We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pleasant Stay At the Mimi - Again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Mimi del Mar

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Ranked #124 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Austin, TX
Level Contributor
130 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Pleasant Stay At the Mimi - Again!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 May 2010

My girlfriend and I just returned from our third stay at the Mimi Del Mar, and once again, we really enjoyed ourselves and their hospitality. We love Playa, and I'm a creature of habit, so when we planned our trip, it was easy to choose the Mimi again. For affordability and rustic coziness, in addition to beachfront location, it's pretty hard to beat.

I try to prepare myself for any potential snafus that arise when traveling, and certainly no vacation is perfect. There was some confusion about the room we reserved, but that was quickly resolved upon arrival. We checked in and started enjoying wonderful Playa.

The work done on the beach in front of the Mimi is wonderful. It's been rebuilt, and the sand is beautiful. Since we arrived at the end of the high season, there were a couple of days where there were good crowds, a couple of days where we had it all to ourselves. The hotel was also in low occupancy, which I know isn't good for them, but it makes us feel like we are not part of a huge tourist crowd.

Our room was very well taken care of. Service was daily and outstanding. Staff was friendly and courteous to us, smiling and waving every day we saw them. We bring our own blankets to hang in the large sliding glass window so we can sleep a little later - caution Playa newbies, the sun comes up at 6:15 and it's in your room if you don't cover the windows. The Mimi has small TV's with cable, which I love - because late at night, I'm a flipper and I love to watch Spanish TV. I also love the rattle and hum of the wall-unit A/C. It's cold, and the bed is firm, clean and was easy for us to sleep on.

When we left, there was some confusion about our transportation to the airport, but that was also worked out. One thing that is important to me when I travel is customer service. If I have a problem, for my money I want to feel like I am taken care of and that someone is paying attention. Mimi does that, and when I explained to her what had happened, she made everything right by us.

To summarize - for rustic, cozy affordability on the beach, the Mimi is a great place. Great food nearby, close to all the shopping of 5th Avenue and far enough away from the discos. Very good service. They could pay more attention to detail, but nobody's perfect. This is not a resort. If you want something fancy, I'm sure there's something else for you that's also way more expensive. For my money, I'll take the Mimi.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank musictraveler40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    44
    65
    31
    8
    11
See reviews for
20
84
12
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
oslo
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2010

I´ve been to Mimi four times during spring break and celebrated christmas there twice!!
This place is simply beautiful, but there is one must.
You have to require an OCEAN FRONT room in advance (there are only 2).
I miss waking up to the view from the huge terrace every day!!
The rooms and the hotel in general could benefit of some updating, but the view and the location makes up for any flaw the hotel may have.
The location is perfect. The hotel is right on the beach and only one block away from 5th avenue. 5th provides you with tons of shopping, nightlife, atmosphere and restaurants.
This hotel is not for people who needs extremely good service and every thing adjusted to their needs. This is a hotel for people who cares about location and atmosphere!!
This place is so great that we take the trouble to travel the 20 h trip from norway almost every year, even with a one year old...

  • Stayed March 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank clara_hverven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Indiana
Level Contributor
15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

This is a difficult review because the hotel itself is old and not well maintained but the room was clean enough and we had one of two oceanfront rooms with a huge, private balcony. We left the balcony door open all the time and had a breeze with the rear window open. It was quiet too. I don't know if there are other hotels with private, ocean front rooms and a kitchen for $170! But, there were tiny, tiny ants that came out in the kitchen if one little crumb was out and the kitchen furnishings were sparse. We bought dish soap and washed everything. You have to buy bottled water at this hotel but that was o.k. with us. The biggest problem was that the hot water was luke warm when we arrived and then went to cold and they even turned it off completely for several hours on two different days to repair. This was not acceptable service in our opinion and they offerred us nothing in return. You don't get breakfast included unless you book directly through the hotel but the one we purchase wasn't good anyway. We loved Playa del Carmen and this location on the beach. Since the beach restoration there is plenty of room on the sand and the small size of the hotel helps the beach area not be croweded. Bad Boys Beach Club next door has good food and the live music from 5-9 on Thurs. and Sat. was great! If you're looking for a no frills hotel in a good location for a good price, you'll like this. We had to move to the Alhambra hotel down the beach for one night. The rooms were much nicer but we were on a side street with noise and less privacy so had to keep the room closed up with the air conditioner running. I'd rather have the ocean front, quiet room at the Mimi.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovetovacation010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ohio
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 February 2010

We have stayed at Mimi on 2 occasions. I admit it isn't a fancy place but we have been treated very well and really enjoyed our stays. Our last stay occurred at the time of the beach restoration in mid January and although that was a bummer for everyone on the beach, they helped us out with an upgraded room and were very apologetic about the situation. The breakfast of eggs, bacon, toast, juice and coffee is fine to get your day started. I have never been denied the breakfast or towels while there. Drinking water is not supplied so you must go shopping for it every couple days at Walmart or Mega for the big jugs. The location is as good or better than any hotel there. I have heard that the Manager, Rene Garcia, who we really liked , is no longer there and we will miss him. We do however look forward to staying there again.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rickscottOhio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York, USA
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2010

The positive: Location, location, location. The reconstructed beach is big and beautiful, and Hotel Mimi del Mar is right there!

The negative: When we checked in, the manager explained that there was a problem with the laundry and would we mind using the same beach towels for a couple of days. Except that we never got any beach towels. When we went to the front desk, we were told to come back later and when we returned later, we were told that we should have come earlier. We paid extra for continental breakfast, which ended up being white toast and watery orange juice. Not even coffee, as we were told the coffee machine was broken. There was no hot water the first two days and then no water at all. When we went to the front desk, the manager was nowhere to be found. Instead he left a memo explaining that, in order to fix the hot water, all the water needed to be turned off. When we asked about what to do for a toilet, we were told to "wait, I guess." When the water came back on nearly 8 hours later, there was still no hot water. And we checked out and moved to the magical Mahekal.

We have stayed in Playa before and have always been impressed by the service and consideration. But not at Hotel del Mimi where the management just doesn't care.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank drewfromnyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 November 2009

We loved the location on the beach and right in Playa del Carmen, walking distance to everything!

  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SaintsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dallas
Level Contributor
57 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 September 2009

All the other reviews say it all, it is the best small beach hotel close to everything. Great staff, great food nice rooms and pool. A great gem of a beach hotel.

  • Stayed September 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dtx75220
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
1.1 mi away
Popol Vuh
Popol Vuh
#125 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
0.1 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#143 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
Hotel Posada Sian Ka'an
#93 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#119 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vista Caribe
Hotel Vista Caribe
#102 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 257 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#79 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 229 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mimi del Mar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mimi del Mar

Property: Hotel Mimi del Mar
Address: Mza 2 1a. Norte Zona Federal Maritima Lote 1-A | Centro, ZP, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #124 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Mimi del Mar 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We are in one of the best locations in Playa del Carmen...Mimi del Mar has 19 rooms all with kitchenettes, air condition, ceiling fans, cable tv, balcony or terrace, bathroom with shower, hot and cold water, daily maid service, we have our own snack bar on the beach for a good breakfast with fresh orange juice, later for shrimp cocktails, ceviches, refreshing beverages, coconuts and more, (lounge chairs with umbrellas, beach towels, wifi, safety deposit boxes, parking lot...for free), swimming pool and most important...PERSONAL SERVICE! We are where only small properties are, we are not an All Inclusive hotel, therefore feel free to go whatever you want because we are one block away from the popular and famous 5th Avenue where you can find almost everything, from mexican handycrafts to diamonds, this avenue changes at nite. Optional services: Tours to Xcaret, Xel-ha, swimming with Dolphins etc. airport-hotel-airport transportation and more...welcome to your home away from home...your Host Rene ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Odigeo so you can book your Hotel Mimi del Mar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mimi Del Mar Hotel
Mimi Del Mar Playa Carmen
Hotel Mimi Del Mar Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing