We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loud”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #105 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The appeal of this resort was its proximity to 5th Ave, the bus terminal and ferry so that we could easily get around the the area and it worked out great. The resort itself is small so the walk to the pool, restaurants and lobby is short unlike the large resorts. The buffet was decent: breakfast and lunch always had a fresh fruit and or salad option if you didn't care for the hot meals. Dinners were just OK and after eating in each restaurant once, I wasn't excited to eat there again.

The room was large, the bed was comfortable. Bath towels were large and decent quality. The furniture in our room could stand to be replaced as the dresser drawers would stick and the fabric on the balcony chairs were ripped. The resort is in the process of renovation so my guess is that eventually these will be replaced.

My biggest complaint and the reason I would not return is that it is loud. I am a light sleeper and I was awoken every night by either people coming in late, people walking around above our room or by the loud talkers in the room beside us. There is just no sound proofing at all. If you are a heavy sleeper or are the one coming in at 4 a.m. then this place will be fine.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Gina_CT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2014

Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing this review for our resort.
Indeed we are located very close to the 5th avenue and our hotel is very small unlike other resorts and we would like to thank you for mentioning it as positive aspects.


Unfortunately we can see that we did not totally meet your expectations, because you are a light sleeper and you were awaken by other guests. We apolize for the inconveniences you experienced.

We would like to share with our future customers, that we will be finishing to redecorate all our rooms within the next 2 months. This is not causing any noise or inconvenience for our future guests, because it is all indoors and little updates and changes, but it will make a nice difference in the rooms.

We hope you still enjoyed your vacation in Mexico and we wish you happy future travels.

Best wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (3,966)
There are newer reviews for The Reef Coco Beach
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,083 - 1,089 of 3,966 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was great! The staff was very friendly. Our room worked, we asked for a king size but we got a double the first night. The hotel said we could change rooms but by then we were settled. Nice room with a good view on the main floor (2245). From David to alberlardo and Jorge, everyone was great. Oh and the food..... Just great. Can not wait to come back. Would recommend to anyone who wants to be near everything and not deal with the huge resort. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nickolasmccombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2014

Dear Nickolas,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us.

All our room requests are subject to availability, since all our rooms are run of the house. We always try to accommodate the requests, but this can not be confirmed before arrival. Sometimes all our king size bed rooms are occupied and in this case we give our guests the opportunity to change rooms as soon as something is available.

We are happy to hear that you were happy with your room and the nice view. We would also like to thank you for your nice comments about our friendly staff and the great food.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here in our resort and would be very happy to welcome you here again!
Please send us an email when you decide to come back, so you can enjoy all our specials for returning guests.

See you soon,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days all inclusive at The Reef Coco last April.

This hotel gives you a card at the front desk to get towels for the beach/pool. If you loose a card you get charge 34 $ .
Only one card was given to us and so we could only get one towel, the front desk did not want to give us the missing card and wanted us to pay the 34$.
I ended up stealing a towel to get a card back, this is how stupid you have to act around those idiots.

Does it make sense to charge people for towels/card when they pay 1000$ for 4 days ?
This was the first bad experience.

As soon as we arrived, the concierge Jean Louis Picard suggested to us to go visit and use the partner hotel Coco Bay for free during a day and enjoy the nice beach over there. He forgot on purpose to tell us that behind this was a hotel room sale.
We ended up spending 3 hours with someone employed trying to sell us a 120000$ apartment for a 30 year lease in the Coco Bay hotel. I must also say that those people were aggressive and rude as we did not want to buy their apartments/studios.

We did not go to Mexico for a week to buy an apartment but just to enjoy our holidays and those people ruined our time over there.

So my advise is : Stay away from this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank jayce3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

My boyfriend and I went there for ten days and it was great! The food at the buffet was delicious, and the Italian and Mexican restaurant were really good food, hope I can go back some day :). The workers are all really nice, specially the guys of entertainment and the bar tender at the club.
the only bad thing was the room was a bit dirty when we arrived! but they fixed straight away .

Stayed: November 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Maria fernanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 13 May 2014

Dear Maria Fernanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay in our resort.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room, but would also like to thank you for mentioning it to us, so we can prevent such situations in the future.
We would also like to thank you for your nice comments regarding the delicious food and the friendly staff.
We will forward your special thanks to our entertainment staff.
It was a pleasure to us to host you here in the Reef Coco Beach and if you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact us, so that you can enjoy our specials for returning guests.

Warmest wishes,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had three generations and there was something for everyone. Great trip to the Mayan ruins, fun day with the dolphins, afternoon of downtown shopping and just chillin' by the pool or beach with a good book. Lots of options for meals and beverages.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful...can't say enough good things about them. All in all...it was a perfect week. It was really tough to leave this beautiful environment and come back to the wintery Midwest. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank AnnHMColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2014

The rooms were extremely well kept, and almost every room/hallway/restaurant had a wonderful view of the ocean. However my boyfriend and i got bored and would usually just walk to 5th avenue or the club right next store. One thing that bothered me is rules were not enforced. There was almost always kids in the hott tubs, when it it 18+ , and i was getting very angry with not one but 3 kids running on the pool bar, like the actual bar and hopping over my drinks. Also the walls were not soundproof at all, and me and my boyfriend were "practicing our honeymoon" and our neighbors did not like this. also the maids did FANTASTIC work but came super early.

Room Tip: all rooms are good, but one side is close to a club and is loud till 3 am
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank OCgirlxo0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Solid 4 star small all-inclusive resort.

Not a huge over-the top compound. Want the option to go explore town a little? Great hotel for those who do not want to be locked in a compound stuck only with other tourists.

Perfect location for those who like long walks on the beach (turn left and it is mostly empty wild beach, turn right and it's lots of other resorts, bars, restaurants, and you can even walk to the Cozumel ferry) and a short walk into a great little town with fantastic restaurants and life. All walking off resort felt very safe, but did not walk on the beach at night.

The food was generally great for what you pay (those complaining forget that this is not top of the line resort) and the italian restaurant was shockingly delicious for an all inclusive resort! We discovered that Mexicans LOVE italian food, it was easier to find that Mexican. The Italian on 5th avenue in Playa Del Carmen was also awesome.

Always able to find a pool or beach chair, but not always able to find a beach chair with shade (I am not an early obsessive chair saver)

Staff all very friendly and polite. Grounds are clean and decently maintained.

Wednesdays and Sundays there is a great comedy club called Lucky on 5th avenue and there is great stand up comedy (search Comedy Playa for more info on them).

I would return. Preferably tomorrow.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Stephanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, General Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 23 April 2014

Dear Stephanie,

We want to tell you that we really enjoyed to read your review. Thank you for sharing your experience at the Resort Coco Beach,
All our staff works everyday to make the vacations of our guest unforgettable any a comment like your make us feel we are doing a good job.

We really hope you will visit us back soon for more nice days and long walks on the beach…
We would appreciate that recommend us with your friends and family.
Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
679 reviews
15.8 mi away
Barcelo Maya Caribe
Barcelo Maya Caribe
#12 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
3,426 reviews
16.4 mi away
Bel Air Collection Xpu Ha Riviera Maya
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#16 of 21 in Akumal
2,108 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#5 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,302 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,719 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £109 - £304 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, LoveHolidays, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing