We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great service, peaceful and beautiful entourage”
Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #53 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 27 December 2011

We stayed two days at Playa at the Bric Hotel. It is a small hotel (compared to the big 'chains'),
cosy, quiet, with the rooms set around a refreshing pool, palm trees and close to a large palapa where breakfast is served. Most of all the staff, and in particular Abril at the reception where very nice and helpful. We liked the privacy and peaceful atmosphere. It's 3 blocks from the beach, and 1 block from the main avenue, close to lots of restaurants and shops, however in a very quiet street. AND you can park easily (and safely) on the street close to the hotel.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 101TRavEler333
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (509)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

283 - 289 of 509 reviews

Reviewed 17 December 2011

The staff answered a lot of our questions during the stay, and was always polite and welcoming. When we had to leave early before breakfast one morning for a trip, the nice lady who makes breakfast found us a few things to munch on since we couldn't stay until 7:30 when breakfast starts. The front desk worker gave us a great day trip recommendation and we found it pretty easy to walk from BRIC to most places in Playa. The chocolate soap and honey shampoo they have in the bathrooms is fantastic. I just wish I could buy a larger bottle to take home.

The drawbacks were that the lock on our room door was a bit stiff and so took a few minutes to open each time. We figured out the tricks eventually, but it would have been nice to not have to fiddle with the lock every day. Next, I remember booking a queen size bed but ended up with a full and a twin. It was no big deal since I was tired enough to sleep anywhere, but it's nice to have a bed that fits when you're tall. No big deal though. I'm sure the staff would have arranged something had I asked.

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cody8654
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 December 2011

The bric hotel is just steps from 5th ave. Nice breakfast every morning and friendly, helpful staff! Nice showers with hot water.
We would return!

  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 December 2011

The staff is 5 star! They make you feel like family. You would not get nearly the service and attention at a larger hotel. The BRIC is central to shopping, excellent restaurants and Caribbean charm. Everything is clean, fresh and inviting. Thanks especially to Abril and Gustavo....they are very helpful and a wealth of knowledge.

A suggestion to the hotel...more comfortable seating around the pool would be a plus!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Gordon M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2011

I stayed at the Bric Hotel in Playa and loved it! Everyone was so nice and we got a level of service that we wouldn't have gotten at a larger hotel. The breakfast cook had the usual eggs, bacon, cereal each morning but would then come over and offer to make us fresh traditional Mexican breakfasts with fresh fruit as well. The front desk staff were all so helpful! Whenever we had questions about where to go, what to see, etc they would go above and beyond for us. The place is a bit rustic in some ways but we thought that it added to the charm of the place. If you're someone that is used to staying at the 4 seasons then this place probably isn't for you but the charm, people, and location were all amazing! Its also only about 2 blocks from the beach, 1 block from 5th Avenue, and 1/2 block from Starbucks! :) I would recommend this place to anyone looking for a great getaway!

  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sarah R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 December 2011

We loved everything about The BRIC- staff was fantastic, friendly, & helpful. Very clean & well-kept. Room was small, but absolutely fine. Nice bathroom too! Excellent access to 5th ave shopping & dining. Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MDennyandJPearson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 November 2011

Its prime location and secluded tropical garden are Bric Hotel's biggest plus. It's real good value for money and perfect for travellers avoiding big tourist resorts. The rooms are decorated tastefully and cater for all your needs. Bric's staff has been really helpful and nice, especially when it comes to restaurant tips (the food was delicious!). I especially enjoyed the leafy garden with its small and private pool. It was exactly what I had been looking for to relax.
The only small thing that bothered me was the slightly damp smell in the rooms - we were given a downstairs room at first and then moved upstairs, where the air was better. Also, due to a misunderstanding at the reception there was nobody to show us our room when we arrived at the airport late at night. We had to wait around for 45 minutes until we could check in. Regardless, we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: Upstairs rooms have a nicer view and get more sun and day light
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lilla_vanilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
500 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,390 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#16 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,266 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#40 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
438 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#49 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
1,510 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#14 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
858 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#36 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £42 - £225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, HotelsClick, Evoline ltd, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing