We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Vacation Ever!!”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #99 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Our week at the Playa Maya was better than we ever expected. The staff was attentive, friendly and always professional. Our room was immaculate, we are both VERY picky about cleanliness, and we were unable to find any area of the room that wasn't spotless. We stayed in room 302, we had an amazing view, and we enjoyed a lot of time on the balcony. In the morning, we enjoyed coffee on the beach, served by the friendly staff. We ordered the coconut shrimp, which I must say was AMAZING!! As were the taco's and nacho's. We didn't have a single menu item that we didn't fully enjoy, but the shrimp was our favourite. We enjoyed being on the beach, and close to Fifth Ave. The Playa Maya is also walking distance to the Walmart which was very convenient for stocking our fridge with snacks for the day. We are already planning our next visit to the Playa Maya. Our only negative experience was the music from the nightclub up the beach. Fortunately it was only played on the weekend, and it was turned off at a reasonable hour.

Room Tip: Room 302 had a great view of the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank bradandkathyp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (668)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

138 - 144 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 27 March 2014

Our second time , and it couldn't have been better. The location is next to none.
The staff did not change one employee that I saw in a year's time. The food is as good as
anywhere in Playa that we've been in 10 trips there over the years, and better than most. Rooms are impeccably clean, with water available everywhere.
During recent construction on a nearby hotel, the owners, one of whom arrived while we were
there, consulted and compensated each and every guest in the hotel.
It is that concern that prompts us to return to this hotel as dedicated return customers.
Most owners would do nothing.
I will not consider staying in any other hotel in Playa del Carmen.

Room Tip: Just choose according to the bed configuration you need, and higher up depending on the view you des...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank PDXTK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2014

We spent the last weeks of February at this hotel and to say the least,the the location on the beach was perfect as was the service.
Stayed in room 302 and everything was just fine although room 301 would have been even better.
If there is anything negative it had to be the beach (rocky) and the fact that the restaurant closes for orders at 5:30pm. It really would have been nice to have supper directly on the ocean! All in all it was worth the money.

Room Tip: Rooms 201,202,301 and 302
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank recneps8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 February 2014

This was our first time at a non all inclusive and we went with my wife having great reservations about weather she would like it. At the end of the day it was a great place to stay for the both of us.

The reason we wanted a non all inclusive was so that we could enjoy some of the fabulous restaurants on and near 5th ave. After reading all the great reviews on Playa Maya and the fact it was right on the beach and we could get a ocean front/ocean view room for less then half of what it would cost to stay at a good AI we made the commitment for 10 nights.

The rooms I would describe as very clean and in over all great condition. If you are looking for marble bathrooms and a Jacuzzi in your room this might not be the place for you. If you are looking for a good size room, a very clean room, a great view, a nice beach and a front desk staff that was/is better then at any AI you will stay at then this just might be for you
.
At the front desk you have Arely, Pablo and Fernando that all do a great job of helping with anything you need and the lady that did a wonderful job keeping our room in order was Agelina. Out on the beach you have a great crew that is always there to help you get a chair a drink or some delicious food from the restaurant and doing it with a smile.

If you are ready to try a non all inclusive this is a wonderful place to start. I can not think of one thing that I would really change before we come here a second time.

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank volleyball-Jim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2014

This is truly an overdue review as my husband and I stayed at Playa Maya back in June 2013 for 7 nights. This was our first Mexico trip and did not want want to be disappointed, sick, and/or be in an all inclusive hotel. I came across reviews of PM and decided to book it. Now we have low expectations and was not expecting a luxory hotel. I went ahead and booked PM for our trip. The owner was very pleasant to work with ( you register through email only). After everything was booked we arrived to the hotel.

Front Desk: Entrance is in front of beach. Check in was smooth and easy. We requested for a Cenote tour and had the available information. Much cheaper than what we been searching online. Forgot their names but very friendly and always saying Hola every time we walked in/out.

Room: Very Clean! Our room was right behind the front desk. I was worried that it might be too loud but we went during the low season so it was not an issue. The beds were hard but I asked the housekeeping to give me 3 layers of foam mattress toppers. It helped a LOT! No issues at all except for bathroom which is my fault. I didn't know Mexico has a low water issue. The bathroom didn't flush but little did I know i had to hold the handle down a little bit longer. Fridge stocked with water and beer. Has basic cable tv and a little balcony. A/C worked fine. I really enjoyed the towel art every day.

Restaurant: OMG! Where do I start?!?! I have to say they have THE BEST COCONUT SHRIMP & Ceviche ever! The reviews do NOT lie. I was sorta hesitant about the reviews online since my palate is different and figure it may gear towards american palates only. I was wrong! I ordered the coconut shrimp at least 3x during my stay. It is really the best thing I have eaten in my life. Jumbo shrimp battered in a coconut milk liquid, coconut flakes,fried, and paired with broccoli and mango puree. Delish! Now the ceviche is VERY good as well. My husband had various ceviche prior to this trip and he says this is the BEST ceviche. The right sourness and saltiness. Also he LOVES the fish taco. He is very particular on fish taco as that is one dish he loves. He said it was perfectly seasoned and cooked. He enjoyed it very much. On top of this, there was complimentary breakfast with your stay. We enjoyed the breakfast and it was filling. It's your typical american breakfast and very yummy. I have to say I am not a fan of beans but the breakfast at times comes with refried beans. I had a little taste and it was very good and devoured it. We ordered drinks and they were good as well. The service was Superb! Juan was our waiter on some days and he is fantastic. Everyone else was very very friendly.

Location: Smack on the beach front and love it! There wasn't much a beach since it was washed away but that was not an issue. It's not the hotel but mother nature. We utilize the loungers and love that it is reserved for hotel guests as a priority. There was probably 3 other guests during our stay so we had no issues with loungers. It was low season and loved the quiet area. It is 1 block away from 5th avenue so great location.

Overall, we LOVE this place and will definitely return. Great price for the location, superb service from the owner to the workers, and really recommend this place. I had friends who visited Tulum, MX in July 2013 and I requested for them to have lunch at PM. They stopped by and ordered the coconut shrimp and said the same thing. They LOVED the coconut shrimp.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Lilpbc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2014

Our first time at this resort in Playa. Have stayed on 3 other occasions in an All Inclusive in PDC but were looking for something different..To walk just steps to the sand was amazing. The included breakfast Was all we needed until dinner, with numerous options for food and drink on 5th ave. The fridge in the room was very cold. Walked to Wallmart for Beer and Rum. The hotel provide a litre of bottled water every day which was a nice touch. Lunch was served at the hotel as well until 6 pm with a great menu. The coconut shrimp was out of this world. We stayed in room 202 with a lovely view of the ocean from our balcony and beautiful sea breezes that we enjoyed every night.
The beach was tight, as chairs were very close together, but included umbrellas. We were able to meet many wonderful people.
Service was friendly and very unobtrusive. We were treated amazingly by all the staff including Aniceto on the beach. He was willing to do whatever we needed. Carlos and Juan, our waiters each day were so kind and always with a smile on there face. Pablo at the front desk gave us numerous options for fun in town, and Fidel kept our room spotless along with beautiful towel art everyday.
We are planning our next vacation to Playa Maya right now and this time we will stay longer then a week. Loved everything about our stay. Thank you to Steven Ryberg who has hired the best staff ever .Looking forward to seeing you soon.

Room Tip: second or third floor with the ocean view and sea breezes were worth a little extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank janetubiera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 February 2014 via mobile

On the beach (check), clean rooms with cold AC (check), Friendly staff (check) and good food (check). This hotel is exactly as advertised and I doubt we will bother trying another hotel when we return. The perfect home base for everything Playa Del Carmen has to offer. This will be our beachfront home whenever we are in PDC!

Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
7  Thank jsa1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#6 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
495 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Colibri Beach
Hotel Colibri Beach
#117 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
219 reviews
0.3 mi away
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach Club
Maya Villa Condo Hotel & Beach C...
#61 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
468 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#11 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
868 reviews
0.2 mi away
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Beach Club
Villas Sacbe Condo Hotel and Bea...
#148 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
96 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#41 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £78 - £240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ebookers and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing