We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Time share owner”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #78 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 26 February 2014

The reservations are a nightmare even for owners as we are. Guests are traveling the night before and staying at local hotels in order to get to Fishermen's early Saturday to get a reasonable room as they always overbook. If you arrive late on Saturday be prepared for the worst and you will not be moved until someone moves out - possibly a week away but you will be asked to transfer to Tres Rios. The wi-fi hardly works and the tv is a joke. Only Fox and Cnn available in English and not always consistently. There is a constant fight over beach and pool chairs so try to claim some during the night but be prepared for them to be removed by angry guests. The upside - the staff are wonderful and friendly but the hotel needs a major upgrade to restore it's reputation.

Room Tip: Travel a day before and get to Fishermen's early on the day of your scheduled arrival
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,064)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

458 - 464 of 1,065 reviews

Reviewed 25 February 2014

This resort is close to downtown Playa and is right on the Beach. The staff are prepared to assist you in any way they can. Sairy at VIP services was exceptional in every way. Eufemia from room service did an excellent job in our room everyday. Marcial at the front door entry greeted everyone with a pleasent smile and remembered their names. Ana and Gerardo with the activities were busy everyday getting people to participate and did a tremendous job, but were not pushy or loud when asking for participation. Anselmo at the towel both was extremely pleasant and gracious, and also assisted with luggage delivery and greeting people on Saturday when they arrived or were leaving. All told a very pleasant holiday and we will be back next year.

Room Tip: Rooms with an ocean view and beach view are recommended. Room 115A has no view and the sewer over fl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ANDREW M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 27 February 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments specially about our staff.
We are glad to read you were able to enjoy your stay at Sunset Fishermen and are already making plans to come back next year.
We will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2014

Let me start out with the terrible, and then move on to the wonderful. We are timeshare owners here since 2001 and it was a traumatic experience of not receiving what we were promised. My advice? Never buy timeshare in a country you're not from as there's little legal recourse if you get screwed, unless you have lots of $$$ to pursue.

That said, Sunset Fishermen's is a jewel of a resort, mostly because of it's small size, awesome location and the people who work there. We have a studio unit and it sleeps 2 adults/2kids really well. It has a small kitchen, which saves us a lot of eating out money. There is an on-site meal plan, as opposed to mandatory all-inclusive, but we simply pay as we go. The rooms are very clean, with good beds and linens, but they're ready for updating a bit. Since we're timeshare, I don't know much about nightly costs.

This is not a foodie type of place. Breakfast and lunch are mostly buffet, but the food is decent enough to keep you on-site to enjoy the beach, at a reasonable price. They do have snack service on the beach. However, Playa del Carmen is just a 10 minute walk away, and there you can find all the varieties of great regional food you might desire, from expensive pampering type restaurants to bars with live music and swings to sit on to inexpensive taco hutches (our personal fave).

The beachfront is wonderful, although sometimes chairs can be an issue. They have outdoor beds, furniture and umbrellas for your comfort. The pool is beautiful and as evening falls, people tend to gather in the warm tub for drinks and conversation. Kids have a good time here, but it is mostly adults. Of you get restless, great adventures are just an inexpensive taxi ride away, or you can book tours through the hotel.

The people who work here are awesome, and they make us feel like family. We always look forward to being greeted by our friend and bellman, Marciel, who we hope will visit us in San Francisco soon. He is friendly, helpful and professional and everyone seems to seek out his advice. This year, our concierge Jessika and her Manager Miguel were very helpful in getting us a beachfront, lower story studio that was a little bigger to accommodate our teens. We had to meet with a timeshare guy named Jay (from San Diego, lol), in exchange, but having breakfast with him was great too. The activities people, Ana and Geraldo, were really, really enthusiastic in getting people to warm-up to things like Spanish classes, water volleyball, Mexican cooking and morning stretching. Plus, they were active with guests all day themselves!

Yes, the timeshare gig was, and remains, horrendous. However, we feel very lucky every time we arrive that, out of a bad experience, we get to experience a small piece of this Mayan Riviera paradise at this jewel of a resort.

Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
1  Thank Brandy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2014

reviewing the help we received:
Ana Gerardo in activites, always with a smile and trying to get everyone involved. she is great
Sairy at VIP service for check out and other things at the front desk. always polite and nice

they have this thing going now with management that they hand out cards for trip advisor and ask to be rated as hopefully that will gain the

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank galstowell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2014

We bought this timeshare over 6 years ago and have yet to be able to book a time we want to go because the place is fully booked. The chances of getting a place from January 1 to May 1 is almost impossible. Although it is a beautiful small resort it was truly a waste of money. What probably happens is that people are able to book love it an then book for the following year while they are there and makes it impossible for others to get in. Would not recommend this place as a timeshare purchase.

Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Steven K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

We have been traveling to Fisherman's for the last 10 years and LOVE it here! This is not a luxury resort - you go there for the friendly staff, amazing views and beautiful beach. Our next trip-booked

Room Tip: We had a top floor room - there are a lot of stairs, but worth it for the views and the 2 level room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BostonTwinzmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for sharing them on Tripadvisor.
It is always our pleasure to be your host and we are already looking forward to your next visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 February 2014

We arrived in the evening of Feb. 1st. We were given a room close to the elevator on request due to a medical problem. The elevator was broken 10 days out of the 12 days we were there. After 4 years of trying to get a spot at "The Fishermen", our room's view was the patio of the neighbors. Fortunately they were really nice people! We did have two beds in our room which was unusual, we were told. We tried to change but the place was full. My husband missed a step that had such poor lighting that he could not see it. We spent the next day at the ER. The premise is in need of lighting as not only did my husband fall but myself and others.
We had the complete "all inclusive" package which was great. The seating of the dining areas are lovely. The waiters and other help were fantastic! People like Rafael, Ivan, Carlos, Freddy, Ruben, Alejandro,, Jesus, angel, Adam, Elex and some I may have missed were just the best waiters I have ever had. It made up for some other short comings of the place. Danaee, resident manager tried her best to make positive changes but I feel her power is limited possibly due to the new resort that Sunset is building and is their priority.(Like-wise for Miguel in member Services) The food and the presentation was great! The "game night" and another party
was fun! The beach area is beautiful! Getting a chair is a struggle unless you get there before you go to bed or 2 AM and place your towel down. Danaee has tried to get more chairs but to no avail! It is sad that she doesn't have more power as she would make it a better place!
The room we had, looked over the neighbor's patio. They told us they were full so no exchange after 4 years of trying to get in The Fishermen. They had a closet to hang clothes but no dresser for other clothing. We did have a rarity of two beds which was great as my husband had a bad cold. They had sewer problems that could not be fixed so I threw a towel over the drainage and kept the door shut in the BR. The Spa was wonderful! I had 3 massages from Luis and they were fantastic. Noemi and Vicky were just great also!
All in all, it was a nice stay but credit due to the help, the spa, the food and the area.

Room Tip: When they say a unit sleeps 6 which is a one bedroom and pull-out couches, don't believe it unl...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank traveler4peggy4285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your comments. We are glad to read you were able to experience our Mexican Hospitality.
We also appreciate your feedback on our opportunity areas which enable us to review our standards and procedures in order to ensure our guest' satisfaction.
We hope you give us the opportunity to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
4.6 mi away
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
Le Reve Hotel & Spa
#100 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
845 reviews
1.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#60 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
466 reviews
1.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#42 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
2,844 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#21 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
1,611 reviews
1.0 mi away
Playa Maya
Playa Maya
#101 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
665 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £118 - £327 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Booking.com, 5viajes2012 S.L., HotelsClick, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing