We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great gem! located on the beach”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Costa del Mar
Ranked #198 of 211 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Reviewed 23 December 2010

Been to playa four times (so far) . This trip we were forced out of our regular place because
of construction and found this place walking back to get our car. Great value for a place on the beach not to mention free parking and 24/7 security. Good food, drinks, pool, and Steve's dive/snorkle shop just next door. Rooms are very clean and the maids leave you a new
towel animal every day. The A/C works VERY well (not noisy) and lots of hot water when
it gets to your shower. Can be a little loud at night because of the local clubs but WILL BE
BACK!!!

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank crazycabobob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (116)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Costa del Mar
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 117 reviews

Reviewed 18 February 2010

I stayed for 2 nights at the Costa Del Mar. This hotel is very basic. It's in a great location and an ok value for right on the beach, but it is not somewhere I would stay again. It is basically clean (though not spotless), things in the room functioned fine, no internet except in the lobby. But you get what you pay for. I walked up with no pervious reservation and negotiated a room for $70/night USD cash. The receptionist was very friendly and helpful, and very upfront about the fact that the place would be very nosy at night. She was right. It was VERY loud and lasted til about 3:30am. That being said, if you are looking for a basic place to try and sleep, and have a shower while you are in Playa, It's just ok. This place is not the greatest by far, but it's not wholy bad. It's just a room, noisy, and right on the beach.

  • Stayed: February 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TaliaLT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2009

I agree with the other reviewers. We got a fantastic deal. We were stranded in the area after our flights to Cuba were cancelled. It was one of the only hotels in town we could drive up to. The staff were friendly. Great spot right on the beach with deck chair service (love the buckets of beer) and great snacks, all inexpensive. Was a short walk to the strip for food and drinking, although I would get off the strip for the best value and best food.
The picked the room closest to the beach. Big Mistake. At 11pm the music started and not just a bit of noise. It felt like the club was happening in our room. I asked security at 12.30am when it was going to finish and they told me 4.30am and every night at that. The next day we moved to a quieter room. Though I must say the noise was probably drowned out by the sound of the air con which was loud. But better that then doof.
Rooms were basic, but clean. They make fantastic towel sculptures for you everyday. very cute.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anditiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2009

This part of town has been taken over by open air nightclubs that blast music up to 4:30 AM. They don't warn you about this and will offer you a discount if you pay cash for your stay upfront and there is NO REFUND.

The rooms smell mouldy and are starting to fall to pieces because they are clearly going out of business. Of course, this place will suit you if you don't plan on sleeping at night and you want to be right were it is all happening.

  • Stayed: February 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank TNH33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2008

I have stayed here several times, since the mid 80's to be exact. Used to be a quiet beautiful area and beach, with a simple hotel on the beautiful beach. We used to get a couple of beers and sit on chairs on the beach at night and look at the lights of Cozumel and listen to the waves come in.

Over the years however, the owners have tried to compete with the upscale hotels and younger crowd by offering loud (that doesn't even begin to decribe the NOISE) thump thump music and lots of drinking and partying. It is a popular place from midnight till 4AM, so ...

If you want a quiet plush hotel with all the ammenities, then don't stay here. If you don't plan on sleeping at night, have no children or want to just let loose and really party hearty, then this is the place for you.

Food at the bar is good. Beds (as in most hotels in Mexico) are hard as rocks. Facilities are just sparse (no telephone, few good TV channels if you don't speak Spanish), but the owners and workers are really kind and want to be very helpful.

We still stop in a say hi, although we now stay elsewhere where the noise is not loud.

  • Stayed: July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank patyhart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2008

The location of this hotel is my biggest complaint. When we booked, we did not realize it was next to the LOUDEST disco on the beach. The music THUMPED until 4:30 AM. We were near the office on the street side and could still hear the music reverberating through the walls. We got no rest what so ever! I realize this is not the hotel owners problem, but there should be a warning before booking. The room was of normal size . It was very damp and smelly in the room too. We tried to take a shower in the afternoon but quickly discovered they didn't turn on the hot water circulator until 4:30 in the afternoon. Needless to say we had cold showers. The beds were incredibly hard ( not to mention, the box springs were a concrete slab). The office staff was friendly and accomodating. We were close to the beach but their portion was very small and crowded. If you just need a place to store your things while you walk around, it might work for you. but if you plan to actually relax- this is not the place for you.

  • Stayed: February 2008, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank gvgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 December 2007

We were there on the week of Thanksgiving 2007. Had been there the year before. For the price (427 US$ for the week) it is a good deal. Like others said, on the beach, 1 block off 5th Avenue, a good deal.
Had problems with noise on the upper rooms. Talked to front desk after one night, and were moved to a back room (maybe room 23) and the noise disappeared substantially to allow to sleep.
I usually tip service people and they were very attentive. Ask for more towels if you need to, and they will give them to you.
Food at El Pirata is fairly good for the price.
I will go back when I go back to Playa.

  • Stayed: November 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guille351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.2 mi away
Caracol Suite Hotel
Caracol Suite Hotel
#185 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
116 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#118 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
212 reviews
1.3 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#145 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
167 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#149 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
303 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Patio Hotel & Suites
El Patio Hotel & Suites
#143 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
37 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
Hotel Hacienda Maria Bonita
#136 of 211 in Playa del Carmen
253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Costa del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Costa del Mar

Address: Calle 1 Norte Entre 10 Y 12, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#95 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £37 - £227 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Costa del Mar 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Evoline ltd, Cancelon, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Costa del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Costa Del Mar Hotel
Costa Del Mar Playa Carmen
Hotel Costa Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing