We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stay at the BRIC!”
Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #47 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 17 March 2011

Great location. Right on the 5th street paseo and a quick walk to the beach. Near the action but quite. Interior courtyard and pool lovely, relaxing and well maintained. Rooms clean and well laid out with good sized covered balconies and refrigerator. Free breakfast well above average and a great staff. Not my first or last time there.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nojunkplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (504)
There are newer reviews for BRIC Hotel & Spa
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

318 - 324 of 504 reviews

Reviewed 16 March 2011

Wasn't quite sure what to expect at the Bric, but it turned out to be just fine. Clean rooms,friendly helpful staff. Good location in Playa. Can't wait to plan a return trip!
I don't think you can go wrong staying at the Bric.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mtibbetts
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2011

Wonderful, affordable and great location! The pool and surrounding are lovely and very well maintained. The rooms are simple but clean and you have your own little balcony where you can just read and relax. The staff at the front dest are amazing! Always very friendly, courteous and helpful. A "special" thanks to Abril.
The breakfast in the morning is the best, you must try their freshly squeezed orange juice.
Would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank andybern020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

After reading so many excellent reviews of this hotel in Playa Del Carmen, we were super excited to get going on our Mayan Riviera vacation and escape the cold of Vancouver. After a number of emails back and forth with the friendly staff at the hotel, which were all courteous and helpful, I was sure we would have the best time ever in Playa.
Alas, this was not the case. At least 3 of the emails that I shared with the hotel had to do with our initial arrival at the airport in Cancun. At 9:55am (after a red eye from Seattle) our driver would be waiting outside the entrance with a sign with our name and the hotels name, and then the van service take us the 40 min away from Cancun to Playa del Carmen. Pretty easy you would think right? No, not so much.
After a few painstaking minutes of being harassed as to whether or not we needed a ride to our hotel from the hundreds of would be drivers hanging out outside the airport, and not being able to find our sign, I made a call to the hotel. We were told the driver should be there any minute. And then 15 minutes later another call......oh sorry, he should be there any time now. 30 minutes later, the driver arrived and apparently thought we were supposed to be picked up at 1pm. Weird since I have like 9 emails to and from the hotel that we were arriving at 9:30am. Ok, whatever. No big deal, we're on vacation in Mexico and there were cold cerveza's to be had right outside the airport doors. We can deal with waiting a few minutes.
The drive to the hotel was easy and pretty fast, but then we arrived at the hotel only for the check-in desk curious as to who we were and were we to be checking in? Ummmm, ya. Here are the printed versions of my million of emails back and forth to you guys about the reservation dates, the confirmation, oh and let's not forget that you had us on the list for a driver to pick us up today at the airport, though be it at the incorrect time (?) so yes, I would say that we were to be checking in today. Well, they did not have us checking in on the Saturday, but on the Sunday. Luckily, there was a room to be had and they squeezed the 3 of us in to a room for 1 night to then be moved to our actual room on the next day for the duration of our stay. A bigger better room for the 3 of us to relax in for the next 7 days. Not a bigger room after all, but was on the ground floor with a patio overlooking the pool. Very nice. Unfortunately, we were a bit sour already from the van pick-up/check-in fiasco, but again we were on vacation so let's enjoy! Oh, and as a side note, we learned at check-in that breakfast was not included with our stay as we did not book through the hotel, but they would throw in breakfast because of the mix-up. This did appease my hostility a bit, until breakfast time.......
So, the first day was good. Breakfast is between 7am - 10am and was under a nice eating area by the pool. Very quaint and very cute. Loving this. The cook on our first morning made a delicious traditional Mexican breakfast and it was great! Leisurely breakfast, dip in the pool, switch rooms, head to the beach. Pretty good first day. Then there was breakfast the 2nd day. We would soon learn that if you were not at breakfast between 7am - 8am (even though it is served, sort of, until 10am), you would be left with rubber eggs, a few slices of bread and hard bagels, some weary looking fruit, 2 cold pancakes (not each - just 2) and a version of Choco-puff cereal. No milk left though, only cream. On a bright note, the coffee was excellent. Needless to say, we did not enjoy our included breakfast for the next 6 days as we were not planning on getting up at 7 just to get the bacon that was supposedly included with the meal.
3 strikes so far and we were only on day 2.
We did however find the hotel not bad for the price. The rooms were clean (even though I had to ask for the room to be made up, and to get fresh towels twice after returning from a full day of exploring Playa and it's beautiful beaches etc), and the location is fantastic. It's right by the bustling 5th street and literally no more than a 5 min walk from the beach. We found Playa del Carmen a bit on the pricey side, but we were glad to have visited. If you do go, head down 5th to an excellent wine & tapas bar called 'Bites'. It is just wonderful and a pleasant get away on the eardrums with their cool jazz/laid back tunes rather than the constant DJ thump-thump that seems to pour out of every restaurant and bar.
All in all, we found the hotel and it's staff to be pleasant, but not super accommodating and definitely not as fabulous as mentioned in other reviews. You could certainly tell who the regular visitors were though, because the staff seemed to be extra helpful to them.
We would recommend this hotel if you are looking for a great price and an excellent location, but we will for sure try a different hotel or even an all inclusive if we were to ever come back to Playa del Carmen.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank staradew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

With only 13 rooms in a quiet tropical courtyard, this small boutique hotel really is a great environment for chilling out. The room was just what we wanted (front balcony with chairs, clean, big bed that was reasonably comfortable, locking safe, fridge, good shower, iPod dock), the pool (small but clean and a nice temp) and surroundings were excellently maintained, and although the location is just off of 5th Ave, there was no noise. It was quite hot during the week (certainly around 30 Celcius) but the room was cooled enough with just the ceiling fan, never needed the air conditioner. Breakfast is fresh and delicious. The front desk service is excellent - could not be more helpful or dependable, all advice given was honest and reliable and cheerful. When compared to another nearby hotel we had to stay in for our final night in Playa (we opted to stay 1 more night but there was not an available room), The Bric was much more enjoyable, reliable, quiet and of good value.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dr_moooo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2011

Very charming boutique type hotel at the end of the main strip, it is tucked up a little street 1/2 block from Starbucks for all you coffee lovers, 3 good blocks from beach, and a short walk to all the fine restaurants in Playa. The staff were very accomidating and pleasant and English spoken by some. the center courtyard and pool, lovely for relaxing around. It was very clean! Would reccommend for anyone not wanting an all-inclusive and like to do find and do things for themselves. I would stay there again with hesitation.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rdparson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2011

Loved the Bric, the location and the friendly staff! We really liked that it was so close to everything as well. All the fun of 5th street is right around the corner. The beach was only a few blocks away as well. I've had some really hard beds in Mexico and found myself quite comfortable. Not huge rooms but cozy and kept up. Good breakfast in the morning and after many nights out it was great to get some rest because you don't hear the street noise. Lots of good places to eat right down the street. I think I drank the 1847 restaurant out of Sangria! Would for sure stay at the Bric again if I found myself going back to Playa.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank krbrandt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#31 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#56 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#97 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
946 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,250 reviews
0.6 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#80 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
154 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#14 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £41 - £230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L. and getaroom.com so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing