed especially for them. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kinbe Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kinbe Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Playa Del Carmen
Kinbe Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing