We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Family get a way.”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #84 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent Family get a way.”
Reviewed 3 September 2013

Can stay at Hotel or rent your own private condo. Close to everything and within walking distance to the pier/ ferry and down town Playa del Carmen just walk along the beach. Great service all around.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eagleimercedes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 5 September 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for you comments. We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay and consider Sunset Fishermen an excellent family get away.
Next time you visit us, remember to take part of our activities program.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,007 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    430
    341
    102
    61
    73
See reviews for
349
297
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (240)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Fallbrook,Ca.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 September 2013

we've been owners since forever.love the location and the facilitiy. married off my youngest daughter here,great idea from my wife.in our early days,you could get drinks in glass on the beach or in the pool.the prices where reasonable,the size was generous and the quality was good.the food was really good,priced right and available almost any time.over the last few years(with the advent of "all enclusive")the value of all the food and drink at fisherman's is less than satisfactory, and don't let anyone tell you the Meal Plan is a bargain.this is still my favorite place to stay,small and friendly,but we eat in town and bring our own drinks---go ahead call me cheap!

Room Tip: second floor in original building
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank planboy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for comment and for coming back to Sunset Fishermen all these years.
It is always our pleasure to be your host.
We also appreciate your comments on our meal plan and we are sharing them with our Food & Beverage Manager to give follow up.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Connecticut
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 September 2013

I reviewed this resort in 2007 and loved it. However, we just stayed there last week and it has really gone down hill since then.

The good news is: the glorious beach is back. After Hurricane Wilma most of the beach in this whole area was washed away (not just at this resort), and the remains were very sad. Now the beach has been replenished - a local told me it was funded in cooperation between the government and the area resorts, and that they pumped sand onto the beach from the ocean. The beach all up and down the Playa del Carmen area is now absolutely perfect and strikingly beautiful. But, as far as this resort goes, that is about it.

This resort's building has all of the bare bones of being a beautiful place, which is what I remember. i.e. The room sizes are very generous and have a nice layout, and all suites overlook the glorious ocean. Also all suites have a balcony. Really the location is perfect - about a 10 minute walk from "downtown" Playa del Carmen, in the gated community of Playacar ("Phase I").

However, the resort seems like no one has done anything in terms of upkeep for 10 years - no maintenance, no new decor - and it is definitely ageing. The decor is extremely outdated - I can't really say it's ugly, it's just rather nonexistant (i.e. there IS no decor). Many things in the room were not quite working well (the A/C in 1 room was broken [though the A/C units in the other 2 rooms worked and could make up for the one not working], faucets on sinks were hard to turn, one lamp was broken, etc). Wireless internet is available and free, but did not work in all the rooms. Service (i.e. waiters, front desk) was slow and not very good. One thing I have to say in their favor is that the rooms were immaculately clean - no bugs, no visible dirt, and the maids cleaned the place thoroughly every day.

Overall it seems like with a little attention - some upkeep in terms of maintenance, re-vamped decor, and improved service - this could be a gorgeous, premiere resort again. The location could not be more perfect, the beach is perfect, the water is perfect, and as I said, the resort's building structure and layout still seems very good. However, the lack of attention to the rest makes it kind of sad, particularly because these are things that could be fixed, it's just that they're not doing it.

One thing that has struck me in our frequent travels to the Caribbean and Mexico is that the perfect combination of beach and resort does not seem to exist (or maybe it simply does not exist in our price range). We have stayed at many so-so hotels on gorgeous beaches, and many extremely luxe hotels on so-so beaches, but have never found a luxe resort on a perfect beach. At the end of the day, when we go on vacation we spend an awful lot of time outside of the hotel, at the beach and at local attractions, so for us the hotel decor and amenities are sort of a side point; the perfect beach makes for us a perfect vacation. For that reason, we still loved loved loved our vacation at this resort last week - one step onto the beach and the hotel decor becomes immaterial; after all, the beach is what we're there for. This resort would get a 1 for decor but a 5 for beach, and so I give it a rating of 3 overall.

Room Tip: All 1BR and 2BR suites face the ocean, beautiful view! No elevator though so if you have a hard time...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cea68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 9 September 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your comments. We are glad to read you were able to see and enjoy the results of all the hard work and efforts done on beach restoration project to rebuild beaches along the coastline of Cancun and the Mayan Riviera.
We also appreciate the opportunity areas mentioned, your feedback is really important to us since it enable us to review our standards and procedures.
You can be sure that actions are being taken to ensure our guests' satisfaction.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Beach, California
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2013

fishermen's is great for a family vacation. it is centrally located on the Yucatan peninsula, close to water parks and next to Playa del Carmen where you can get the ferry to Cozumel. there are organized activities during the day that are fun. the beach is great, clean and good sand for walking day or night. staff are very friendly and housekeeping is above average and provided daily. the staff are very responsive to any problems that you may encounter or needs that you have, such as a fry pan which was not in the kitchen when we arrived. we enjoyed the kayaks and the Hobie catamaran. shopping in Playa del Carmen is plentiful and easily accessible, as the resort abuts to it. you can get a meal at the resort or in Playa del Carmen. Divers can stay here and get over to Cozumel easily. Not glitzy, but good for families or couples who don't need the glitz.

Room Tip: the rooms vary in size. our two bedroom master suite was very spacious and served our needs very we...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Breyoot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments on tripadvisor and for consider Sunset Fishermen a great family setting. We are glad to know you enjoyed our amenities.
We invite you to come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntington Beach, California
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 August 2013

Having come from Sunset's Hacienda Tres Rios, we knew we were sacrificing a level of comfort & service for the incredible beach of Playa. The staff was very accomodating and friendly. We were still disappointed as the facility was not prepared to host planned events that were moved indoors because of thunderstorms; we were asked to eat our dinners without a table/on our laps. I'd advise anyone staying there to avoid water/ice as well; the resort will charge you for towels/linens that are soiled due to illness.

  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexsandra W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments and for considering Sunset Fishermen with an incredible Playa.
We apologize for the inconveniences you had during your stay and we appreciate your comments. Guest satisfaction is really important for us and we are already taking care of opportunity areas mentioned.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

The staff are so enjoyable, helpful, and friendly. They make you feel like family and truly care for the visitors. My daughters came with me for their first time and the vacation will forever be remembered. Carlos had many activities planned and my girls were busy from day til night. He made sure that we participated in volleyball, water aerobics, bingo, and trivia. The welcome party was so much fun and we cant wait for our next visit to Fishermans. Thank you Carlos for everything!

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sketchum17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments, specially on our staff which we are proud of and we thank you on their behalf. We are glad to read you enjoyed our amenities and activities.
We invite you to come back soon, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
Reviewed 19 August 2013

My stay at the Sunset Fisherman Spa & Resort was one to remember. The staff were very friendly and the activities were fun and well put together. I had the best time here and would defenitely return for a second visit. Until next time Sunset Fisherman.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank floboy403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this review, 29 August 2013
Dear Guest:
Thank you for sharing your experience on Tripadvisor. We are glad to read you had your best vacation ever.
We are already looking forward to your second visit, it will be our pleasure to be your host again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
400 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#11 of 205 in Playa del Carmen
261 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#98 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,657 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
Iberostar Quetzal Playacar
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,717 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Che
Casa Che
#10 of 169 in Playa del Carmen
215 reviews
0.4 mi away
Allegro Playacar
Allegro Playacar
#87 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Property: Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing