We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fun with family and friends”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #78 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 13 March 2013

We've come here for nearly ten years and always look forward to our stay at this little get.

No place is without its drawbacks, but the beauty of the sea from your balcony, the warmth of the staff and comfort of the rooms makes up for the occasional problem re car rentals or getting the perfect room on floor level with walkouts to the beach.

All rooms overlook the sea, the beach and fun in the waves are steps away.

The activities are there when you want them Yoga and stretch classes, bingo, trivia games, cuisine classes - sushi, guacamole making, even paella one year, and of course tequila tasting. Also the bike tours, but not after the tequilla tasting.

David does it all and with charm and enthusiasm. He's there every day but his one day off. We have enjoyed his being here for the last three years.

And Marciel is at the foyer to welcome you with your names and a hug and a smile as you arrive, and there to answer all your questions in English, Spanish and even French.

Ansel gets you organized, first with towels, then with the hobiecats or the kayaks, or boogie boards, or shovels and pails for the kids. The sand is perfect for castles. He also has a library of pocketbooks - take one, leave one.

The staff who organized the rooms are amazingly patient with guests who all want the same room, and help in any way they can to make the stay as perfect as possible.

An enthusiastic owner at Fishermen's
Marg from Meaford

Room Tip: Arrive early
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank marg o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

616 - 622 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 13 March 2013

Fishermen Spa & Resort has the best beach area in Playa del Carmen. It is steps from any hotel door. Although the shortage of umbrellas can be an issue, the rest of it more than makes up for this shortfall.

The restaurant (upstairs and the beach-side grill) have been working very hard to improve the quality of the food. The breakfasts are great, and we had one of the best meals we've had in Playa at the grill.

Anselmo, Marciel, Priscilla, Karen, and the rest of the staff are very helpful and friendly. David and Carlos organize enough activities to keep the guests busy who are looking for activities, and the addition of a couple of hobycats was a thoughtful addition by the management/owners.

The people in the spa - Brenda, Vicki and the others - are very good and the hot stone massages are a favourite.

  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kevin J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

My husband and I just spent our 6th 2-week vacation at The Fishermen. We love it thereI You can't get any closer to the water and the beach is wonderful. The views from the balconies over-looking the beach are spectacular as you gaze across to Cozumel. We love the fact that it is a small resort which makes it very easy to meet other people. We also find the staff to be so friendly and helpful. Even when they do not speak English there is always a big smile and a greeting. We partricularly liked David who is the activities director. Although much more reserved than the well-loved previous person it was fun to see him at one moment assisting in a sushi- making class and then next,taking people out on the Hobie cat sail boat. He seems to be able to do anything required by his position. We also love Marciel, the doorman (although there is no door). He has been there for many years and remembers all the returning guests. He is also an amazing source of information.
The furniture was getting "tired" but while we were there our apartment received new furniture.
We love the fact we are so close to the active parts of Playa and the activities there but we so much enjoy the quiet . If you are looking for night life and excitement this is not the place for you.
but there are few places ant better

Room Tip: Most rooms have a beach view but a few do not. If you have a late arrival you may not get the best v...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank WineHarbour
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 March 2013

There has been no hot water for 4 days. Worse yet, it seems like none of the staff really care. They say they'll take care of it and another day goes by. The water is varying temps of luke warm, some days being not so warm. Some of the units do have hot water, but from surveying some of the visitors, only 20% of them had hot water.

This review may not be helpful to most, but it seems like there is always some large problem with the resort every time we come down. I also have a feeling there was no hot water the week before, but I haven't seen any posts on it yet. So, if you have not hot water next week, or the week after, you'll know this problem has been going on for a while.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank msgersch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

I have been to Fisherman's 7 or 8 times now and have always loved it. The beach is fantastic, the service is always wonderful, the people are friendly, and proximity to town allows for easy trips to shopping and dining. A few things have changed over the years. There used to be an amazing activities director names Luis who no longer works there. However, David is very nice and doing a good job as replacement. There is another gentleman, Carlos, who we saw very little off (and he seemed a little pompous so that was ok). The food leaves something to be desired but most people seem to go to town for dinners. Everyone has fully stocked condos, so many meals are cooked in. The restaurant manager, Ivan, has been there for a while and is a wonderful person so I wish they could do something to improve the restaurant quality. The condos are spacious but have dated furniture and artwork. Everything is clean, organized, and comfortable though. If you have been before, you will be happy to know that Marcial, Anselmo, Antonio, Jesus, and many others are still there! They do seem to be trying to make upgrades. It looked like some units were getting new couches when we were just there, so there is hope! In summary, I would highly recommend Fisherman's for vacation.

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Patrick S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2013

We are return visitors to this resort. The resort is wonderful because of its proximity to the beach. This year the place got a face lift with new furniture and the restaurant(s) menu and meals were notably better than in the past couple of years. Definitley worth eating at the resort. The resort has a warm wholesome family feel, but it is close enough to Playa if you feel like a change of venue it is readily available. It is a great place to renew old acquaintances and to make new friendships. It really is just like coming home! The staff there go out of their way to foster that attitude. Whether it is being met at the entrance by Marcial (a long time employee) or meeting the new manager who is managing by walking about and interacting with staff and guests, this resort offers a very personal, but not intrusive feel. We were sad to see that Luis had moved on to other endeavors, but from the relatively new check in staff of Jonathan and his coworkers to Antonio Bandera, as a representaive of the waiters, to Alesandro Flores(a head waiter who definitely went out of his way to make the diners happy). All contributed to a great vacation experience. David and Carlos, provided the best aqua class that I have had at any resort...it really was exercise!
Thanks to everyone there...too many to name for contributing to our vacation!

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MEKJBK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2013

My parents decided to get married in Playa Del Carmen January 2012. They had been going for years with their time sharing and decided to invite the kids along and spring a wedding on them (me included) last minuted.

The resort was absolutely phenomenal. Amazing service, great food, small, comfortable. You got to know the people there very well, it was nice, quiet and calm. Not too many rowdy tourists. We were three kids with our spouses (six total) they opened a wing of the condo/resorts for us where we had two kitchens, living rooms and three bed rooms. It was absolutely wonderful.

The beach was equipped with every kind of bed/lounge chair you could need, there was a little towel game being played but otherwise you could always move chairs closer to the water if you wanted. every room has ocean view, it was amazing.

Quite expensive but worth it.

Room Tip: - 5 minutes away from town, walking distance to restoraunts and other resorts. - Not too many touri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Bianca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#99 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,610 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#100 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £118 - £326 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing