We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Just an ok hotel” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Ranked #116 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Mexico City
Level Contributor
55 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Just an ok hotel”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 March 2011

Las month I went to riviera Maya staying 4 nights, and stayed 3 more at Playa del Carmen. Since the Riviera hotel was sooooo pricey (but totally worth it) we decided to book just an affordable hotel. This one looked nice on the pictures, and the location is great. I dint have that many complaints about it, however I would think twice if I had to stay there again. Lets say its a petite hotel, the rooms are way too small, the TV is way too small, in fact, It was kind of funny there is no real furniture at all but a chair, everything else is made out of the same room, it was kind of funny actually. They said that the remote for OUR Tv was missing, so we had to get up to change the channels everytime, since OUR TV was the only LG one, and they didnt had any other remote for that one.

I liked that our room was right in front of the pool, which is on a second floor, so you get a view of the fifth avenue. The pool by the way was pretty small as well, but it was ok since there were very few people during our stay. You get a free continental breakfast with eggs and toast at this restaurant in the front of the hotel, however the service there was terrible, we only had it once since the first day we waited for 10 minutes for them to give us a seat and they didnt even stoped to say hold on a moment, they basically ignored us completely, the girl at the front desk however seemed concerned about that when we told her our poor experience at the restaurant. Overall, it was an ok, average staying, I guess I should ask for more for the price we paid, but I think there are better hotels out there for the same budget

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HiramNovelo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

349 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    79
    110
    97
    36
    27
See reviews for
74
127
34
7
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Edmonton
Level Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 April 2010

We stayed at this hotel over the Easter break and it was awesome!! Right on 5th ave but far enough down from all the noise. The hotel was really clean and all you need in Playa. Only blocks away from public beaches where you can rent 2 chairs and a hut for 90 pesos. Or go to Walmart and buy your own umbrella to take to the beach. The beaches are breath taking and amazing, the sand never gets hot!!!! and the colour of the water is beautiful. The rooms are kept very clean and you can rent a in room safe for $3 a day. The TVs do have static but you should not be in Mexico to watch TV! The showers tend to run cooler water than warm but after a hot day it is refreshing. The coffee shop Ah Caoco is amazing, ask for Henry he will take care of you and the Aca Los Tacos is perfect for some great food and they make the best drinks!!! The perfect hotel for a wonderful stay in Playa. The front desk do have a hard time understanding English however just draw some pictures and you are good to go. Free breakfast in the morning with the best coffee. Defiantly a wonderful place to stay!

  • Stayed March 2010, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MellieEdmonton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 January 2010

This little hotel was perfect for us. It's right on the famous 5th Avenue in the City Center approx 2 blocks from one of the best beaches. Just outside the open lobby, is the most popular coffee house in town, A Cacoa. Your room coms with a continental breakfast at Karma's Bagels. This breakfast is not fancy. It's toast, juice, dry cereal, coffee or tea and yogurt. Just enough to get you going without dipping into your pockets right away. The rooms are clean but on the smaller side. If you can check in early and request a room with a balcony, they are nice. When we arrived, they were all taken, but we spent absolutely no time in our room, so it wasn't an issue for us. The hotel is completely tiled , which can be noisy, but guests figured this out and were considerate of each other. The tile kept the hotel cool and comfortable. The tv is hooked up to cable, but you need to push the cable button or you'll have a fuzzy screen. We watched little to no tv, so this wasn't an issue for us either. The staff is friendly and nice, but speak very little English, so they don't always understand what you are asking them. They will do their best to make you happy. I cannot comment on the pool - we never used it, but its cute and looks perfect for that quick dip. This hotel fit us perfectly. It was economical, clean and in a great location. It is not a resort, but one of the several "boutique" hotels on and near 5th Ave which is loaded with bars, shops and restaurants of every type and price.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BNCLOVER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
los angeles
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 January 2010

I stayed at this hotel on !2/31/09-1/03/2010 and it was the worst hotel experience of my life. And, I travel every other week for my job. I'll just bullet point the problems that I encountered.

1. The TV in the rooms do not work and the picture is fuzzy. And they are very small TV's that you can't see the screen.

2. No wireless Internet in the rooms. Complained to the front desk attendant and was given a code. Went back three times because even with code wireless did not work in the room. After the third try, I was informed that wireless only worked in the lobby. Oh?

3. My AC did not work properly and after one hour it would sound like metal on metal and wake me up. I went and spoke to the OWNER and she threatened to call the police because of my complaint.

4. My first nite there, there was a private party on the the third floor pool area that lasted until 7 am and I was not able to sleep at all. They refused to break the party up and told me basically, so what?

5. After midnite, they turn all the hall lights off and you are not able to find your way to your room. And, its scary being in another country roaming thru a strange hotel looking for your room and door key.

6. My last day there, in spite of a DND sign on my door, the staff opened my door at 8am and 9am and woke me, even though checkout was 12pm.

7. The owner is not nice at all, and pretended to not understand english. When I started speaking Spanish, she ran off and told her employee to call the police because I was complaining.

ENTER AT YOUR OWN RISK.

Unhappy with my stay there and would advise anyone that thinks they will give the hotel a chance, to think TWICE!!!!!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank michaeldma1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Gothenburg, Sweden
Level Contributor
80 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 November 2009

We are a family with 3 children, 4, 14, 17 years at the time, and this hotel was perfect for all of us! It was clean, perfect situated in the middle of the shopping street "fifth avenue" but still only 5 minutes walk to the beach. Friendly and conserned staff at the hotel. There was nothing we had to complane about, everything was terrific! And still it wasn't expensive! All of us is longing to come back to Playa del Carmen and Caribbean Paradise hotel.
Andreasson family, Gothenburg, Sweden

  • Stayed May 2008, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andreassons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 August 2008

Whilst it is true that this hotel has a good location and the rooms are clean, we had serious problems with the staff. We came home at 4.45 pm the second day after going to one of the ruins to find two men in our room--one at the foot of one of our beds watching tv with the air conditioning on, whilst the other had removed our glass doors leaving debris all over our bags and clothes and was sitting outside on a ladder. The reception staff had no idea that the men were in our room nor that this work was being done and the manager was disinterested with the situation leaving the desk staff to try and deal with the fact that our room was unfit to enter for another hour.

At check out, we were led to believe that we got a discount for our trouble, which we did not ask for but appreciated. But after checking out one of us left our bag at the hotel and returned to collect it and the manager refused to give it to us unless we paid extra money saying that the desk staff was wrong about the price and he wanted more money.

We had traveled throughout Mexico for 2 weeks and had a wonderful time and stayed in many great hotels both budget and mid range. It was very disappointing to be treated so poorly at our final destination and I would highly recommend that people looking for clean, reasonably priced accomodation go elsewhere as there are many wonderful places in Playa del Carmen but this is definitely not one of them.

Candice, London, England

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — staff
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Check-in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Samantha41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2007

We stayed at this hotel in April 2006. We booked this through our travel agent. This was our second time to the area, the first we stayed at an All inclusive. There was one couple traveling with us.When we arrived we checked out our rooms, they were very small, and we were staying for two weeks so we upgraded them at a cost of $200. Canadian for two weeks.
We got a great room on the top floor in the corner with two bacalonys, we had a great view of 5th ave and the beach. We could see Cozumel from our balcony. The room was very clean and comfortable , air conditioning worked great, tv worked great, bathroom was clean, shelves for our clothes, and hangers.
Rooms were cleaned daily with fresh towels we left something for the maids daily and they always left something on our bed.
The toilet was plugged one day and we let them know at the front desk on our way out and it was repaired when we returned.
Breakfast was tea, coffee, toast, jam, this was ok and when we wanted more we went to a restaurant. We ate at various restaurants on 5th ave and all the meals were great. never got sick. We enjoyed being able to choose different places to eat each day.
We did a lot of exploring and went on day trips. This was our second time to Playa del Carmen so we were famalier with some of the Trips available.
We did our trips on our own. We took a taxi to Puarta Adventura
and arranged Deep Sea fishing with Captain Ricks, also Parasailing there. There is a bus station on 5th ave so we took the bus to Cancun for the day. Went shopping and checked out the hotel zone. Another day we went to Cancun and took the ferry to Isle Medaize, island of the women.(sorry for the spelling)
When there we went snorkling with a local boat, it was great.
We walked to the end of 5th ave and took the ferry to Cozumel for the day. We found that it was cheaper to go on our own, and had no time limits to explore. We liked this hotel and would return again.

Stayed April 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank CapeBreton1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Playa del Karma
Hotel Playa del Karma
#133 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 556 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#146 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 227 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
Sunrise 42 Suites Hotel
#63 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
Hotel Hacienda Real del Caribe
#109 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 486 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Las Golondrinas
Hotel Las Golondrinas
#98 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.4 mi away
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
Casa La Galeria by Bunik
#85 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel

Property: Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel
Address: Avenida 5, Norte Esq. Constituyentes 119, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico (Formerly Caribbean Paradise Resort & Spa)
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #116 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 45
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Playa del Carmen , Location, Location , Location, Why to stay near to 5th when you can stay just in it! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Caribbean Paradise Resort And Spa
Caribbean Paradise Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Hotel Caribbean Paradise
Koox Caribbean Paradise Hotel Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing