We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“dissatisfied !!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #104 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Medicine Hat, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“dissatisfied !!!!”
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we stayed at the reef coco beach from may 10-17th 2014 it was not a pleasant stay
we had construction going on started at 6 am finished at about 11 pm.
rooms were not cleaned properly not enough towels in rooms we had to call and ask for more or find a maid to ask for more.
very little options for food on buffet food was bland or not cooked properly.
all inclusive restaurant specials are not included and no one tells you that before you order waiters were rude and not considerate.
food in the Italian rest was over cooked and bland or very spicy.
music played at pool was very loud so we could not sit outside and enjoy our vacation.
all the hot tubs were not working.
very tiny beach with to many beach chairs.
the beautiful ocean view was full of fishing boat as that is where they docked.
water sports were very limited.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dawna95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us.

We are sad to read you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We would like to express our most sincere apology for the noise of the remodeling of our jacuzzi area that we had going on between 9 am and 5 pm during the week you were staying with us. We are happy to share with our future guests that our ocean front jacuzzi area is ready for use. In the meantime of the upgrade we had available the Jacuzzis on the deck of the second floor and we regret you were not properly informed regarding this option.

We always try to please all palates in our buffet restaurant, by serving salads, different main courses, including rice, pastas, potatoes, meat, fish, chicken, pork, seafood, typical Mexican food, fruits & deserts. Unfortunately in this case we were not able to meet up your expectations.

Playa del Carmen is a fishing village, even before the hotel was built, these boats have been there and unfortunately the hotel cannot remove them.

Thanks once again for sharing your comments with us We will take note of the other points you mention to improve our every day operations.
Kind regards,
The Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

3,662 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    948
    1,442
    674
    340
    258
See reviews for
962
1,462
97
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (343)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Whitecourt, Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This cute little resort has just 200 rooms. It's a great way to meet people. Once we arrived at the hotel the staff was wonderful and Victor at the front desk was amazing and did everything he could to help make your stay so much better. The food was great and with me being a huge milk drinker, the milk was out of this world. The only regret was the beach being so small due the rain from the previous year, but they were working on rebuilding it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor next to the Mexican restaurant, we had a private balcony and then a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kentucky
Level Contributor
77 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just returned from couples trip - check in was quick and easy, staff very attentive. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Pool and pool bar were outstanding. The only complaint I have is the food is not the best but Im not much on foreign food. However, the omelet station was awesome. Its a small resort, 4 days plenty for us, not much to do on the resort. However, you did have the option of purchasing excursions. Enjoyed free 15 min massage by a spa staff member on the beach - and also purchased a spa package....cant go wrong here. Miriam was great! The hotel is within walking distance to 5th avenue shopping and we felt safe walking there. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: tip your housekeeper daily- we gave ours money every day and the room was immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank mrw42164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear mrw42164,

We really enjoyed to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the resort.

We will be glad to receive welcome you once again at the Reef Coco Beach

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
Level Contributor
67 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a smaller resort, but quite nice.

Service: The shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us straight to the hotel, no other stops, which was very nice and quick. The lobby staff was quick and efficient. We found the buffet staff rather cool. There was only one girl who smiled and made us feel welcome. The a la carte staff were very professional. There were people who were trying to get us to go to their sister resort for the first 2 days. They were annoying, but they left us alone once we made it clear we were not interested.

Value: This is a nice resort, but I feel that we could have gotten a lot nicer for the same price. There are a few things that I felt could have been better, so that is why I could not give it an excellent rating. You have to pay for the safe. Some of the a la carte items were extras and very expensive.

Sleep Quality: Awful! We had a room that was over the lobby bar. I had to wear ear plugs every night. We should have requested a different room. My bad...

Cleanliness: The facilities were very clean. I did have to tell the staff to pay more attention to the ladies bathroom in the pool area, as it was beginning to smell bad from the waste baskets not being emptied in a timely manner and many ladies do not flush their paper. They did call someone right away to take care of it.

Location: about a 10-15 minute walk to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen (the shopping district) but is far enough away that it is quiet and not bothered with street vendors. Although it is right on the water, the beach is almost non-existent. From the pool area you enter a small sandy area with lounge chairs. These lounge chairs are roped off, as you have to go down a few steps which place you are right in the water.
The pool is very nice and the activities people do their best; however, the small amount of people do not always translate to a full set of teams for water volleyball.

Rooms: very large. Nice balconies sheltered by palm trees so no one could see in even if you left the drapes open.

The beverage selection was very good and good bartenders.

Food: The food was good. There was not as huge a selection as from larger resorts, but we did not have to make a reservation at the a la cartes. The Italian was free, the Mexican was $6 US per plate. Watch out for the "extras" that are not included. The lobster was $60.

Room Tip: DO NOT take rooms 2326 -2335. They are over the lobby bar and are VERY noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank PydaGilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear PydaGilmar

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your vacation in our resort The Reef Coco Beach.
We really appreciate your stunning comments about our closeness to the 5th avenue, the beverage selection, good bartenders, pool & beautiful area.

We express our most since apology for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the noise in your room. We wished we would have known, so the front desk or guest service staff would have been able to help you with the problem and change the room.

We will discuss the comments you mention regarding the extras in the a la carte restaurants and the cleanliness of the bathroom in the pool area.

Thank you for your nice words, and if you plan to visit us again anytime, please let us know directly, so you can enjoy our special extras for our returning guests.
Best Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kersey, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing. Could not have asked for anything better for the price. The staff was very accommodating. We got there and was assigned to 2 double beds. We requested a king bed and they switched our room immediately. Victor was an amazing bellhop and conversational every time you encountered him. The pool was very big and nice. The pool bar was great but service wasn't too speedy from the pool. There was some particles in the pool but I did see them cleaning it out every morning. The buffet was very good. There were a lot of options. They had many meat choices at every meal including beef, pork, and chicken. There was plenty of sides to choose from as well as fresh fruit and salad. They also had some very good desserts. The Italian restaurant was also very good. It was kind of odd though. You could only get pasta or meat. Not both. Which kind of stunk, but either meal was still very filling. The dessert was delicious there as well! The service in the Italian restaurant was very good! The only downside was the lack of night life. We are 20 years old and were in bed by 11 if not earlier every night.
I could not say enough great things about this resort! It was a great price and every aspect of the resort made us extremely happy. I would not hesitate for a minute to go back there. It was a clean hotel with a beautiful view and delicious drinks. There were only a few children running around. This resort provided everything we asked for and more!

Room Tip: Request a king bed if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Shelby G,

Thank you very much for your writing this detailed review. We really appreciate you took the time to do this.

Thank you for highlighting the pool size and the quality of the restaurants. We will share your special mention with Victor.

We will be very happy to welcome you back and pamper you with our gifts for repetitive guests.

When the date come up please write us to let us know.

Best Regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milan, Illinois
Level Contributor
30 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 May 2014

This is the second time I have visited the Riviera Maya. First time was in Cancun in 2012. Because we wanted to have a trip for celebrating our 2nd wedding anniversary, we decided to go to playa del Carmen and make the things different.

We booked this hotel which looks good in the pictures. I should have read the reviews more carefully... I did not enjoyed the hotel.

We arrived early on Friday May 16th, they received us with champagne and they invited us to go to the buffet because our room was not ready. Installations are nice and the location is good but our first visit to the “restaurant buffet” was dissapointing. The food is horrible, no choices, very simple, no flavor. No shrimps, there is always bread, totopos and rice. The menu is very poor, the should call it "the unappetizing buffet". Because we did not enjoy our "lunch", then we went to the “La Parrilla”, on Fridays, they cook “carne asada” next to the pool…. so we decided to try the meat but it was awful too.

I am from Mexico and I am very disappointed about how this hotel cook the food, it is not natural, the guacamole is the worst, the sauce for the pizza is sauce from can.

The food at the snack bar is not good either… we tried wings, nachos, pizzas, guacamole… all of them were bad. I did not try burgers. We also tried the Italian restaurant, service is slow, the food is average but it is the best option at the hotel.

Our room was located in 2nd floor, 2334. Very noisy room. We could hear people located in the lobby.

Good things: pool, staff and the location. The 5th avenue is pretty close.

Fortunately, we spent three days at Tulum, Xplor and Xelha with food included. If you are paying just for sleeping at the hotel, then book it here. Otherwise, look for other option, this one is not enjoyable. I will never come back to this hotel….

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank yazlechuga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear yazlechuga

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to read you didn’t enjoy your stay at the Resort and regret that we were not able to meet your expectations.

We wished we would have known you were not satisfied with your room during your stay, so we could have changed this for you to make you happy.

The buffet changes every night and offers different kinds every day, trying to please all our guests. The Mexican food we cook in a way people from other countries can eat it without finding it too spicy. We are taking your suggestions into consideration and we are grateful for sharing your experience.

We wish you happy future travels.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Playa del Carmen hotels

Pigeon Forge, Tennessee
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 May 2014

The location is great.....most employees very helpful....room not too bad.......but the food was awful, the pool closed at 8pm & the snack bar closed at 6:30 so you had to eat the cold, unappetizing buffet food or dine at one or the 2 bland restaurants.( The snack bar hamburgers was the best meal choice). There really wasn't much of an ocean view unless you enjoy umbrella tops & the sky. We checked out Ocean front & it was Very nice but $100 per night more, I did sleep a couple nights in the hammock on the patio & that was nice & shows you how secure/safe the resort was. I probably would have looked at things a little better if they hadn't wanted to charge me $30 per day to rent a coffee pot. ( I brought coffee after reading the Trip Advisor reviews & just assumed I could request a pot if one wasn't in my room). I booked thru Apple & even had my rep try to help me & she was able to get the cost of the coffee pot rental reduced to $20 per night. I didn't mind the safe rental, no free internet, the mini-bar that only had 6 sodas, but Please explain to me the coffee pot thing? The resort has the potential to be awesome....great location to 5th Ave, a small place where I met some new friends, but they nickel/dimed you to death, the food was awful & I don't think they even cared if you were unhappy. There were 2 of us and it was $200 per night for 9 nights....Just wasn't worth the $$$. Will go back to the area, just not this resort. A lot of readers said just eat on 5th Ave......why should I have to do that at these prices? So, if you do decide to come here...... bring your own coffee pot.......make that week the week you start your diet.......bring an extra $100 night for a view.......,plan on going to bed about 9:30 or take a cab to 5th Avenue if you want some entertainment.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kittyskatz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this review, 3 June 2014
Dear Kittyskatz,

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment of your experience at our hotel.

We feel sorry to read that you were not totally satisfied with your stay.

We would like to explain that we have different room types in the hotel.

• The standard room does not include the coffee pot, but the superior and superior premium room do. The Superior room includes all standard room amenities plus a Coffee maker in the room, Bathrobe and upgraded amenities in room, Safety deposit box without charge, Minibar filled with beer and soft drinks daily, Choice of 2 a la carte restaurants without surcharge, 25% Discount on any spa service in the Reef Spa and a bottle of wine upon arrival in room and the superior premium room includes Alcoholic international beverages offered at all bars, (wine´s and champagne not included), international brands selected by the hotel and access to our private Beach Lounge Bar directly at the beach with personalized service VIP.
You won´t pay 30 usd for a coffee pot only, it would the the total upgraded package.

We are very sorry that this was not clear to you before and during your stay at our resort.

All resorts charge different pricing on the views and so does ours. There is a rate difference between a garden view and an ocean view.

Other options we offer to get coffee are:
1.- At the Miramar restaurant, there is a coffe bar open since 6:30 A.M. to 10:30 P.M
2.- At the Lobby we have the tea time everyday starting at 4:00 P.M.


Our hotel is a family oriented resort with entertainment staff that make activities during day time and shows at night time.

We would like to apolize for the inconviences you experienced at our hotel and we wish you happy future trips.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#52 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 628 reviews
25.0 mi away
Grand Oasis Tulum
Grand Oasis Tulum
#18 of 23 in Akumal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,883 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.0 of 5 bubbles 4,508 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.6 mi away
Barcelo Maya Tropical
Barcelo Maya Tropical
#7 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,303 reviews
23.5 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,200 reviews
20.0 mi away
Grand Palladium Colonial Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Property: The Reef Coco Beach
Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#59 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Priceline, Ebookers, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing