We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A strike in Playa del carmen”
Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #60 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 8 August 2012

It's really small hotel which consists of 14 rooms (sort of that). Everywhere greenery around the pool. Rooms are simple but have all necessary. Free wi-fi really helped us to schedule our activities (worth noting many hotels have very expensive rate to this service). Helpful staff, daily room, pool, rest area cleaning. Nice location - at a distance of 30 steps near by 5th avenu but even at night there are very quietly in hotel unlike hotels which are located directly at 5th avenu. Near by hotel (at a distance of 15 steps) there are American car rental office where we rented a car and everything was great.

We have found only one lack: we spent 15 days in the bric hotel. And everyday we had the same breakfast. Day by day pancakes, bacon, scrambled eggs... But it is not the worst thing that could happen, needless to say you can go to eat whereever you want. In general if you looking for place where can you stay in playa del carmen - the bric hotel nice choose.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Clockwork14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (518)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

257 - 263 of 518 reviews

Reviewed 26 July 2012

It's small and the rooms are basic, but it's beautiful, reasonably priced, and conveniently located. The staff was wonderful and provided help in finding and booking activities as well as pointing us to less expensive but spectacular restaurants. The pool lounges were really comfortable though the balcony chairs were less so. One hint: bring your own light source for night reading and makeup application. Thanks especially to Gustavo for his help in making our stay a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank carole66_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BricRental, Owner at BRIC Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 28 July 2012

Thank you very much for your kind response!!! We have forwarded to Gustavo specifically and he is really appreciative of you taking the time to leave a great review of the hotel. Hope to see you soon again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

We stayed a week in for Playa at the Bric Hotel. Hotel is small but very charming and has free bottled water, included full continental breakfast and excellent service and very clean rooms with no smell whatsoever. This was great. The staff were very helpful and friendly at all times. Nice little swimming pool with trees overhead nice place to relax and unwind after walking and tours all day. There is a very nice patio on each room to enjoy your breakfast or coffee or just to chill out. Very well designed and layed out hotel! The bonus to this hotel is it also very close to 5th avenue the main street, the beach - 2 blocks but far enough that is quiet from bars. Highly highly recommended to anyone staying in Playa even with families!

Room Tip: Try to get upper room and close the bathroom window before you sleep.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank grants2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 July 2012

Staff members repeatedly lied to us, and ultimately failed to live up to groupon voucher promises. You could not pay me to stay here again. I have never experienced such disrespect. It would be one thing if the staff took responsibility for their mistakes, but instead they tried to pass the blame onto us. Here is a brief summary I recapped to groupon: We had a very unpleasant experience at Bric Hotel. Not only was the experience unpleasant, but they also failed to live up to what was promised on the groupon. Despite four attempts to book our massages my friend and I never received our promised 30 minute massage. Around 3 days after purchasing the groupon (mid May) I called up Bric Hotel and booked a three night stay for two months down the road. After being told we were confirmed I asked if we could schedule massages. I was told to schedule it upon arrival. I next received a confirmation email for our booking. When we arrived at the hotel nearly 2 months later we were told that they did not have a room for us. Apparently the employee who we booked through and sent us confirmation emails made a mistake. We had to wait over 2hours only to hear that all the rooms were full. During this time we also asked to book for our massage and they told us we had to wait to the next day to do so. They next sent us to their rental apartment and gave us a key marked room 116. It turns out there was no room 116 in the apartment complex. The key was mismarked but they had failed to tell us. We spent the next hour with the security guard at the building trying the key with all the dozens of rooms. When we went back to the hotel during this time, the man working was unable to tell us what room was theirs and unable to get the women on the phone who could let us know. We finally found our correct apartment (nearly 3hours after we tried to check in). To boot, the next day we went make to schedule our massages where an employee told us he would email us later that day with available times. (It was unclear why we couldnt book at that time). Well, we of course never received an email later that day. So, on the 3rd and final day we went back to try again to schedule our massages. The lady at the desk told us to come at 9pm. When we got there at 9pm we were told the appointment was really at 7pm and they had written us an email. We of course did not check our email that day (as we try to avoid email on vacation) and was told our appointment was confirmed at 9pm. What angers us the most is that when we tried to explain the situation the staff got angry at us and yelled as us as if it was our faults. They said things such as "you cant just come here and get a massage whenever you want, you must schedule an appointment". We of course tried to do this all along. We were also told the massage therapist had an appointment from 9-10 that was booked 3 days in advanced, so it was impossible that we were told our appointment was at that time. The funny thing was 4minutes after being told this (around 9:20) , the message therapist came into the reception area to let the employee know that he was done and leaving for the night. We naturally asked why someone could have an appointment three days in advance but no one could seem to help us make one (since May). Needless to say we never received the massage as we had to leave by noon the next day and they told us their therapists werent available to later afternoon. We had a very unpleasant experience as we were yelled at and lied to multiple times.

  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Service
2  Thank Ariel473
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BricRental, Owner at BRIC Hotel & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded 20 July 2012

We are very sorry that your stay with us in Playa del Carmen was unsatisfactory. However, I do believe the negative review of our property and more specifically of our staff is unjust as you were equally responsible for the mishap in the cancelled reservation!

Per Groupon and ALL reservations, we always require a valid credit card on file. With that being said, the credit card you provided was Declined and as such your reservation was not confirmed. You had received email notification of the credit card decline as well as email notification of the cancelled reservation. It would have been beneficial for you to respond to these emails so that we may confirm a reservation for you.

As such, you had decided to travel to Playa del Carmen anyway, but unfortunately our hotel was completely booked out so our staff upgraded you for free to a private, 2 bedroom condominium! As well, our staff paid out of pocket to provide you with transportation to your private home and checked you in personally 30 minutes later!

Furthermore, you were given the condominium number in person, as the keys are marked with a code to protect your privacy!

Regarding your massage; your massage time and date was provided to you via email and phone. We are sorry, that you decided not to check your messages, but please understand that we can not have a masseuse on site 24 hours a day at your disposal. The massage, as indicated requires an appointment and you missed said appointment and were unable to reschedule.

Again, we sincerely apologize for any miscues we may have had in this transaction, but please know that our staff works tirelessly in effort to provide outstanding service and a excellent vacation experience. Thank you for bringing to our attention and we have made process changes on our end to make sure that this occurrence will not happen again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2012

My husband and I stayed at The Bric Hotel for seven nights, and enjoyed it so much. The hotel is in a fantastic location. Right off Avienda 5 so we could walk everywhere (beach, restaurants, stores) but even though Avienda 5 seems to be the center of nightlife, our hotel was wonderfully quiet during the night. The best part of the hotel is definitely the staff. Each desk clerk was incredibly helpful and friendly throughout the week with arrangements for things we wanted to do, and with referrals for everything from restaurants, to scuba gear rental, to great snorkeling locations that were great quality, not overly expensive, and not huge tourist draws. We used and appreciated all of their suggestions. Gus especially was really helpful to us every day that we were there. The rooms are comfortable and clean, not overly fancy. Appreciated the room air conditioner and the water cooler in the courtyard to fill our water bottles. It was convenient to have breakfast included. We went on a Groupon and appreciated that everything was as advertised. Very much enjoyed our massages poolside! If we return to Playa we will for sure stay at the Bric - no need to look any further!

Room Tip: Rooms not on the street side would be the quietest, I imagine, although we were on the street side a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank valburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2012

An absolutely charming, clean and wonderful place to stay. The staff was out of this world patient and helped me with many questions and arrangements for tours, etc... The location is perfect and the courtyard, pool and outdoor tiled kitchen are simply fabulous. Do yourself a favor and stay at The BRIC. You won't be disappointed believe me.

Room Tip: Only two floors so any room would do but I was happy I was on the second floor because of the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LalagirlFL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 July 2012

We bought a Groupon to stay at the Bric on our first trip to Mexico. The staff here were very sweet and helpful, and the property itself was cute and cozy. We had an upstairs room overlooking the pool, and it had a semi private patio shared with one other room. There was a continental breakfast served each day with eggs, bacon, pancakes and fruit. It was supposed to be at 7, but things in Mexico are a little more leisurely, so get there more like 7:30 :)
The best part of the hotel was it's location - half a block from the north end of Quinta Ave, the main strip in Playa, and maybe two blocks from the beaches. It was great to be able to stroll down Quinta and shop and take our finds right back to the hotel.
Also, they work with a great masseuse - you can get a lovely massage in a little covered cabana right by the pool!

Room Tip: Try to get a room on the second floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MishaB1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera del Sol
Hotel Riviera del Sol
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
447 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Bunik
La Pasion Hotel Boutique by Buni...
#17 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,286 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#48 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,571 reviews
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#39 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
601 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Hacienda Paradise Boutique Hotel...
#46 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,417 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#43 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £45 - £194 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing