We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good location poor security.”
Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #42 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Good location poor security.”
Reviewed 18 September 2013 via mobile

We stayed for a week sept 7 to 14 in room 25.
Hotel was recommended to us. Location was great, grounds well kept, room very basic but exactly as shown on website.

We were told there was nobody in the room next to us and yet we could see a suitcase inside. later that night we were woken up by 3 Spanish people shouting and partying on our shared patio. The security guard let it carry on all night. At 6 am I had to leave the room to get away although the loud voices carried all the way across pool. We were told it wouldn't happen again by desk staff. The following night we were woken up at midnight same idea. I opened our door to find about 10 people partying on our patio. They refused to leave. Once again the security guard never said a word to them. I had to walk past the drunk partiers and find the security guard to get them to leave. Nobody is supposed to be allowed into hotel gate without a room key. Gate was open and not attended by guard. I demanded he do something and finally he did tell them to all leave. The next morning we woke up and found diarrhea outside our room!!! The next night there was a staff poker party on the roof of our room and we couldn't sleep from the noise of chairs constantly being moved around on our ceiling and their voices carried into our bathroom thru the skylight till 12.30 am

It just set a bad tone having to deal with issues three nights in a row and security not doing anything about it and random people coming into party. Lack of sleep and overall anxiousness. We just had bad luck I think?!?!?

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debster9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    154
    25
    9
    9
See reviews for
77
238
48
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 September 2013

This is a vacation rental. Small hotel with about 10-12 rooms with a small pool in the middle. One block from the famous 5th avenue, yet with little noise from it.

What's good: Staff, the attention each guest gets there, inexpensive, small but comfortable rooms, decent size bath, proximity to 5th ave restaurants and shopping, Xcaret is with in 10 min drive

What's not so good: Small rooms, dusty bed, two double beds joined to make a king, not a big property, no spa, good internet, etc facilities, small pool, few street side parking spots, close by decent beach is a few block away (easily walkable)

We were well attended by the staff. Well taken care of. Thy helped even to get a doctor onsite. Served breakfast though we were late. The staff alone makes this property a must visit, besides the very inexpensive room rates.

Room Tip: Interior rooms like 27, 28 are good and quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KR_NYC2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St. Albert, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 August 2013

Stayed here for 9 days starting August 08, 2013. Nothing much to complain about. Very nice basic little hotel close to everything. Room, grounds and the pool were kept very clean. Everything in the room worked. Staff friendly and helpful, spoke English well and helped me with my poor Spanish. Our room, #24, was quiet at night. Great little hot breakfast with good coffee. Nice walk to the beach. Only small quibble was the booking fee of about $54.00 when I booked which was an added amount above the room charge and taxes. Seemed unusual for a hotel. Overall a clean good value small hotel we would stay in again, or recommend to others not looking for a luxury experience.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Ian F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baltimore
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 August 2013

On the 25th of July 2013 to the 29th of July 2013 my friends and me stayed at Bric Hotel. It was a good experience, great location from the beach as well as night life and restaurants access was very well located. Only problem I encountered was WIFI was not working well and the hot water was out for two days.
Breakfast was ok except the juices were watery not really full flavored, but egg were great. Rooms were cleaned every day, fresh towels, and bed sheets.
Pool area was very clean and pool was always warm and refreshing to jump into. Don't use the shuttle to get to and from the airport its cheap to talk a taxi driver to take you for 50 dollars.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kirby-jay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lubbock, Texas, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We recently stayed at the BRIC Hotel during our honeymoon. We loved the fact that this hotel was close to everything. The beach was about 2 blocks away, the boardwalk was right outside the door and the nightlife was within walking distance as well. The staff was very friendly and the rooms were clean, and quiet. Breakfast was good they just didnt serve any meats as do most hotels. The only thing we have a complaint about was that the water to take showers was only warm for a little while. Overall we loved this hotel and would most definitely stay there again. It was very romantic!!!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
District Heights, Maryland
1 review
Reviewed 6 August 2013

I would definitely return! The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly. Not to mention the great messages that we received during our stay. Special thanks to Abril, Stephanie, and Gustavo who were very generous and accommodating.

Room Tip: We stayed in room # 28. Great view of the hotel grounds!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NOrc0114
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2013

We have stayed at Bric hotel many times and it's always great! Location, Location, Location

Just steps from 5th ave and close to the beach. You can not go wrong with this hotel.

The staff is friendly and the rooms are clean.

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JasonWaller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#32 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
457 reviews
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
298 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#75 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#38 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
516 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#43 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,416 reviews
0.0 mi away
Luna Blue Hotel
Luna Blue Hotel
#91 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
940 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Property: BRIC Hotel & Spa
Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#9 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., HRS, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing