We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Bad experience”
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days all inclusive at The Reef Coco last April.

This hotel gives you a card at the front desk to get towels for the beach/pool. If you loose a card you get charge 34 $ .
Only one card was given to us and so we could only get one towel, the front desk did not want to give us the missing card and wanted us to pay the 34$.
I ended up stealing a towel to get a card back, this is how stupid you have to act around those idiots.

Does it make sense to charge people for towels/card when they pay 1000$ for 4 days ?
This was the first bad experience.

As soon as we arrived, the concierge Jean Louis Picard suggested to us to go visit and use the partner hotel Coco Bay for free during a day and enjoy the nice beach over there. He forgot on purpose to tell us that behind this was a hotel room sale.
We ended up spending 3 hours with someone employed trying to sell us a 120000$ apartment for a 30 year lease in the Coco Bay hotel. I must also say that those people were aggressive and rude as we did not want to buy their apartments/studios.

We did not go to Mexico for a week to buy an apartment but just to enjoy our holidays and those people ruined our time over there.

So my advise is : Stay away from this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jayce3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,830 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,002
    1,500
    713
    351
    264
See reviews for
1,022
1,533
102
19
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (348)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Santiago
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went there for ten days and it was great! The food at the buffet was delicious, and the Italian and Mexican restaurant were really good food, hope I can go back some day :). The workers are all really nice, specially the guys of entertainment and the bar tender at the club.
the only bad thing was the room was a bit dirty when we arrived! but they fixed straight away .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria fernanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Maria Fernanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay in our resort.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room, but would also like to thank you for mentioning it to us, so we can prevent such situations in the future.
We would also like to thank you for your nice comments regarding the delicious food and the friendly staff.
We will forward your special thanks to our entertainment staff.
It was a pleasure to us to host you here in the Reef Coco Beach and if you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact us, so that you can enjoy our specials for returning guests.

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had three generations and there was something for everyone. Great trip to the Mayan ruins, fun day with the dolphins, afternoon of downtown shopping and just chillin' by the pool or beach with a good book. Lots of options for meals and beverages.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful...can't say enough good things about them. All in all...it was a perfect week. It was really tough to leave this beautiful environment and come back to the wintery Midwest. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnHMColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bear, Delaware
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms were extremely well kept, and almost every room/hallway/restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean. However my boyfriend and i got bored and would usually just walk to 5th avenue or the club right next store. One thing that bothered me is rules were not enforced. There was almost always kids in the hott tubs, when it it 18+ , and i was getting very angry with not one but 3 kids running on the pool bar, like the actual bar and hopping over my drinks. Also the walls were not soundproof at all, and me and my boyfriend were "practicing our honeymoon" and our neighbors did not like this. also the maids did FANTASTIC work but came super early.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but one side is close to a club and is loud till 3 am
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank OCgirlxo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Solid 4 star small all-inclusive resort.

Not a huge over-the top compound. Want the option to go explore town a little? Great hotel for those who do not want to be locked in a compound stuck only with other tourists.

Perfect location for those who like long walks on the beach (turn left and it is mostly empty wild beach, turn right and it's lots of other resorts, bars, restaurants, and you can even walk to the Cozumel ferry) and a short walk into a great little town with fantastic restaurants and life. All walking off resort felt very safe, but did not walk on the beach at night.

The food was generally great for what you pay (those complaining forget that this is not top of the line resort) and the italian restaurant was shockingly delicious for an all inclusive resort! We discovered that Mexicans LOVE italian food, it was easier to find that Mexican. The Italian on 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen was also awesome.

Always able to find a pool or beach chair, but not always able to find a beach chair with shade (I am not an early obsessive chair saver)

Staff all very friendly and polite. Grounds are clean and decently maintained.

Wednesdays and Sundays there is a great comedy club called Lucky on 5th avenue and there is great stand up comedy (search Comedy Playa for more info on them).

I would return. Preferably tomorrow.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, General Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Stephanie,

We want to tell you that we really enjoyed to read your review. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Resort Coco Beach,
All our staff works everyday to make the vacations of our guest unforgettable any a comment like your make us feel we are doing a good job.

We really hope you will visit us back soon for more nice days and long walks on the beach…
We would appreciate that recommend us with your friends and family.
Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jasper, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2014

Just arrived home from a fabulous vacation! We stayed for 14 nights, from March 30, 2014 to April 13, 2014. Our family vacation started with a room upgrade from two rooms to a V.I.P. suite, which was very kind as it allowed us to be together as a family. We were travelling with our twin girls aged 15. The rooms were very clean, the staff were friendly and very accomodating. The activities staff was what made this a great trip for us. Sergio, Jay, Estefanie and Irina were fabulous, very friendly and enthusiastic. They truly made our trip one that we will never forget. Please let them know that Cassidy cried all the way from Playa del Carmen to Cacun and will miss every one of them.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Billpayor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, General Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Billpayor,

It is very nice to read you liked the room and the details to please you and make your trip unforgettable.
The activities staff like you mentioned made a very good job and they were recognized for this enthusiastic attitude, also they said they miss a lot the twin girls, they are a lovely girls and very participatory in all the activities.

Thank you very much for take the time to write this comment and for visit us. We hope you and your family can come so soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Drayton Valley, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 11 April 2014 via mobile

We have had an amazing stay at this resort! Staff is so friendly and helpful. Hotel and resort areas are clean and kept up. Staff are making renovation improvements each day to make the resort even nicer then it already is. Our room (2364) was awesome! We had an great view ☀️. The beach is a little small but nice and sandy in the water, don't have to step around any rocks . They do have a new resort on the south side of fifth avenue (The Reef Resort) and the beach there is very big if that's what you really want. Food was good, a la caters where the best in our option, but I prefer plate service over a buffet any day. We will come back to this or there other resort, great location. This is a smaller more personal resort, so if your looking for resort life this may not be the place, but if your looking for a great relaxing vacation with the treatment of a vip for no extra cost, this is the place for you next vacation to Mexico!

Stayed April 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Ttkat3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, General Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 23 April 2014
Dear Ttkat3,

Thank you for sharing your experience, we enjoyed a lot to read your review.
All the staff at The Reef Coco Beach is very grateful because you chose this little paradise to spend your vacations and
It is so nice that you found something nice everyday here (the room, the staff, the beach, the cleaning, food, etc.)

Definitely we expect you come back, you always will be treated as a vip guest but now like a repetitive guest you can enjoy a new privileges at the resort.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#53 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
650 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
1,994 reviews
15.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,594 reviews
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,499 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, 5viajes2012 S.L., TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing