We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tranquil & cute 2-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of BRIC Hotel & Spa

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BRIC Hotel & Spa
Ranked #49 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Level Contributor
82 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Tranquil & cute 2-star”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 February 2011

As so many have said, a cute property in a great location. It compares with the Aventura Mexicana and the Hacienda Paradise, which are both very close by. I think the location here is slightly better - closer to the newer part of Playa and beach access is direct down 28th.

The rate is fixed all year round, so in high season this hotel is also the best value of the three. (But perhaps the worst at other times). It is also the quietest, so if you are looking for something very peaceful, this is the place for you. Hacienda is much bigger and it has some rooms backing on 10th avenue which can be noisy. But the Bric is very small and all the rooms face the courtyard and unlike Aventuras, there is no bar in the hotel nor any music blaring to keep you awake. Come her for peace and quiet but not if you want to party with the other guests.

Breakfast is better than Aventuras, but not as good as Hacienda. There is not a lot of variety and they did run out of stuff if we didn't come early enough or weren't patient enough to wait for the one person looking after the buffet to replenish what we were waiting for. But what they had was good, including scrambled eggs and bacon and we always left the table satisfied.

The balcony was more spacious and private than at the Aventura and although the pool was smaller, we always had it to ourselves. We had no complaints and would not hesitate to come back.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chula_Banana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

473 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    280
    151
    24
    9
    9
See reviews for
77
231
46
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
florida
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 January 2011

We had mixed feelings when we checked in based on all the great reviews once we saw our room- we only initially booked for a couple nights and were going to move but after reviewing the value and choices in Playa decided to stay here the entire time and we did not regret it.

BRIC is a CUTE place don't get me wrong but it's definitely no frills, the staff is very friendly and helpful which is also a big plus and partly what convinced us to just stay on. The massage therapist Emily IS THE BOMB. I highly recommend booking her if you stay - she is as inexpensive as on the beach and WAY better.

The cons/concerns: ALL the beds are 2 full size beds pushed together to make a king size - that is the ONLY issue really we had and was a bit disappointing for our romantic get away. We asked if we could change rooms and told that all the rooms were this way. I did read it in a review but discarded it thinking maybe only some rooms were this way- IF YOU WON'T BE HAPPY WITH THIS TYPE OF SET UP THEN DON'T BOOK IT AS YOU WILL BE DISAPPOINTED. We sleep spooning the whole night anyway so we could have even dealt with cramped space (otherwise someone gets the crack) but the bed was super hard & uncomfortable. Based on looking at all other hotels in this price range EVERY hotel has rock hard beds, unless you want to pay 300 plus a night just get that in your head. In hind sight had we been smart we would have ran to the local Walmart (yes they have one) and bought an eggshell crate to use and throw away that week for the 20 or 25 we would have spent that would have solved the crack problem and the hardness issue - that would have made ALL the difference in our sleep quality and would have been totally worth it.

Entrance into the rooms - I will also point out that as in previous reviews the doors to the rooms are ONLY glass sliding doors (like a patio door) and the locks feel a little ramshackle BUT there is a safe in the room and security on site at night to only let the guests in - so we had no issues whatsoever. It made me very nervous the first night but then I said to hell with it and quit worrying and I felt pretty secure. If you are someone who would worry about that keep that in mind.

We are a couple who basically wanted a clean, inexpensive, decent room to sleep in so we could spend our money on food and entertainment. There is no phone in the room (which was a HUGE plus for us) .

I read other reviews complaining about this hotel wanting you not to put toilet paper in the toilet but in the waste can next to it. Understand Playa is on a septic system - you will find this sign in EVERY single bathroom in Playa so it's not really a fair criticism to this hotel.

Overall after looking at several alternate hotels before we were to check out we ended up staying because it is a very cute hotel right off 5th and a great value comparatively.

The Pros: The little breakfast was quite good each morning, coffee was good and we had a nice little patio right outside the pool to eat our breakfast and relax - we would not have had that quaint little condo atmosphere anywhere else we looked which factored in us deciding to tough out the crappy bed and stay.

The staff is spectacular - they are friendly and helpful and were super accommodating when we encountered a transaction/banking snafu with a local merchant - they could not have been nicer. Consequently ONLY rent a car from a major company like Avis or Hertz (you'll find them on 5th avenue) DO NOT - I REPEAT DO NOT rent from little local car rental agencies - they do not disclose all charges and will tie your money up.

Emily the massage therapist - wish I could clone her and have her at home with me - TOTALLY worth it - she is knowledgeable, friendly and gives a wonderful massage.

The pool is impeccable - it was too cold to use while we were there but in the courtyard it really is a cool little place.

Overall it's a great place, great convenient location - I wish they would invest in some way to make the bed situation better and perhaps put a more secure locking mechanism on the door but other than that I would definitely stay again.

  • Stayed January 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 8tinkerbell8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Michigan
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 January 2011

We recently stayed at the Bric and enjoyed it very much. The staff were as helpful as could be, trying to answer all our questions. Hotel was close to beach clubs and shopping. The breakfast was awsome with eggs, bacon, sausage, cereal, fresh fruit and fresh fruit juice. Best of all the pancakes. We had a really relaxing time here and would stay again.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jeweljem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
27 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 January 2011

stayed at the Bric for 2 nights during crazy party new years eve...hotel was really comfortable- awesome sheets and towels etc. very clean and comfortable. cute pool and nice green peaceful environment with good vibe. I couldn't believe how relatively quiet it was despite proximity to 5th avenue and the craziness of new years eve and silly jersey shore type guests who were blaring loud trance music in the room next door...
Overall the location is terrific (this north part of Playa is much nicer and more peaceful than the south) and if you are looking for a nice, clean and comfy spot without the ocean view and dont need any major amenities (they have free wifi, pool and a comfy bed!) or room service this is your place. (Keep in mind that they dont have a restaurant and only serve breakfast which we sadly missed both mornings) -however 5th avenue with all the food, even a starbucks etc. is one second away. Abril who helped with my reservation was very sweet and helpful.

  • Stayed December 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NMehra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Scottsdale, Arizona
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 December 2010

Going into Mexico you never know what to expect but the Bric Hotel was not only very nice & clean but the staff was very accomodating and friendly. They had a free continental breakfast each morning which was good enough to eat everyday. It has a great location being a few blocks from the beach and literally right next to about 10-15 casual to fine dining restaurants, starbucks, Ah Cacao (better then starbucks/great coffee cafe). best of all it was quiet and well landscaped. A nice little spot to say the least.

  • Stayed November 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rstaich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cumming, Georgia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 November 2010

Just finished our second stay at the BRIC Hotel on 28th between 5th and 10th in Playa del Carmen. It is the perfect location and the perfect hotel! The staff is awesome and extremely helpful, the rooms are great, and the attention to detail is awesome! The courtyard and pool are the perfect place to just do nothing! Last but not least Patty's pancakes at breakfast are unbelievable! I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jlb085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gray, Tennessee
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 November 2010

My wife and I were a little bit nervous before the trip. We have been to numerous places in the Caribbean including Playa Del Carmen once before. However, every time we stay anywhere, it is all inclusive. This time we decided to try a non all inclusive. We came across the Bric Hotel by looking on various rental sites i.e. VRBO, Homeaway, etc. A representative from Bric rentals called me the next day. The hotel is situated on 28th street right between 5th and 10th avenues. The location, which was of course right around the corner from the famous 5th avenue, was great. It was also only approximately a 5 minute walk to Mamita's beach (2 streets down). I was offered a nice rate of $50.00 US a night and the hotel also provided breakfast which could be eaten at the Palapa in the center of the complex, or could be delivered to your room. Also in the middle of the complex there was a very nice and clean (a little small) swimming pool that we used quite a bit. As for the rooms, they were a bit small. One thing that was strange is the entry and only door to your room was a glass sliding door that could be locked with a provided key. They also had an in room safe (In the closet) and key as well. The floors were all tile. The sleeping area had a King size (made of two mattresses pushed together unfortunately) bed that was on a concrete platform. The bed was very firm, but slept well. There was an end table on each side of the bed along with lamps. There were a couple of storage shelfs on the wall and an entertainment center with about a 20" tv with cable and a mini fridge. The bathroom had a nice size shower and sink and toilet. It was a little discouraging that the hotel required you to put all hygiene products in the trashcan beside the toilet including toilet paper instead of flushing. We had a housekeeper every day that would come, make our beds, empty our trash, etc (She unfortunately would turn off the A/C as well). At night the hotel had a watchman and was gated. The breakfast was pretty nice consisting of scrambled eggs, bacon, toast, cereal, yogurt, pancakes, fruit, and juice. Everything was fresh made. Wi-Fi was included as well at the hotel. All in all for the money this hotel was great. The staff were amazing and would help you to find anything you needed and would even get groceries for you. The only negative thing I have to say is, when we booked we were provided with 3 grocery lists. We picked the largest one ($75.00 + Liquor) that included things to cook, however when we arrived we found out the rooms had no cooking area (stove, microwave, etc.). I assume some of their rentals in other areas had these amenities. We very much enjoyed this hotel and we will be staying again.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ABeaglePI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
HM Playa del Carmen
HM Playa del Carmen
#37 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
0.6 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#41 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,369 reviews
0.1 mi away
Soho Playa Hotel
Soho Playa Hotel
#34 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#60 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 278 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Casa Ticul
Hotel Casa Ticul
#57 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 828 reviews
0.0 mi away
Be Playa Hotel
Be Playa Hotel
#20 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 543 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BRIC Hotel & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BRIC Hotel & Spa

Property: BRIC Hotel & Spa
Address: 28th Street | Entre 5 y 10, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#15 Best Value Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#37 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#49 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#61 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — BRIC Hotel & Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A boutique hotel located off of 5th Avenue in the center of Playa del Carmen, Mexico. The BRIC hotel offers 14 charming hotel rooms, each with en-suite bathrooms, air conditioning and full services including concierge, WiFi Internet and pool. Situated in the heart of Playa del Carmen on 28th street, only steps to the World famous 5th Avenue and Mamitas Beach Club. Enjoy the luxury of staying in the heart of Playa del Carmen, experience the excellence of service pledge from our staff all at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your BRIC Hotel & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prisma Caribe Playa Del Carmen
Prisma Caribe Hotel
BRIC Hotel & Spa Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing