We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid 4 star”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Winnipeg
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid 4 star”
Reviewed 23 November 2013

Enjoyed our stay. Solid 4 star. Construction to improve the rooms is going on right now.
Rooms are basic, clean and a/c very good.
The beach and view are outstanding. Great location.....Playa del Carmen's 5th avenue is a 5.00 cab ride. (5 minutes away)
The best thing about the hotel is the staff. So friendly and helpful. We got to know a few of them really well and would like to send out Thank You's to Raul in the Italian restaurant, and Eduardo who kept out drinks coming at the beach. Francisco and Karla and Gabriella.
Our room was cleaned up very nice every day.
The food was really good. Breakfast buffet was great.....omelets made to order. Snack bar was great for a cheeseburger mid day, and an ice cream machine.
For dinner we ate at the Italian restaurant most nights. It was really, really good. We ate at the Mexican restaurant one night and had good chicken fajita's. Great service in the restaurants.
The resort is small, which makes it even nicer. Good lobby bar for drinks before dinner.
We got a good deal on this vacation which made it great value for the money. We would definitely go back.

Room Tip: We upgraded to ocean front and had the most amazing view from our room and balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tina W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    1,442
    674
    340
    258
See reviews for
962
1,462
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 November 2013

I stayed at this resort two years ago and have always been wanting to write a review beause I absolutely loved it.

I went with my mom and sister and had an amazing time. I went back to mexico last year and stayed at the Grand Riviera Princess where I have had my property stolen and experienced awful service so it made me appreciate this resort even more!

The food was amazing and the staff was sooo nice! They were super friendly and always playing and joking with the guests. It was sad to leave them!

The beach was nice and it was so close to 5th avenue that we went for a dinner and a walk quite frequently. The rooms were nice and the resort was small which made everything close and accessible. I would definitely recommend this resort and I myself with for sure be going back.

The beach is nice but you gotta be there early in the morning (7-8am) to get a spot. Its ok though :)

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ana b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 9 January 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write this review of your vacation in our resort.
We are very happy about your nice comments about the delicious food, the amazing beach and the friendly and helpful staff.
We appreciate your nice words about our hotel.
We also have special offers for all our returning guest, so if you decide to come back to visit us any time please contact us directly!
We would be very happy to welcome you here once more.
Warmest regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
37 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We booked an ocean view room 6 months before our trip, 2 days before our arrival we were informed that the ocean view rooms were not available and under construction. We were moved to a room that had a private hot tub outside as compensation. The hot was in great need of repair. One jet worked and the temperature could not be adjusted. It completely stopped working on the 4th day of our trip. There were 2 other hot tubs on the property but they never worked the entire 7 days were were at the resort. The beds are very hard. The room was old and dated but clean, it had 3 plugs, you will need to unplug a lamp or the TV is you want to charge your phone or computer. WIFI is by a third party and is spotty at best. Overall the property is run down and needs a good cleaning (except for the rooms, they were clean) pool chairs were filthy. The food was very average, most meals were ok, the 2 dinners we had in the up-charge restaurant were the worst dinners we had. On the plus side, the breakfast buffet is great, the staff were always helpful and the pool is beautiful.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jack C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Jack C,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this. We appreciate your comprehension and your comments which help us to improve our service.

We are glad to know you could enjoy our staff service, We arleady took note about your a la carte restaurant comments . We look forward to welcoming you and your once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Fort Lauderdale
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 November 2013

We just returned from spending a week at the Reef at Coco Beach and I would NOT recommend it to anyone. The resort is under renovation and Jack Hammering was occurring until 12:30am in the morning some nights. In the specialty Italian restaurant Top Sirloin Steaks were trying to be passed off as Ribeye (and each was a $20.00 upcharge). When it came to ordering dessert they immediately told us they were out of the one all of us wanted AND further after ordering they brought us only two kinds saying that is all they had. We also purchased the Upgraded Premium Package which included "Top Shelf" alcohol, robes in the room as well as a few other things. No robes were ever delivered, the pool bar continuously ran out of Premium Vodka as did the Disco. The disco was missing 3 roof panels and had water leaks on the dance floor. The Hot tub outside of our bedroom didn't work properly. We tried both specialty restaurants and quite frankly the buffet had better food than either of them and I would give the dinner buffets a 2 on scale of 5 with 1 being the lowest. The only two things this place has going for it is the staff in the buffet restaurant as well as the bars and its pool.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joakim1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Joakim,

We are currently renovating the hotel little by little in order not to disturb the guests in house. The changes include a facelift of all the rooms within in the next 15 days.

We are very sorry we were not able to meet your expectations and we wish you happy future travels, We already took note about all your comments, this help us a lot to improuve our services. .

Kind regards,
The management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lambertville, New Jersey
Level Contributor
160 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 November 2013

Husband and I visited Reef Coco Beach last week (November 2013) as part of a group that took over the whole resort. Accommodations were very disappointing:
1. Our room was frigid. Despite three attempts to "fix" the A/C, the room temperature remained at 67 degrees Fahrenheit and after the third "fix" the condenser made noise - we had to change rooms at 3:00 am on the first night. To make matters worse (though not the fault of this resort), the adjacent property had a wedding Saturday night with extraordinarily loud music blaring until 3:00 am, with bass that just did not allow for sleep.
2. EVERYONE in our group complained about the beds - they are rock hard and very uncomfortable.
3. Lack of hot water. At best, we had tepid water, and most days had to settle for tepid or cold showers - this despite bringing the problem to the attention of the staff. I suspect this was because we were farthest from the main area, but that is no excuse.
4. There is a $2 per day charge for the safe in the room! This is ridiculous for a "high end" resort and should be included in the room fee. Likewise for internet access which is $16 daily or $79 for five days. Again, include it in the total charge.
On the positive side, the staff is very friendly - bar tenders, wait staff, concierge - and very accommodating. The pool area is picturesque. Location is within an easy walk to the shopping area on 5th Avenue. Food is fine, but not exceptional, with two specialty restaurants (Latin and Italian) along with the main buffet dining area. But these did not make up for the very disappointing rooms.

Room Tip: Try to get a room away from the adjacent resort - if there is a function there, the music can be ver...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank beardocnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear beardocnj,

We are really sorry to hear you experienced some inconveniences during your stay and we would like to express our most sincere apology for this.

We appreciate you emphasize in your comments the great value the hotel offers like the quality service of our staff.

We look forward to welcoming you once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hindhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 November 2013

great holiday glad we paid for the upgrade as the a la carte restaurants were excellent
the room was pretty basic but as we did not spend too much time in there it was not a problem
the outside areas were kept clean and tidy at all times.
the rain water did not soak away from the paths so had to walk through puddles after it rained but they did try to sweep this away
disappointing not having free wi fi but walked up to star bucks regularly for their free wi fi

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Merg D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear Merg D,

It is nice to hear that you had such a nice stay with us. We appreciate you emphasize in your comments the great value the hotel offers.

On your next visit we recommend you to try our Marina’s activities such as kayaks and motorized activities.

We look forward to welcoming you and your family once again at The Reef Coco Beach. We will surprise you with our Special Repeat Customer's Amenities.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 November 2013

I came to this hotel last April with my sister for a 10 day holiday and by the end we weren't ready to leave.

Excellent food. Great breakfast selection in the main dining room with fresh eggs and mexican food ready to order. At lunch time there is a choice between the buffet and a buffet at an outdoor bar. We tended to stick to this as we didnt feel a sit down lunch in the main restaurant was necessary at lunch. The only fault with the whole hotel was the a la carte restaurant which me and my sister didnt enjoy. However the cocktails masked any disappointment we had.

Accomodation clean and spacious. We especially appreciated the free mini bar as well as the American TV channels.

We went on a day trip to Isla de Mujares which is the most beautiful place I have been to. To get there was quite an effort (taxi to coach station, coach to cancun, ferry to the island) and then once we arrived we took another taxi to a secluded part of the island, however well worth it when we were there. It was incredibly cheap and the corona was cheaper than the water. The snorkelling as also beautiful.

We also went to Coco Bongo one night. We bought tickets off the rep around the pool and it turned out to be an excellent decision. Included in the price was a taxi to the club, when we arrived we queue jumped straight into the club and then we were there we were given a private area with our own waiter to provide unlimited drinks.

Another evening we went to the cinema at a local shopping mall. This was a great night out and incredibly cheap. The film was in English too.

I would highly recommend this hotel for its excellent food, service and clean accomodation.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LoulouLondon7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 17 November 2013
Dear LoulouLon...

We are glad you could enjoy our food's variety as well as our service and our installations.

As you kindly mentioned it is easy to do a lot of activities inside and outside the resort thanks to the hotel's privilege location.

We look forward welcoming you and your sister once again at The Reef Coco Beach.

Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,304 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing