We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Funky and Cool Beach Experience”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #102 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Las Vegas, Nevada
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
“Funky and Cool Beach Experience”
Reviewed 21 November 2013

This is my second stay at Playa Maya...and will not be my last! What you read in the reviews is true. The pleasant staff and outstanding on-the-beach location can not be beat. If you are looking for an ultra luxurious place, then Playa Maya is not for you. If you are looking for a fun place where the people treat you well, very quiet during the evening, then Playa Maya is your kind of place. The staff here actually cares for their guests and it shows. Oh, the Playa Maya restaurant is a nice touch!

Downsides: no elevators to the upper floors, the pool area is very limited, towels are limited, the AC is turned off after the room is cleaned so the room is HUMID when you return, the small size limits amenities, can be difficult to locate on an initial visit, the AC and hot water heater can rattle. These things may actually add to the character of the place!

Room Tip: Rooms 302, 301, 202 and 201 have the best ocean views. Book long in advance to get a good room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pasadenajim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
109
305
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 November 2013

So it had been 5 or 6 years since we had last been to Playa Maya (and we think this was either our 4th or 5th time staying at Playa Maya!!!) The minute we got there it was as if we'd never been away; it was EXACTLY as we remembered, and we couldn't have been happier about that! From our check-in w/Pedro, to the cleanliness of our room each day and the wonderful towel art by Ruby, to the exceptional service at the restaurant by Jesus, Luciano, Carlos, Racile and everyone, to the wonderful beach/chair/umbrella attendants, we couldn't have had a better time. The staff is so friendly and accommodating and really goes out of their way to make sure you're happy and enjoying yourself. We feel as if we're all friends. It's the little things like bringing me my "te' negro" at breakfast before I have to ask for it. Menu has plenty to choose from each day. The comp breakfast is great if you just want to stick to that. The fish tacos are wonderful at lunchtime! The location is hard to beat and you wake up each day looking at the beautiful ocean. We enjoyed staying at the hotel for breakfast and lunch then venturing out to 5th Ave. for the shops and dinner. We were surprised by an upgrade when we got there and would recommend room 201. Thanks Stephen!!! Snorkeled a bit one day right in front of the hotel. Saw a few critters. The beach was much nicer than we remembered. Nice and sandy and no rocks as you walk out to the water. I felt safe the one night I walked back by myself (husband had to have one last cigar before we left!) as I knew the guard was there. Can’t wait to get back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank wannabeprincess49
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helena, Montana
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2013

our playa maya experience was pleasant from start to finish. stephen went out of his way to accommodate some difficult traveling snafu's that we had. the location was perfect. the beach was perfect. the service was excellent. the room was comfortable and the view spectacular. all the staff were wonderful. we so enjoyed our towel art and it became very ornate at times with fresh flowers/greenery as well as using every towel in the room! the coconut shrimp lived up to it's billing - wish i had ordered it more - and the complementary breakfasts were good and filling. room was very clean, plenty of hot water and a/c. made many new friends as well. can't think of a bad thing to say except i wish the restaurant had been open for dinner.

Room Tip: look at the website. the rooms/views pictured are exactly what you get.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank shawnda w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denver, Colorado
Level 5 Contributor
84 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Playa Maya is a nice little hotel right on the beach! We went with a group of 6 and had a lovely time.

Location: It is hard to find the first time, not a lot of the locals have even heard of this hotel. The only access to the hotel is down 8th Street and then take a right on the beach. It is the second hotel on your right. It is centrally located, one block off of 5th Avenue and a 5 to 10 minute walk to the Cozumel ferry. If you are driving there is not a lot of parking in the downtown area. You will have to park a few blocks away on city streets and then walk as there are not cars allowed on 8th Street past 6th Avenue. You can drive down to drop off your luggage but only for a few minutes.

Staff: The staff was amazing! Love the guys who serve breakfast and help you with your beach chair set up. They help us carry our luggage and were very accommodating with recommendations and service! The housekeeping staff was lovely, they swept the room everyday, gave fresh towels and even made a different towel animal each day.

Rooms: We had a Deluxe Terrace with Hammock (room 202) but I think we were upgraded because we reserved a Deluxe Balcony. Not a big upgrade but a great view. I would recommend a Deluxe Balcony because you get a balcony for two people instead of one person and you are not right below someone's bathroom window. They were big rooms with nice bathrooms. Not the best bed and pillows but hay for the price it was ok.

Food: They do offer complimentary breakfast each morning from 8:00 am. to 11:00 a.m. at tables right on the beach with your toes in the sand. They have a full menu but the comp breakfast is limited to a few selections, 1) pancakes or waffles with fruit and a breakfast meat, 2) eggs, beans, toast, sometimes a fried potato hash brown, and breakfast meat, or 3) Fruit and toast. All are served with a juice and coffee or tea. The food was hot, good and made to order so no complaints. We did branch off of the comp breakfast and had their chilaquiles with chicken and eggs which were very good! As for lunch, they serve at the tables or at your beach chair. The tacos (both fish and steak), nachos, ceviche (tons of fresh seafood) and green salad were all good. I assume a lot of the other things on the menu are as well.

All and all a lovely little boutique hotel.

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank deelovnco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Phoenix, Arizona
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2013

Ditto all of the good reviews here. Those who write a bad review of this place like to complain and are not going to have a good time anywhere they go. Playa Maya is a small, quaint, quiet, relaxing hotel, so if you want the big all-inclusive resort experience with multiple pools and activities on the property, this is not the place for you. The pool is tiny, and we did not go in it....no need to with the sparkling ocean just a few feet away. The rooms are clean, we had Room 301, which is in my opinion, has the best view. The balcony is small, but easily seats two people and when you are staring out at the beautiful Caribbean, who really cares how big the balcony is? The free breakfast is great, service always prompt and accommodating. I absolutely loved spending afternoons on the beach, where we were waited on with ginormous plates of delicious coconut shrimp and cocktails. The 2-for-1 drinks are heavily watered down though, so we stayed away from those. The beach is nice, not the best in the area, but still beautiful. You can parasail and jet ski right in front of the hotel. I highly recommend parasailing. The location can't be beat, just steps away from all the shops, restaurants and bars. Also a short walk to the ferry, which made it very convenient for our dives in Cozumel. Riviera Maya has so many amazing sights and Playa Maya's location made it easy to see just about everything we had set out to do. Would stay here again in a heartbeat.

Room Tip: Best views are Rooms 201 and 301.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CMack629
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
australia
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 November 2013

We were a group of 6, 4 adults and 2 children aged 7 years. Playa maya was superb in every way. The service was amazing, the hotel exactly how we like it, and the food sensation. The staff at Playa must be recognized as being super friendly, accommodating and wickedly amusing.
The location is second to none, 5th avenue being 3 minute walk, the beach beautiful and activities readily available. We loved Playa Maya and wished we were still there. Would go back in a blink of an eye

  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank monollyAustralia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Perth, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 October 2013

Fabulous little hotel. I stayed here with my boyfriend and another couple, all of us loved it. We were only meant to stay for 5 nights but extended our stay for another week.
Service was great, all the staff were lovely and our rooms were always cleaned beautifully with different towel art to look forward to every day! Food is delicious!!! and beach service top notch. I would definitely recommend this place to anyone staying in Playa Del Carmen.

Room Tip: I don't really think it matters too much what room you stay in as most days you're out on th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 484SarahF484
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#146 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
294 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#120 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
204 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#134 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Los Itzaes Hotel
Los Itzaes Hotel
#79 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
142 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
400 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#22 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
842 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#70 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing