We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely, quiet spot just off 5th Ave. with excellent customer service.”
Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #46 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Denver, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Lovely, quiet spot just off 5th Ave. with excellent customer service.”
Reviewed 17 February 2014

I don't normally write reviews but was so pleased with my experience here, I wanted to spread the word. We stayed 6 nights here and the place exceeded our expectations. Had originally planned to spend the last night elsewhere but changed plans because the place was perfect. Room was not huge but plenty of space for 2 people plus luggage. I was very concerned with possible noise from 5th Ave. (especially late-night) but with the air conditioner on, we heard nothing. The other reviews stating that the BRIC Hotel is a tranquil oasis in the middle of Playa's busiest part of town are totally right on. Breakfast was great and good value- it would absolutely have cost more to go out for breakfast every day. Wifi is included in cost and worked in room and common areas. They also have drinking water on site- I have traveled extensively and had never stayed in a place that offered unlimited drinking water. The staff is knowledgeable, friendly and helpful. I think I got honest advice and never felt like I was being given information just because I was a tourist (i.e. they sent us to local eateries and suggested the most economic option for transportation, not necessarily the most tourist-oriented, which I really appreciated). I would also suggest the BRIC vacation rentals (run by the same company)- I would assume that they are lovely, based on my experience at the hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anonymous M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

478 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    284
    152
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
77
233
47
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2014 via mobile

We spent 3 nights in the 1 bedroom suite in at the end of our 2 week stay in mid-January. We loved being so close to 5th Avenue, but in a quiet location. The rooms in this suite are very spacious and include a small but well equipped kitchenette, and also a large private outdoor space. Enjoyed the bathtub and shower as well. The courtyard and pool area is lovely, and a full breakfast poolside is included every morning.

We would definitely stay here again.

Stayed January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Smith55Calgary
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vaasa, Finland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 3 February 2014

We stayed 6 nights at The Bric Hotel in Playa del Carmen and would like to give the Personnel at front Desk best possible points! Gustavo at Front Desk goes out of his way to assist you with all possible information you would like to have, if he does not have the information he calls and find out. Gustavo is a real treasure for the hotel. April , also at front desk , is also very nice and helpful, this is a team the hotel can be proud of! At breakfast desk I would also like to point of the Senjor (sorry do not know his name) when he was at duty there was also added fruits and joghurt to the breakfast selection, that was not served earlier during our stay.He was also very service minded and nice! Location of the little nice hotel could not be better, very close to the shops and beach but very silent location, no noisy nights. A very nice, safe and clean hotel, could not ask for anything more.
They even hade drinking water available at two locations in the hotel area. We did not have time to try the pool but it looked very nice and clean.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Niknak29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jarfalla, Sweden
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 January 2014

When it was tangling with the travel agency Abril Lebrija helped in a very good way. With her ​​helpfulnes, we could get our money back.Even in the case of a cancellation was the hospitality professional. She also responded very quickly to our emails.

Stayed January 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Yvonne O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kingsland, Georgia
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 December 2013

I completely forgot to write this review once we returned home from our vacation June '13.So here goes my 2 cents. As the other reviewers stated, this place was great.We stayed here doing the back end of our trip. We stayed at the Villa del Palmar for 5 days and we stayed here for the lasts 2 nights. The location was superb as far as restaurants and tourist shops. We walked or should I say HIKED to the ferry terminal that took us to Cozumel.It was a far walk."Doable" but far in the heat of the day(Especially since it was around noon on an extremely hot June day) We went to Cozumel to take an extremely fun cooking class with Josephine. I recommend taking a taxi to the terminal unless you just feel like walking. Also, the breakfast was filling. There were several reviews stating it was skimpy but the pancakes,eggs,and sausage were plentiful when we stayed.Although,they were clear they receive the ingredients fresh from a local farm each morning so once all the food is out,you are pretty much SOL.So I recommend getting to breakfast early which we did! I got a great rate for this hotel through their website at the time.Overall the room was clean but sparse. I wouldn't stay here more than 3 days because the room is a little cramped. The front desk guy was very helpful.He arranged a private taxi to take us to the airport for a great price. I believe it was around $45. Which was cheaper than anything we can find. The airport is far from this hotel.We flew out of Cancun. It took us between 1hour-1.5 hours to arrive there. We had left the hotel at 3am to make our 6:30 am flight.Eeeek

Room Tip: I stayed upstairs to get a better view.The entire outdoor areas of the property seems like you are i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jessncase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bar Harbor, Maine
Level Contributor
69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 December 2013

We got to this nice little hotel via Groupon, and we were very pleased with out stay. Located in a quiet side street, it takes you only a few steps to reach the shops and restaurants of 5th Avenue, the nicer (older) part of Playa's tourist mile.
We liked our room in the second floor, small but comfortable, with a deck overlooking the lush hotel garden and pool. The breakfast was excellent, and everybody was friendly and helpful. We also appreciated the water coolers on the premises, complete with glasses, that you could fill any time. For a serious swimmer the pool is a too small, half of it being too shallow, but with the jet stream switched on, you can swim in place and get your exercise.
We would certainly stay here again!

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor have more privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hanseata
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
128 reviews
123 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 December 2013

Pros:
Clean
Wifi works well, better than most small hotels although Skype calls will drop at times
Has a small refrigerator
Air con included in price
Water coolers are located around the grounds so you don't have to buy bottled water
There is a pool
Provides soap and shampoo
Provides beach towels if ask at reception
Quite

Cons:
Despite advertisement, there are no rooms with 2 double beds. Only king or 1double with a single bed
Location is descent but at the far end from bus terminal, Cozumel ferry, and most of the good dive shops
No space to unpack. There is no furniture in the room to put stuff so everything stays in your bags. Not convenient if you are staying more than a few days.
Careful, most of the time breakfast is not included especially if you book on another website.

Overall it is a decent choice but I have stayed in better in Playa.

Room Tip: Whatever room you think you reserved, you probably won't get it. :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 07Boston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,394 reviews
0.3 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 447 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#66 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#59 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 831 reviews
0.0 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 554 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Property: BRIC Hotel & Spa
Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#13 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Priceline, Expedia, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, HRS, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing