We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing Resort and Staff!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort
Ranked #74 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 9 July 2014

This was most of our groups first trip to Mexico, and my first trip to Playa del Carmen. The purpose of our visit was to just get away for a week; a mix of relaxation and fun. I used RCI to book the resort and though many reviews were complaints gave an uneasy feeling, we kept an open mind. Our initial check-in was a bit rough, but that was due to it being the employees first day on the job. Come to find out that throughout the stay that employee, Alberto, and his supervisor, Elizeth, would be EXTREMELY helpful in answering any questions or tending to any of the needs that they could of myself and our group. Always greeted with a smile and warm welcome and by the end of the trip they felt like friends more than staff! The rest of the front desk staff, even the night manager Edgar, all did their best to make sure our stay was as comfortable as possible. Edgar was a fun guy to hang out with when the place shut down, always felt bad when the party had to stop for the guests.
The hotel says WiFi in lobby, but I was getting signal in the middle of the water off the beach and in certain spots in our room (2nd floor) as well.
The beach, view, and resort itself were all superb. Beach and resort were never overly crowded or loud, and provided a great mix of relaxation and fun. The room we stayed in (2 bedroom suite) was absolutely stunning, and always clean. The only real complaint was the water pressure for the hot water. However, as the trip went on I learned a trick in our room for providing almost full pressure with warm water by turning the hot all the way up, and barely adding cold.
The bar and restaurant staff were great! Very friendly! We spent a lot of time getting to know Ricardo, Marco, Felipe, and Jose. Marco was always looking out for our group when it came to dinner time and did his best to make sure we were never without a drink at dinner, while Felipe did the same with our food. Ricardo and Jose were both excellent bar tenders. They had us drinking more, doing more shots, and partying more at the resort than we thought we would. My only complaint about the bar is that it closes too early (10:30pm); an additional hour would be perfect!
The food was good, a bit salty, and few minor issues here and there, but overall we were satisfied. Breakfast was always excellent, the omletes were amazing!
Another thing I will add is that every time we left the resort we stopped to chat with Marcial, the doorman, and every time we came back he greeted us with a super warm welcome and always asked how our day was, what we were up to, and was just overall an extremely nice person.

Overall I will say we very much enjoyed this resort, so much that we are talking about going back in two years and even bringing our kids! Which is another thing I will say, the resort is extremely child friendly! Try not to let the reviews push you too much. Just go for it!

Room Tip: The two bedroom suites are amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jonathan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 30 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Sunset Fishermen and for considering us an amazing resort with an amazing staff.
We are glad to read you enjoyed your stay with us and are already making plans to come back with your kids in two year.
It will be our pleasure to be your host again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (1,051)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

403 - 409 of 1,051 reviews

Reviewed 2 July 2014

It's been two years since our last visit to this facility. Every year we have visited, there has been some major issue upon our arrival. This year it was no different, in fact, it was the worst. Four families were unhappy with their situation. For us, it seemed as though registration didn't put us in the system so the folks here were surprised at our arrival. What followed is quite lengthy and not worth going into here but what I've observed is the sad physical decline of a wonderfully located property. ... in fact, we had no water for showers during the first few days. Apparently a pump had broken ... it was fixed, but the water pressure wasn't the same as when we first came here in 2002. The folks that work here (excluding management), are outstanding, as are the concierges. To fix the pool and the other problems will mean closing most if not all of the resort and of course, they won't do it. We have also noticed what we perceive to be a reduction in staff.

  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank BluLightning
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2014

Negatives: Not enough staff at dinner time. Reservations are needed for dinner. In the evening, the hotel runs out of hot water.

Positives: A very clean beach, helpful staff, beautiful & large rooms. Great air conditioning. Games and shows by staff and outsiders. Everyone is so nice. My husband and I have been to this resort 4 times in the last four years. We've tried many other resorts in Cancun and Playa Del Carmen, but we keep going back to the Sunset Fisherman because it's always the best. This year we tried the Playacar Allegro for a week and then went to the Sunset Fisherman the following week. Sunset Fisherman was by FAR the better resort. It's smaller, but sooooo much better in so many ways!!!!!

Room Tip: We've never had a bad room at this resort! They are all very good!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Vorth36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments.
We are glad to learn you always love to visit Sunset Fishermen and you had a nice stay during your last visit.
We also appreciate the opportunity areas mentioned, our guests' satisfaction is our main concern so your feedback enables us to review our standards and procedures in order to assure the quality in service you have always received.
Come back soon, remember you home away from home is waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 June 2014

Very Nice and beautiful, clean and well kept hotel, amazing location, pleasant surroundings, good attentive service, served very good tasting and looking food, fun activities around the pool and on the beach,

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Madimesz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 29 July 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments. We are glad to learn you had a wonderful time while vacation at Sunset Fishermen and enjoyed our amenities.
Come back soon, remember you home away from home will be waiting for you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 June 2014

We have been here before and always like the beach here better than other beaches in the area. The sand is so fine and easy to walk on with out stepping on rocks. This was the so called slow season so it was not too crowded but just enough people to meet and make new friends. The breakfast had very good choices and the dinners were outstanding, very high quality food. The director of sports, Andy did a great job of keeping everyone entertained with games. There was a great show in the loby to greet every one to the resort. Durring this show there were games with prizes to win and a very good food presentation to snack on. All the help were very helpfull and always available. Jackie was our greeter and was always so kind and helpful with any information we needed. As I am an eary riser, if I need more info early in the morning, I headed to the front office and met Edgar who was always eager to help with the information I needed like where to go visit, as we had our own car. This resort is a good one mile walk to the main entrance to town and a great setting of old ruins on the way that one should visit. We were with another couple and had a two bedroom suite that was very well cleaned. Our suite was on the ground floor and just a few steps to the beach. The pool and spa were so relaxing.
We will be back again

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank emym1935
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

Excellent service, clean rooms, great food and Drinks. We had the all inclusive and were able to take out kayaks and a catamaran for free. Entertainment mngr, Andy played tons of games with us and my 7 year old son found a few friends for the week. Fountains & pools were all working. We worked out in the gym and got massages. Thanks to Alejandro, Ivan, Freddy, Adan, Jose, Marcos, Anselmo, Carmen, Nanci, Andy, Carmelo, Felipe, Jesus A few others and the lifeguard/catamaran captain Abselon for an unforgettable vacation! ¡Muy amable! See all of you guys next year!

  • Stayed: June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris_azios
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DavidZCancun_Mexico, Manager at Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2014

Dear Guest:
Thank you for your nice comments and for considering Sunset Fishermen a Paradise. We appreciate your nice comment specially about our staff and we thank you on their behalf.
It will be our pleasure to be your host next year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2014

We were very excited to take our yearly family vacation in a new spot, with pretty high expectations. Unfortunately, it didn't start out well. We arrived at the resort at about 9 o'clock at night, after flying all day, with luggage and groceries in tow, only to find that they had put some other family in our reserved condo! We were starving at this point, not yet having had dinner, and was not offered a complimentary "anything" other than water, even though this was THEIR error. We were assured the problem would be rectified in the morning, and we would be moved to our appropriate condo. Trying to make the best of a frustrating situation we awoke the next day, not bothering to unpack since we would be moving in a few hours, and decided to lounge by the pool. Upon checking with the front desk about confirming our move to the correct condo at noon, a new staff member was there and they were completely unaware of the situation. (We had another person meeting us the next day, so the present accommodations were not big enough for all of us to sleep in.) Finally, the manager was involved, stating that we would not be able to move in that day, but it couldn't take place until the following day. UGH! We were given a day of all inclusive meals for compensation, which we were only able to use for half a day because of all the activities we had planned throughout the week.

Once we moved in to the appropriate space, the condo itself was pretty good, with an updated kitchen, but a few of the kitchen cabinet doors were falling off, which was reported in previous reviews, and something I think a maid would definitely note when cleaning. Should have been taken care of more promptly. A few of the lights and ceiling fans were not operational, but not a big deal considering the other issues I was dealing with.

I will say that Andy, the activities coordinator, was a shining spot in our stay. He was extremely friendly, fun, and made our vacation better when he was involved. The chef was also extremely good, making dinner for us two nights with fish that the guys caught. Really nice dinner with a fantastic presentation. He definitely is a benefit to the resort as well. Amenities at the resort are average. I think they could do a little more work with the pool (several tiles on the floor of the pool had fallen off, leaving sharp corners). Both of my kids got cuts on their feet. It would also be nice if the pool bar was open longer than 5:00. It is still prime swimming time! The resort is about a 15-20 minute walk into town, which we expected. It is a pretty good location for the Cozumel ferry, fishing opportunities, etc. so a cab is not needed if you are up for a walk.

Our only other complaint upon check out day was that the maid showed up at 9 o'clock in the morning when check out wasn't until 11:00. Our flight didn't leave Cancun until 4:00pm so we were looking forward to relaxing that last morning, having brunch, etc. We explained this to her, thinking she got the message and left, but returned at 9:30 ushering her cleaning supplies in and started cleaning around us as we are trying to eat, pack, etc.! I told the front desk about it, to which they stated she was, indeed, in there too early, and to ask her to come back at 11:00. My son speaks pretty good Spanish, and he couldn't convince her of that either. After speaking with the private owner of the condo we were in, she stated more people weren't coming in for another two days, so she has no idea what the rush was for. Overall, I will say the staff was pretty good and friendly, with a few shining stars as noted above. The manager, Javier, did give us compensation for an obvious error on their part, which we tried to make the best of, and put a smile on our face considering everything that happened, but I think there are definite improvements that need to be made before I would give them a better than "average" rating.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank IdahoGirl162
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#5 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
458 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
855 reviews
0.3 mi away
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
Eurostars Hacienda Vista Real
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
643 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#92 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
4,833 reviews
0.5 mi away
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
Xaman-ha Luxury Condominiums
#9 of 221 in Playa del Carmen
266 reviews
0.3 mi away
Casa Blanca
Casa Blanca
#9 of 180 in Playa del Carmen
229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort

Address: Bahia del Espiritu Santo # 9 | Playacar, Playa del Carmen 77714, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#55 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#83 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £117 - £259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort 3.5*
Number of rooms: 90
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd and getaroom.com so you can book your Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sunset Fishermen Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa And Resort
Sunset Fishermen Playa Del Carmen
Sunset Fishermen Spa & Resort Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing