We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mimi del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Ranked #125 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
23 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Meh”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 July 2014 via mobile

Nice view. Check
Comfortable bed. Check
Sandy beach. Check
That is all.
Breakfasts average, staff constantly trying to cheat us (we had breakfasts included in a package holiday but the rules for it changed every day.. E.g. One day toast is in the package the other day it's not...really????)

Other staff tried to be nice but the main guy tricked us and did not take responsibility for screwing up our day-trip.
Also the cleaning staff kept putting the envelope for tips more more on the center of the table as if saying "tip me already!".
Let me remind you: this hotel is not really cheap.
Meh

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KasiaWu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    64
    30
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
83
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

first time we visited mexico, we stayed here. at this small hotel right on the beach. i payed a little bit extra to get the ocean-front-room and WOW, what a view! Amazing.
the hotel wasent extremely clean, nothing special acctually. kind of low standard but the view made the whole trip very special. im giving it 5-star because of the view AND the extremely serviceminded Raul who works in the bar. He is the best :)!

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Portland, Oregon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 March 2014 via mobile

Where to start, well after reading many reviews (positive and negative) I have to say everything the positive reviews say (4 stars and above) are true.
Great location, attentive service, clean rooms, fantastic beach area and so on. We actually were staying in one of the all inclusive hotels when we arrived (a pretty nice one at that) about a 15 - 20 minute cab ride south of Playa Del Carman but decided to check for rooms in Playa so as to be closer to where we would likely end up each day.
Keep in mind a cab ride into Playa is about $22.00 (US) each way from our all inclusive which hit a little hard when we discovered we had forgotten our cell phones (which we used primarily for photos) back at the hotel the first day we went into Playa, a $50.00 opp's.
While checking out a few hotels in Playa Del Carman we stumbled onto Hotel Mimi Del Mar while walking on the beach just 2 or 3 blocks south of the ferry dock.
The appeal from the beach was plenty of lounge chairs with umbrella's, beachfront service, what appeared to be a smaller scale more quaint hotel with thatched roofs and a few rooms with beachfront balconies.
When we walked up to check it out we met Rene. He spoke good English, was polite, direct (we didn't feel any hustle) and answered our questions. When it came to price they were just coming into high season but were willing to adjust slightly when we said we were interested in 4 nights midweek. Rene gave us low season pricing, which we appreciated, otherwise we would have continued our search.
As luck would have it one of the rooms with a balcony had just become available and after looking at it we both felt "This IS the place"...we were right!
After booking our room and deciding to move from our all all inclusive it dawned on me Mimi Del Mar was right next to a bar that had live music. I was concerned we may have made a mistake thinking the bar would be loud until 1:00 or 2:00 in the morning making it impossible to sleep. To my delight that wasn't the case at all. In fact, the bar had great local live music during the day and a band at night, both of which we really liked. The music shut down around 10:00 or maybe 11:00 but was never an issue.
Again, read all the positive reviews and you'll get a good idea of what to expect. Look at all the pictures and they represent what you'll encounter. If your looking for 5 Star amenities go elsewhere. These are all good people providing good service so as to provide for their own families. If you want "Real" you will have come to the right place. I have to admit there were a few times I felt we were coming across a bit to needy but everyone there was willing to help in any way they could and I hope they felt we tipped appropriately for how we were treated.
We couldn't wait to share our experience with our family and friends back home and suggest to them that the next time we go to Playa that we book 4 or 5 rooms at Hotel Mimi Del Mar for our stay (and hope it remains the same with staff and experience).
A heartfelt "Thank You" to everyone at Hotel Mimi Del Mar - for us YOU ARE a 5-Star hotel....exactly what we were looking for in ALL respects!

Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
5 Thank Gary H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newport Beach, California
Level Contributor
105 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 January 2014

On my prior visits to Playa - I have always got a massage right here in front of the hotel and wanted to stay here. This time I did for 3 nights in Jan 2014. It is conveniently located on the beach down 4th off 5th Ave. It is close to the ADO Station which is near 2nd. The hotel is a great location and right on the beach, close to everything. I love the fact you are close to everything you can want and it is one of the nicest white sand beach in the area. Chairs and umbrellas are available.
It is one of the best deals in the area - esp. for the location right on the beach.
Rooms are avg size and clean. There is a small kitchen and there is a TV and also air-con.
If you are renting a car they have a private parking lot right behind the hotel with free parking, which was nice.
It has a little pool there - basically a small dip pool and also if you go to the front they offer beach towels.
While there I did not notice any kids or people using the pool - or I don't know about the bathrooms there. But did not seem to be a problem, so that can be hit or miss.
I found the staff friendly and helpful on anything needed, and made good recommendations on hotels and things to do.
There was free wifi and speed was really great.
Most of the other hotels are on 5th Ave - or around and are the same or a higher rate and don't offer being on the beach.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend for couples or friends traveling together and looking for something simple - not romantic - but location location is best. The rooms are not large enough and suitable really for families.

  • Stayed January 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank surfcali
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ILLINOIS
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 November 2013

We just got back from Mimi Del Mar hotel and loved it!! We've been staying at all inclusives in playa for the last 7 years and we wanted to try something different. We even took the city bus from the airport and back, it is called the ADO bus line and its only $10 each way. Mimi del mar is great because it is right in the middle of all the action! Its right next door the "bad boys" beach bar and also a few doors down from "wha wha " beach bar which are two really fun places with good bands on Thurs and Sat. nights from 5:00-10:00. They are a lot of fun and very upbeat places. If your a pool person, this is not the hotel for you. The pool is more for decoration that use. We drank alittle from our hotel, but within 1/2 block was a little market and had bottles of beer for $1.50 compared to $3.00 on the beach-its all in what you wanna do. If you have any questions please email me.

Room Tip: They only have 18 rooms, I highly suggest the Ocean front and leave your slider open to hear the oce...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TJONES7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
US
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 September 2013

Really like this place. It's small and relatively inexpensive considering its location in town on the beach, the part that doesn't have a methane smell like the far end. Lounges are free; waiters do hawk you to buy drinks but you get used to it. Massage is the new thing and they hawk for that too but "just say no," if that's not your thing. I liked it, although Playa is very commercial now but lots of fun for those who want exciting nightlife.

Room Tip: all rooms have a view of ocean but two in front are quite spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mateoUs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
vegas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 September 2013

Between Cancun and playa del mar, I choose playa del mar. This hotel is just amazing. The owners/managers are very cool and friendly. The drinks and food is just amazing. I love everything about this hotel. I wish I could buy a room for the rest of my life. The view is amazing, the services! Everything is amazing!

  • Stayed August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank superpipelonchis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#143 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 289 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#95 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 189 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#78 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mimi del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimi del Mar

Property: Hotel Mimi del Mar
Address: Mza 2 1a. Norte Zona Federal Maritima Lote 1-A | Centro, ZP, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #125 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mimi del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in one of the best locations in Playa del Carmen...Mimi del Mar has 19 rooms all with kitchenettes, air condition, ceiling fans, cable tv, balcony or terrace, bathroom with shower, hot and cold water, daily maid service, we have our own snack bar on the beach for a good breakfast with fresh orange juice, later for shrimp cocktails, ceviches, refreshing beverages, coconuts and more, (lounge chairs with umbrellas, beach towels, wifi, safety deposit boxes, parking lot...for free), swimming pool and most important...PERSONAL SERVICE! We are where only small properties are, we are not an All Inclusive hotel, therefore feel free to go whatever you want because we are one block away from the popular and famous 5th Avenue where you can find almost everything, from mexican handycrafts to diamonds, this avenue changes at nite. Optional services: Tours to Xcaret, Xel-ha, swimming with Dolphins etc. airport-hotel-airport transportation and more...welcome to your home away from home...your Host Rene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Mimi del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimi Del Mar Hotel
Mimi Del Mar Playa Carmen
Hotel Mimi Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing