We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Playa Maya---Every visit feels like home.”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #95 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
69 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Playa Maya---Every visit feels like home.”
Reviewed 18 October 2012

My girlfriend and I have been visiting Playa since 2006. The first years, 2006 and 2007, we stayed at the big resorts. They were ok since we really didn't know the area well. In 2007 we started exploring the downtown hotels, and with the help of Tripadvisor, we found the Playa Maya.
Our first stay was in 2008, and from the start we knew we had made the right decision. The location is great, the staff is super friendly, rooms are spacious, and the ocean is right outside the door. We always stay in the Jr. Suite with kitchenette. We also like that a nice breakfast is included with the room. What we really like is that the staff has remained pretty much the same throughout our visits. It's nice to see familiar faces. Everyone is so nice and helpful. We're looking forward to our 6th stay in a row March of 2013. The Playa Maya is definitely the best small downtown hotel in Playa.We look forward to returning every year.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ghbeatle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
304
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 September 2012

We just returned from a 3 days stay at the Playa Maya hotel. The owners, do everything possible to see that you have a wonderful stay. The hotel it is quiet and peaceful. Great value, great people and we hope to return.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank keith m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dayton, Ohio
Level Contributor
67 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 September 2012

This was our second visit to this hotel. We returned because of the service, the location and the price. This hotel is right on the beach. There is no street access, but the staff is always present to help with the luggage and there is no street traffic with which to contend. Breakfast is included in the cost of the room. The outdoor setting provides a wonderful atmosphere to eat breakfast and sip your coffee. Lunch is not included in the cost of the room, but the food is delicious and it is very convenient to lounge on the beach, under your umbrella, and have the staff bring your lunch and drinks. The hotel is close to everything in Playa del Carmen. The staff is extremely accommodating and friendly. They helped with our booking several excursions (Tulum and Chichen Itza) with excellent results. Because we left for the excursions before the kitchen opened, they provided boxed meals for us to take. We like the deluxe balcony rooms, worth the extra expense!

  • Stayed July 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank browns_1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sunapee, nh
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 August 2012

I've been to Playa del Carmen a couple of times. Looked at the everything included places but they are not my thing (you miss meeting people and the better places to eat). First time I went to Playa we stayed on the edge of town. Second time I was there I chose the Playa Maya because of location. It is right on the beach and in the center of town but because it is not on any street it was quiet. That's right, no road frontage. You get to the hotel walking in front of the hotel next door. I tried a number of rooms during my stay. My brother and his family had one room the whole time. Breakfast on the water, mango margaritas in the afternoon and the best dive shop I found in Playa (Tank Ha) launches right next to beachfront of the hotel. Its been a couple of years since I've been there but the manager was the son-in-law of the owner. He was American. The wifi was sketchy at best when we there. I trust it is probably more robust these days. All in all. If you like finding your way around, this is a great place to base out of.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank travelinshoesnh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
houston
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2012

very good hotel very well located. the staff is nice and the service is perfect. I recommend it to every family who would like to spend great days and nights in Playa del carmen! The view is beautiful and the access to the activities is eays from the hotel.

Stayed August 2012, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
4 Thank reese w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
tulsa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 August 2012

We stayed for 7 nights from May 14-21 in a deluxe balcony room on the second floor. The hotel staff was wonderful and the breakfast and lunch was delicious. Perfect location, unbeatable price, awesome hotel.

The only complaint, is that I found the bed to be a little on the firm side for my liking. I would prefer a softer bed.. I wonder if the beds are the same in all of the rooms?

We will stay here again when we visit Playa.

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank terzaghi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 July 2012

Hotel staff was friendly. Rooms are very plain but super clean and ours came with a beautiful view. We never got hot water but didnt really matter to us since we were coming in from being so hot outside. The hotel restaurant has great food & a pretty good breakfast which is included in the stay. The location couldn't be better. We could walk out onto the beach and were also a short walk from 5th Avenue. Definitely a great place to stay during your trip to Playa!

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CChitwood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#71 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 238 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,395 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#128 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 160 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 829 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#66 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing