We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“pics took May 2014 vacation”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Martinsville, Indiana
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“pics took May 2014 vacation”
Reviewed 11 May 2014

no complaints on the resort if you are looking for a small resort without having to mess with 1000+ people like the bigger resorts. the staff is great,and the food is good. and the view is awesome! the beach is alot smaller than the last time we were there in '09 but still had some room to walk. We done the Xplor excursion and it was also amazing definitely recommend it! We are hoping to return in 2016

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jeremyraynail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Jeremyray,
Thank you for sharing your experience. We are very grateful that you came back to visit us, and We will be very happy if you still choosing THE REEF HOTELS for your stays in Playa del Carmen, remember you have some privileges like a repetitive guest, don’t forget to write us for your next vacations with us… We will be very happy to receive your friends and family.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    950
    1,442
    676
    340
    258
See reviews for
964
1,463
97
15
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wainwright, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 May 2014 via mobile

I would not recommend this resort to anyone new to Mexico. I stayed there with 3 other friends expecting this to be good experience, but it wasn't. We were told we would stay in one adjoining room and our rooms were 8 apart. We had to pay for each safe, and one didn't work. Not getting a refund. At the Mexican restaurant there we were told we could charge the room or pay cash. We paid cash and were charged at the end of the stay for this meal. The food was horrible and tasted bland at the buffets. And the snack bar had the stupidest hours, not being able to eat at certain times. The bar staff ignored us the one day and wouldn't serve us drinks so we went to a different bar. No room service was offered and no beer in the mini fridge. Even after putting money in the fridge.. Still no beer. Definitely not a party resort.

Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
Helpful?
5 Thank Danika C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 30 May 2014
Dear Danika,
Thank you for take the time to write a comment of your experience with us.
We feel sorry to read that you were not satisfied with your stay.

The hotel is not able to confirm any room assignments before arrival and we do not sell adjoining rooms, since all our rooms are run of the house. We are very sorry to hear you were wrongly informed.

You are right, we are not a party resort, we are a family resort. You can get your minibar stocked by buying the superior room package, this includes:
• Coffee maker in room
• Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room
• Safety deposit box without charge
• Minibar filled with beer and soft drinks daily
• Choice of 2 a la carte restaurants without surcharge
• 25% Discount on any spa service in the Reef Spa
• Bottle of wine upon arrival in room


We are very sorry you had the wrong idea before coming to the resort.

We wish you happy future trips.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Stamford, Connecticut
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

The appeal of this resort was its proximity to 5th Ave, the bus terminal and ferry so that we could easily get around the the area and it worked out great. The resort itself is small so the walk to the pool, restaurants and lobby is short unlike the large resorts. The buffet was decent: breakfast and lunch always had a fresh fruit and or salad option if you didn't care for the hot meals. Dinners were just OK and after eating in each restaurant once, I wasn't excited to eat there again.

The room was large, the bed was comfortable. Bath towels were large and decent quality. The furniture in our room could stand to be replaced as the dresser drawers would stick and the fabric on the balcony chairs were ripped. The resort is in the process of renovation so my guess is that eventually these will be replaced.

My biggest complaint and the reason I would not return is that it is loud. I am a light sleeper and I was awoken every night by either people coming in late, people walking around above our room or by the loud talkers in the room beside us. There is just no sound proofing at all. If you are a heavy sleeper or are the one coming in at 4 a.m. then this place will be fine.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Gina_CT2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Guest,

We would like to thank you for writing this review for our resort.
Indeed we are located very close to the 5th avenue and our hotel is very small unlike other resorts and we would like to thank you for mentioning it as positive aspects.


Unfortunately we can see that we did not totally meet your expectations, because you are a light sleeper and you were awaken by other guests. We apolize for the inconveniences you experienced.

We would like to share with our future customers, that we will be finishing to redecorate all our rooms within the next 2 months. This is not causing any noise or inconvenience for our future guests, because it is all indoors and little updates and changes, but it will make a nice difference in the rooms.

We hope you still enjoyed your vacation in Mexico and we wish you happy future travels.

Best wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 May 2014

It was great! The staff was very friendly. Our room worked, we asked for a king size but we got a double the first night. The hotel said we could change rooms but by then we were settled. Nice room with a good view on the main floor (2245). From David to alberlardo and Jorge, everyone was great. Oh and the food..... Just great. Can not wait to come back. Would recommend to anyone who wants to be near everything and not deal with the huge resort. I will be coming back.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Nickolasmccombe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Gerente at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Nickolas,
First of all we would like to thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay with us.

All our room requests are subject to availability, since all our rooms are run of the house. We always try to accommodate the requests, but this can not be confirmed before arrival. Sometimes all our king size bed rooms are occupied and in this case we give our guests the opportunity to change rooms as soon as something is available.

We are happy to hear that you were happy with your room and the nice view. We would also like to thank you for your nice comments about our friendly staff and the great food.

It was a pleasure for us to have you here in our resort and would be very happy to welcome you here again!
Please send us an email when you decide to come back, so you can enjoy all our specials for returning guests.

See you soon,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Boulder, Colorado
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 May 2014

My girlfriend and I spent 4 days all inclusive at The Reef Coco last April.

This hotel gives you a card at the front desk to get towels for the beach/pool. If you loose a card you get charge 34 $ .
Only one card was given to us and so we could only get one towel, the front desk did not want to give us the missing card and wanted us to pay the 34$.
I ended up stealing a towel to get a card back, this is how stupid you have to act around those idiots.

Does it make sense to charge people for towels/card when they pay 1000$ for 4 days ?
This was the first bad experience.

As soon as we arrived, the concierge Jean Louis Picard suggested to us to go visit and use the partner hotel Coco Bay for free during a day and enjoy the nice beach over there. He forgot on purpose to tell us that behind this was a hotel room sale.
We ended up spending 3 hours with someone employed trying to sell us a 120000$ apartment for a 30 year lease in the Coco Bay hotel. I must also say that those people were aggressive and rude as we did not want to buy their apartments/studios.

We did not go to Mexico for a week to buy an apartment but just to enjoy our holidays and those people ruined our time over there.

So my advise is : Stay away from this hotel !!!!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank jayce3390
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Santiago
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

My boyfriend and I went there for ten days and it was great! The food at the buffet was delicious, and the Italian and Mexican restaurant were really good food, hope I can go back some day :). The workers are all really nice, specially the guys of entertainment and the bar tender at the club.
the only bad thing was the room was a bit dirty when we arrived! but they fixed straight away .

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Maria fernanda I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 13 May 2014
Dear Maria Fernanda,

Thank you for taking the time to write this review about your stay in our resort.
We are very happy that you enjoyed your vacation with us.
First of all we would like to apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with the room, but would also like to thank you for mentioning it to us, so we can prevent such situations in the future.
We would also like to thank you for your nice comments regarding the delicious food and the friendly staff.
We will forward your special thanks to our entertainment staff.
It was a pleasure to us to host you here in the Reef Coco Beach and if you decide to visit us again, please feel free to contact us, so that you can enjoy our specials for returning guests.

Warmest wishes,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2014

We had three generations and there was something for everyone. Great trip to the Mayan ruins, fun day with the dolphins, afternoon of downtown shopping and just chillin' by the pool or beach with a good book. Lots of options for meals and beverages.
The staff were all pleasant and helpful...can't say enough good things about them. All in all...it was a perfect week. It was really tough to leave this beautiful environment and come back to the wintery Midwest. Will definitely go back again.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AnnHMColumbus_Ohio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,305 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, HRS, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing