We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Reef Coco Beach
Ranked #102 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 29 May 2014

Stayed at the Reef Coco Beach May 17-24. First of all check in was very quick. All the staff is very friendly. Rooms are clean, but bed was too hard for me, but like a soft bed. The rooms are in need of some TLC, some loose tiles, missing grout, paint chips etc. but rooms were kept clean, and since I'm not in my room a lot, it was ok. The workers are cleaning the pool area all day and into the night to keep it clean.
We upgraded to the premium package to get the Mexican Restaurant included and the premium liquors and beer. The premium liquors were good but the resort needs to have at least one premium beer, which they really didn't. The buffet was great for breakfast. A lot of fresh fruit options, eggs made to order at the omelette station, as well as many other choices. Lunch buffet was ok to good.. I only did the dinner buffet 2 times, it was ok. The Mexican and Italian restaurants were good, but not great. The service everywhere was excellent. The workers were pleasant, helpful, and generally very enjoyable to be around.
This is an inexpensive all inclusive, it is not a 5 star resort. Some spots are run down and in great need of renovation. The entertainment was scheduled for 8:00 PM which was a little early if you were having a nice dinner but we made a few of them. They were ok at best, they tried hard.
Overall we had a very great time, and I would have given the resort 4 stars, but since I've gotten home I've had some stomach issues for 5 days now, and so did others in my party. Luckily it didn't start until after I got home. That reduced it to a 3 star,

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lori_Vacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4,127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,148 - 1,154 of 4,128 reviews

Reviewed 29 May 2014

We were staying at the Reef Coco Beach this April and it was just great. The staff is really hard working and friendly. They always have a smile on their faces and are always willing to help.
We were in both, the Mexican and the Italian restaurant once and the food was simple but delicious. The hotel is really close to the 5th avenue and the city is easy to reach. Overall it is a very nice hotel and we really enjoyed our stay at the Reef Coco Beach! We really had a great time in the hotel and would always come back!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Lisa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Lisa,

Thank you very much for your comment, We are very happy about your nice comments, It is very nice you found our staff friendly and helpful and that you went to both restaurants and you enjoyed the food.
We also have special offers for all our returning guest, so if you decide to come back to visit us any time please contact us directly!
We would be very happy to welcome you here once more.
Warmest regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

we stayed at the reef coco beach from may 10-17th 2014 it was not a pleasant stay
we had construction going on started at 6 am finished at about 11 pm.
rooms were not cleaned properly not enough towels in rooms we had to call and ask for more or find a maid to ask for more.
very little options for food on buffet food was bland or not cooked properly.
all inclusive restaurant specials are not included and no one tells you that before you order waiters were rude and not considerate.
food in the Italian rest was over cooked and bland or very spicy.
music played at pool was very loud so we could not sit outside and enjoy our vacation.
all the hot tubs were not working.
very tiny beach with to many beach chairs.
the beautiful ocean view was full of fishing boat as that is where they docked.
water sports were very limited.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dawna95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write your experience with us.

We are sad to read you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We would like to express our most sincere apology for the noise of the remodeling of our jacuzzi area that we had going on between 9 am and 5 pm during the week you were staying with us. We are happy to share with our future guests that our ocean front jacuzzi area is ready for use. In the meantime of the upgrade we had available the Jacuzzis on the deck of the second floor and we regret you were not properly informed regarding this option.

We always try to please all palates in our buffet restaurant, by serving salads, different main courses, including rice, pastas, potatoes, meat, fish, chicken, pork, seafood, typical Mexican food, fruits & deserts. Unfortunately in this case we were not able to meet up your expectations.

Playa del Carmen is a fishing village, even before the hotel was built, these boats have been there and unfortunately the hotel cannot remove them.

Thanks once again for sharing your comments with us We will take note of the other points you mention to improve our every day operations.
Kind regards,
The Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

This cute little resort has just 200 rooms. It's a great way to meet people. Once we arrived at the hotel the staff was wonderful and Victor at the front desk was amazing and did everything he could to help make your stay so much better. The food was great and with me being a huge milk drinker, the milk was out of this world. The only regret was the beach being so small due the rain from the previous year, but they were working on rebuilding it.

Room Tip: We stayed on the second floor next to the Mexican restaurant, we had a private balcony and then a hu...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lynn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

just returned from couples trip - check in was quick and easy, staff very attentive. Rooms were clean and beds comfy. Pool and pool bar were outstanding. The only complaint I have is the food is not the best but Im not much on foreign food. However, the omelet station was awesome. Its a small resort, 4 days plenty for us, not much to do on the resort. However, you did have the option of purchasing excursions. Enjoyed free 15 min massage by a spa staff member on the beach - and also purchased a spa package....cant go wrong here. Miriam was great! The hotel is within walking distance to 5th avenue shopping and we felt safe walking there. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: tip your housekeeper daily- we gave ours money every day and the room was immaculate.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank mrw42164
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear mrw42164,

We really enjoyed to read your review. Thank you very much for sharing your experience at the resort.

We will be glad to receive welcome you once again at the Reef Coco Beach

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

This is a smaller resort, but quite nice.

Service: The shuttle picked us up at the airport and took us straight to the hotel, no other stops, which was very nice and quick. The lobby staff was quick and efficient. We found the buffet staff rather cool. There was only one girl who smiled and made us feel welcome. The a la carte staff were very professional. There were people who were trying to get us to go to their sister resort for the first 2 days. They were annoying, but they left us alone once we made it clear we were not interested.

Value: This is a nice resort, but I feel that we could have gotten a lot nicer for the same price. There are a few things that I felt could have been better, so that is why I could not give it an excellent rating. You have to pay for the safe. Some of the a la carte items were extras and very expensive.

Sleep Quality: Awful! We had a room that was over the lobby bar. I had to wear ear plugs every night. We should have requested a different room. My bad...

Cleanliness: The facilities were very clean. I did have to tell the staff to pay more attention to the ladies bathroom in the pool area, as it was beginning to smell bad from the waste baskets not being emptied in a timely manner and many ladies do not flush their paper. They did call someone right away to take care of it.

Location: about a 10-15 minute walk to Fifth Avenue in Playa del Carmen (the shopping district) but is far enough away that it is quiet and not bothered with street vendors. Although it is right on the water, the beach is almost non-existent. From the pool area you enter a small sandy area with lounge chairs. These lounge chairs are roped off, as you have to go down a few steps which place you are right in the water.
The pool is very nice and the activities people do their best; however, the small amount of people do not always translate to a full set of teams for water volleyball.

Rooms: very large. Nice balconies sheltered by palm trees so no one could see in even if you left the drapes open.

The beverage selection was very good and good bartenders.

Food: The food was good. There was not as huge a selection as from larger resorts, but we did not have to make a reservation at the a la cartes. The Italian was free, the Mexican was $6 US per plate. Watch out for the "extras" that are not included. The lobster was $60.

Room Tip: DO NOT take rooms 2326 -2335. They are over the lobby bar and are VERY noisy!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank PydaGilmar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear PydaGilmar

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your vacation in our resort The Reef Coco Beach.
We really appreciate your stunning comments about our closeness to the 5th avenue, the beverage selection, good bartenders, pool & beautiful area.

We express our most since apology for the inconvenience you experienced regarding the noise in your room. We wished we would have known, so the front desk or guest service staff would have been able to help you with the problem and change the room.

We will discuss the comments you mention regarding the extras in the a la carte restaurants and the cleanliness of the bathroom in the pool area.

Thank you for your nice words, and if you plan to visit us again anytime, please let us know directly, so you can enjoy our special extras for our returning guests.
Best Wishes

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2014

Amazing. Could not have asked for anything better for the price. The staff was very accommodating. We got there and was assigned to 2 double beds. We requested a king bed and they switched our room immediately. Victor was an amazing bellhop and conversational every time you encountered him. The pool was very big and nice. The pool bar was great but service wasn't too speedy from the pool. There was some particles in the pool but I did see them cleaning it out every morning. The buffet was very good. There were a lot of options. They had many meat choices at every meal including beef, pork, and chicken. There was plenty of sides to choose from as well as fresh fruit and salad. They also had some very good desserts. The Italian restaurant was also very good. It was kind of odd though. You could only get pasta or meat. Not both. Which kind of stunk, but either meal was still very filling. The dessert was delicious there as well! The service in the Italian restaurant was very good! The only downside was the lack of night life. We are 20 years old and were in bed by 11 if not earlier every night.
I could not say enough great things about this resort! It was a great price and every aspect of the resort made us extremely happy. I would not hesitate for a minute to go back there. It was a clean hotel with a beautiful view and delicious drinks. There were only a few children running around. This resort provided everything we asked for and more!

Room Tip: Request a king bed if you need one
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Shelby G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ManagementGCB, Manager at The Reef Coco Beach, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2014

Dear Shelby G,

Thank you very much for your writing this detailed review. We really appreciate you took the time to do this.

Thank you for highlighting the pool size and the quality of the restaurants. We will share your special mention with Victor.

We will be very happy to welcome you back and pamper you with our gifts for repetitive guests.

When the date come up please write us to let us know.

Best Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.3 mi away
Mahekal Beach Resort
Mahekal Beach Resort
#28 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
2,878 reviews
0.9 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,403 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Palm at Playa
The Palm at Playa
#22 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,631 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachside Condo Hotel
The Elements Oceanfront & Beachs...
#90 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
182 reviews
0.9 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#61 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
2.4 mi away
The Reef Playacar
The Reef Playacar
#91 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4,963 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Reef Coco Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Reef Coco Beach

Address: Costera Norte S.N. Lte. 1 Mza. 7, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#51 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#60 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#71 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £116 - £318 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — The Reef Coco Beach 3.5*
Number of rooms: 196
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located just 30 miles south of Cancun, The Reef Cococbeach is the perfect compliment to the white sandy beaches and turquoise waters of this world renowned tropical paradise. Just a short walk from the picturesque town of Playa del Carmen, you will enjoy our personalized service, the privacy you desire in a resort destination and the entertainment of one of the best night life's the Mayan Riviera has to offer.Our location provides easy access to the many attractions the Mayan Riviera has to offer such as Playa del Carmen's famous 5th avenue, Playacar's Bird Sanctuary, Playacar Golf Club, Xcaret, Xel-Ha, Tulum and much, much more.The hotel offers 196 comfortable rooms Caribbean style, our pleasant rooms consist of one king size bed or two double beds, terrace or balcony, air conditioning, ceiling fan, mini fridge, TV,hair dryer, vanity mirror, telephone and bath room with bahttub and shower combination. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Expedia, HotelsClick, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, Ebookers and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your The Reef Coco Beach reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Coco Bay Mexico
Grand Coco Bay Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Grand Coco Bay Riviera Maya
The Reef Coco Beach Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing