We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Clean Hotel with #1 Staff”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #100 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Clean Hotel with #1 Staff”
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 10 nights in March.. Enjoyed having a room on the water with a small balcony. Had Wi-Fi for our laptop computer to check e-mail and read our local paper from back home every morning. Had a huge bed that was always decorated with towel art each day. The mini fridge kept our water and beer cold.
Walking distance to 1st class gym called Evolve each morning that kept us fit, as that's what we do. Also walking distance to Wall-Mart for drinks and snacks too. Breakfast is included in the package and was very good!! For lunch we enjoyed everything they had on the menu and the price for beach front was reasonable. The beach loungers are close together, but that's the way it is in all off Playa. The staff was the friendliest bunch, they will let you be, or wait on you as much as you want. When in Playa we will always consider this hotel.
that made out spring vacation one to remember

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rbcamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

656 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    485
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
110
304
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with my mother, we both enjoyed it and would stay again. The staff work incredibly hard and were very helpful. Hotel is located right on the beach so entrance may be a little difficult to locate If you don't know the area. After confirming your res You will be given detailed instructions on how to enter the hotel. Breakfast is very good you are given about 4 different options and its served right on the beach. the beach is probably one of the nicest beaches in the downtown area. I was a bit worried about noise from the hotel that is being remodeled next door. It was not a problem at all, I heard no noise at all. Rooms were very clean and decent sized. Would not hesistate to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I (both 29) stayed at Playa Maya from May 18-23. Our stay was everything we hoped for!

Food:
The fish tacos here don't get enough love. They're amazing! We liked them better than the coconut shrimp. We ordered the tacos a few times during our visit. Included breakfast was also very good. Asked for chorizo and eggs (not on the menu) and the staff was happy to oblige. Waiters were friendly and very helpful.

Rooms:
Room was very clean. Each day we'd return from the beach or 5th avenue the room was clean and ready for us. Had drinks out on our small balcony one night. Perfect size for two.

Staff:
Pedro was our favorite. Gave us directions to a live rock music bar that we loved (kitxen on 5th ave.) Pedro also called a cab for us to get to Xcaret the next day and makes the best mojito I've ever tasted.

Overall:
The owner's wife greeted us as we hung out by the beach on one of our last days. This place met every mark. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

You have to enter this hotel from the beach side, but after you get in there it is worth it. The prices are really reasonable, the rooms are adequate and the restaurant is excellent. The service is outstanding. If I hadn't bought a condo in Playa, I would stay only here, every trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60LOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from 8 nights at Playa Maya, another great stay and the beach came back to make it even better! Friendly service from Pablo at the front desk and all the folks working the rooms and the restaurant/beach. Nice to meet the owner also, who was very friendly and eager to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. Best value in Playa!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tippboyLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014

I just got back from 10 days at the Playa Maya !! This place is awesome !! The owner greeted me as I walked out of my room toward the beach to make sure everything was OK . The service was very good - the servers in the restaurant always went out of their way for us .

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hiked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Southampton
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 May 2014

I got back last week from 10 days in Playa Del Carmen. We chose Playa Maya because of all the great reviews. I think perhaps this builds a 'hype' that the hotel doesn't quite live up to, but never the less it is a great hotel, friendly, clean and has a great location. Very good value for money if you get a sea view room.

A few things it lacked for us (married couple aged 27) was music around the pool, a bar with any sort of atmosphere and a way out of the hotel where you didn't have to dodge the tide and have sand on your feet for the rest of the night out. But these aren't deal breakers.

the beach outside IS rocky but you walk two mins in either direction and you can swim no problem and the beach is stunning!

Fifth avenue s directly on your doorstep , but when you come in past 11pm, the bar at the hotel is closed and the gates are locked so you have to get the security man to let you in (once he's seen you room key). I felt a bit like a naughty teenager who had broken curfew, but it was quite funny.

The rooms are big and the maid comes (very early!!) every day and does a great job. As soon as your down for breakfast she is in there so do bring all your bits with you if you want to go out.The Deluxe rooms have large balconies but the superior only have tiny ones. Beautiful views of the sea though.

The food at the hotel was delicious, but quite expensive. About £25 for two people to eat lunch, whereas if you travel off the strip (Ay Chabela is a great shout, two meals with drinks about £10 or La Taberna is BOGOF on drinks 6-8pm and that is so cheap and tasty too) it's a lot more reasonable.

Everyone wants tips for something so just be careful who you accept help from if you don't have any change, this was not pressed on you at the hotel though, very professional.

So over all, the food, security, service, room size, cleanliness and location were very good, just a bit quiet and perhaps not quite 'young' enough for us. The majority of the other guests barely left the hotel whereas we wanted to explore and sunbathe later.

One last tip, don't use taxi's as the ADO bus is 2 mins from the hotel, regular as you like and costs a couple of £ to go to the same place the taxi's charge £££££ for!!! Akumal, Tulum, Xcaret, Cancun, Airport, Chitchenitza... It goes to them all is air conditioned and has a toilet on board too.

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are the best and have a huge balcony (but the same view as superior.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Rachel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#70 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,399 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#135 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#24 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 832 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
3.5 of 5 bubbles 291 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#35 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,333 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#69 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing