We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Nearby Hotels
US$229
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
BlueBay Grand Esmeralda(Playa del Carmen)
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$310
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$285
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$227
Melia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$605
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$589
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
US$320
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya(Playa del Secreto)(Great Value!)
US$413
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$344
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Fairmont Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$564
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$415
Orbitz.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Beachfront
US$211
HotelsClick
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Rosewood Mayakoba(Playa del Carmen)
US$806
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$702
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Grand Velas Riviera Maya(Playa del Carmen)
US$1,434
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$940
Bookit.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (182)
Filter reviews
182 results
Traveller rating
52
73
35
9
13
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
73
35
9
13
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall kitchenettenight stay at hotelprivate parkingbasic hotelpico de galloocean viewthe location is perfectrecommend staying herebus stationbeach barbeach servicecevichegreat drinkssandaverenefridge
Filter
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 182 reviews
Reviewed 3 February 2010

The positive: Location, location, location. The reconstructed beach is big and beautiful, and Hotel Mimi del Mar is right there!

The negative: When we checked in, the manager explained that there was a problem with the laundry and would we mind using the same beach towels for a couple of days. Except that we never got any beach towels. When we went to the front desk, we were told to come back later and when we returned later, we were told that we should have come earlier. We paid extra for continental breakfast, which ended up being white toast and watery orange juice. Not even coffee, as we were told the coffee machine was broken. There was no hot water the first two days and then no water at all. When we went to the front desk, the manager was nowhere to be found. Instead he left a memo explaining that, in order to fix the hot water, all the water needed to be turned off. When we asked about what to do for a toilet, we were told to "wait, I guess." When the water came back on nearly 8 hours later, there was still no hot water. And we checked out and moved to the magical Mahekal.

We have stayed in Playa before and have always been impressed by the service and consideration. But not at Hotel del Mimi where the management just doesn't care.

  • Stayed: January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank drewfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 November 2009

We loved the location on the beach and right in Playa del Carmen, walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed: March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SaintsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2009

All the other reviews say it all, it is the best small beach hotel close to everything. Great staff, great food nice rooms and pool. A great gem of a beach hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dtx75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2009

For the price of the room, I am not sure you get your money's worth. It is
on the beach, s few blocks from the ferry, but the room and the ammenities
were minimal for what they charged. I think you could get better for the
same price down the beach.

The hotel is not accessable from the street, and you have to walk to the
end of either 2nd or 4th and then walk across the sand to reach the hotel.
When you are dragging two bags of dive gear and a luggage bag across the
sand, it makes it a bit of a pain. But we wanted beachfront and we got it.


We were on the first floor, and our patio faced the main walkway from the
beach. The room was all tile, and had a kitchenette in the front. The only
eating table was the patio table. The bathroom was very small, and the
shower was small and has pressure problems. Because our room was at the
end of the walkway of the hotel, everyone could look in as they approached
their own rooms. Normally, this would not be a big issue, but our drapes
were too small for the window, and only covered over half of our sliding
door to our patio. So we had this big gap of open window into our room the
entire stay. We could not change in the bedroom and had to change in the
bathroom for privacy.

The kitchenette comes with a fridge and an electric stove top. They have
pots and pans and the utensils needed. There is a large grocery store
about a 15 minute walk from the hotel. The hotel also has a restaurant
(breakfast and lunch only) and bar on the beach, and the stay (if booked
thru the hotel directly) includes breakfast. We had lunch there a few
days. The beer was very cold and the tacos were great. There is also a
small pool in the center area, but is shaded most of the day and pretty
cold.

The AC works great in the room and the TV has cable, with lots of English
channels. There is a safe in the closet, but one of those old
key-in-removable-lock safes. You have to either leave $100 or credit card
imprint as a deposit for the safe key. You can also sign out beach towels
at the front desk. If you bring chargers to charge cameras or video
cameras or cell phones, there are only 3 outlets available in the room.
Bring your own blow dryer if you use one. They do not have any. Also,
bring your own shampoos or you can buy some at the stores in the area. All
they provide is little soaps in the bathroom.

Like any beach hotel, what I enjoyed about this hotel was that I could hear
the ocean waves on the sand at night, and it was nice and quiet.

We picked this hotel because it had good reviews over the years. I would
probably not use this hotel again, but I would not tell you not to stay
there. If you like the small boutique hotels with no frills, then you may
like this one. It is very popular with Europeans, as there were several
staying there during our stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ScubaCF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 March 2009

Just returned from a great stay at Mimi del Mar. The hotel location is unbelievable! Not only is it on the beach, it is only 1 block from 5th Ave, and only 3 or 4 blocks from the ADO bus station. It was great having a restaurant on premises with good beer/drink prices! The room was above average for Mexico--large and spacious with a balcony that looked out onto the ocean. All rooms come with a kitchenette, which is very nice even if you only use the frig.

After reading all the reviews about lost reservations, we called 1 week ahead of time to verify our reservation and were very glad to have cleared up any confusion before arriving! I would definitely recommend to double check your reservation beforehand.

I would definitely recommend staying here (or another hotel) versus doing an all inclusive resort. There are so many beautiful restaurants serving outstanding food on 5th Ave! It would be a shame to have to miss out on them.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rxkin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews