We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing time!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #84 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Saint Louis, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great relaxing time!!”
Reviewed 16 January 2013

I was asked to join some friends for a week stay at this resort in October 2012. My experience was overall very positive. The staff was very attentive, friendly, and willing to address all issues presented within their capabilities. Jonathan, Jose, Gabriel, Eduardo, Victor, Angel-Chi, and everyone else was a pleasure to meet. True there were some hiccups with the WiFi connectivity but as my friends kept reminding me "You are on vacation". The rooms were spacious, the beds were comfortable, and the daily towel monkeys were and added treat. The beach was spectacular and the pool was clean and a great commonplace to interact with other guests. I will definitely return given the opportunity.
Richie Rich

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank StLNutsy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 6 February 2013
Dear Guest:

We thank you for you nice comments specially on our staff which we are proud of, we thank you on their behalf.

We are delight to read you will come back, it will be our pleasure to be your host again, remember your home away from home awaits you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    341
    102
    61
    73
See reviews for
349
297
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Hoboken, New Jersey
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 January 2013

This is still located in a very beautiful place. The rooms are large and the beach is beautiful.
BUT the so called new recreation director now blasts loud music all day long through a loud speaker so that one feels as if one is trapped in an elevator with MUSAC. In-between he blasts his voice through a microphone playing quiz games in which he gives away t-shirts to winners. Most of the Guests are not engaged or interested in these games ( I have observed them and talked to people on the beach), and try to ignore him, but it is hard. Numerous complaints from myself have not helped, many people say they do not care for it but they can block it out and dont complain.
A complaint to the new "manager" resulted in nothing except him saying defensively "the young people want music" (really bad 80's and 90's hits?) and that "this isnt a retirement home ( another insult and displaying ignorance that this is exactly what is done in retirement homes to try to keep the elderly stimulated) and "write a note of complaint ' (we all know where that will go)
In any case, if you are a member or a guest paying several thousand dollars for a week of peace and quiet, and you dont want constant unpleasant background noise, lodge a complaint, maybe if enough people say something the hotel will listen (they do fear losing the dollars, as we know).
Thank you.
PS I have been coming to Fishermans for 12 plus years and this is the first time I have been getting headaches instead of enjoying the ocean sounds and the sounds of birds.

  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank docc65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 December 2012

This is our second time in 3 years staying at Sunset Fisherman. Two years ago we said the place needed some updating/upgrading. The grounds and pool are nice but the pool chairs are all broken and pool towels thin and shredding. Also, the pool wasn't heated and the "hot tub" was the temperature the pool should have been. The hotel says they have wi-fi but it's very poor. In the room - both times a two-bedroom with an ocean view - it is spacious and had a nice view. But the bed and linens are inline with a Motel 6 or Super 8, not a luxury property and the shower was the worst I've had in years. There are a number of other things that need updates like appliances and furniture. We looked at a "renovated" room and they seemed to have painted, updated bathroom fixtures and replaced the tube TVs with flat panel, but no new mattresses or linens or any real visual change. When we voiced our complaints to the manager, Pablo, he was detached and missed a scheduled appointment with us. Other staff was really helpful and great. The spa was small but nicely kept (except the Jacuzzi tubs weren't working) but I do not recommend Luis.

Room Tip: Ask for a renovated room but don't get your hopes up. May be better to get a great ocean view t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank R S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read you had an overall memorable vacation experience and that our staff was helpful. We take all customer comments very seriously and appreciate them since they provide us for an opportunity for improvement. You can rest assured that all of your comments have been taken into consideration. We look forward to hosting you again for your next Playa del Carmen vacation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 14 December 2012

This place has become my second home. While staying at fishermen's you will find a intimacy that is rarely found at the larger resorts. I want to make special note of some staff, Marcial, Luis, Manual,Ricardo and also Camarista and Patricia. The entire staff is wonderful just too many to mention. A special thanks also to concierge Anna. I come here every year and bring different family and friends each time. They all are impressed and ask if they can come back again.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Charlye525
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest:

We know how important holidays are for people who visit us and we are delighted that you enjoyed your stay.
We are glad to hear our team assisted you in having a great vacation experience.
We appreciate comments from guests and even more so when the guest is a repeat visitor.
We look forward to your future visits.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brantford, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 December 2012

We have owned at this charming resort for many years and come back every year. The staff are incredibly friendly and helpful. They address my wife and I by first names each year we arrive. We have travelled the world but this little piece of heaven on earth is by far our favourite vacation. We will be at Tres Rios for Christmas week but will absolutely be coming to Fishermans! Thank you yo all the wonderful staff and see you real soon!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DGN7090
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for sharing your comments. It was our pleasure to see you back again and are glad to read you keep enjoying visiting your home away from home year after year. It is also nice to read you visited our sister Resort Hacienda Tres Rios.

We will be waiting for your visit this 2013 and we do look forward to providing you a memorable vacation experience once more.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 December 2012

We love this place! We go year after year! The beaches are beautiful, the pools are well maintained and the location is wonderful to stroll into town to have meals and / or to shop.
We travel every year with our young twins and this is definitely a family place! And if you are lucky - the staff will make a tortuga with you (their version of a sand castle - is a huge sea tortoise)!

Room Tip: There are less than 50 rooms at this resort...all of them are great. Sea views from almost all. Mo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BostonTwinzmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vernal, Utah
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 29 November 2012

What a wonderful bartender he is. We enjoyed talking with him and his service was excellant! We will miss him but hopefully see him next year. Makes the best drinks ever.. Make sure to stop by his bar whenever you are there.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 22 January 2013
Dear Guest:

Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and will certainly look forward to your next year's visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#11 of 204 in Playa del Carmen
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#97 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che
Casa Che
#10 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing