We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Vacation”
Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #100 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Vacation”
Reviewed 23 June 2014 via mobile

Upon arrival we were unfortunately met with extreme noise and jackhammers shaking the building from construction next door. We were told it was only for one more day and also that the hotel sent out e mails informing guests of loud construction (not true) we could not take the awful conditions and decided to relocate. We had a very difficult time getting a refund and the hotels response was VERY RUDE as if we were trying to defraud them (very unproffessional) i would be very careful with this hotel. I will not go back

Stayed June 2014
Helpful?
5 Thank Terry S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PlayaMaya, Public Relations Manager at Playa Maya, responded to this review, 24 June 2014
It's an unfortunate reality that unscrupulous people can, if they want to, sign up on TripAdvisor (as this user did just yesterday) and then post whatever they want to about a property, without regard to truth or accuracy and with no possible consequences or repercussions to them. In this particular case, each sentence of this review prior to the conclusion contains at least one clearly false claim, and we appreciate the opportunity to point these out so that other TripAdvisor users who read this in the future are not misled by them.

As unpleasant as it must have been to hear noise upon arrival, due to work on the interiors at the property just north of us, our hotel was not shaking. It is quite a solid cement and steel structure that easily withstood the category 5 winds of Hurricane Wilma in 2005 (among others), and we can assure everyone that it is not so fragile as to quaver at the use of a jackhammer or tile cutter not even on the property. :-)

As the guests know full well (we explained it to them repeatedly), the work in question was going to take place only for a couple more hours on the afternoon of their arrival (ending not later than 6 pm), and another couple of hours the following morning (beginning not before 10 am to noon the next day). So this meant for about 4-5 total hours of their week-long, 168-hour confirmed stay with us. (All that turned out to be true, in the end.)

Turning to the topic of emails, well of course one might well ask, how could any one party of guests possibly know what emails the hotel did or did not send to other guests entirely unknown to them and who had come and gone again before they even arrived at the hotel? Yet here, these guests claim to possess such knowledge. In fact, we _did_ send emails to all sorts of guests slated to stay with us _at the beginning of the previous month_, when the neighboring property went unannounced and full bore into such work for close to 4 weeks. We also repeatedly explained to the guests writing here that they didn't receive any such email only because we had no warning that there would be a sudden, brief restart of the work (due to some small unfinished or forgotten aspect of it) that unfortunately coincided with their arrival, after the work had apparently ended and there had been no such noise over the days prior to that. Indeed, other guests who had already been staying with us for a few days, and who these guests fairly well accosted in the reception area, confirmed this for them, but to no avail. (As those guests later told us, they were just beyond reasoning with, at that point.)

Moving along, these guests quite clearly _could_ in fact "take it", again contrary to what they claim here, as their first action after checking in and being shown to their room and using it for a while was to return to reception not to ask or complain about the noise, but rather to inquire as to whether we could move them to a higher floor room of the same type, for the enhanced view a slightly higher floor can naturally provide. Furthermore, even after the discussion of the noise issue had been ongoing for some time, they indicated that they in fact wanted to stay even that first night but that we would have to make things free for them to do so. So clearly it was tolerable to them, even during the brief period when it was still going on.

Now, we had already offered them a reasonable and significant discount, in light of the situation, and had even improved upon the offer, but these aspects of their behavior began to suggest that they had motivations unrelated to the noise issue. That view was then corroborated when they suddenly, inexplicably began complaining about bad service and how rude our staff had been to them, an issue they never clarified and had never mentioned prior to that point. (We were boggled as they'd hardly had a chance to experience our service at all yet, having only just checked in and done basically nothing else at the hotel.) In any event, we were certainly never rude to them, we only attempted to respond to their concerns, to explain the situation to them in a normal and helpful fashion, and to make some arrangements that would make them more comfortable during the brief noisy period. They, however, returned to the room, gathered their things, tossed the keys back at our receptionist and walked out of the hotel, later refusing to respond to any of our attempts to contact them regarding the matter. Their only parting comment was that we would have to "take it up with Visa".

Finally, we never used any word like "defraud". However the guests in question initiated a dispute with Visa not only about the noise but also claiming, in writing, that they'd never been informed of the cancellation / refund policy. This was patently false, given the many, many times we present that to all our guests during the booking process and even the signature of one of the guests on a form stating that they understood and agreed to those very terms. At another point in the process, they changed their argument to Visa significantly with yet another complaint that had curiously never been brought up at any earlier point: that what we had provided was not as described. This was also patently false. It remains unclear here whether they were claiming that the room itself was somehow wrong, or the hotel was, say, not actually on the beach or some such thing, or whether instead they were alleging that we had promised them that no noise would take place nearby, even for a relatively short period during their stay, _and even emanating from outside our property_. Of course we would not and could not ever promise any such thing, any more than we might for example promise someone that there would be no rainfall at any point during their stay. (A review of the correspondence furthermore indicates that the guests never even mentioned or asked about noise concerns during the booking process.) We finally gave up and took a loss of some 1,650 USD because of this seemingly endless stream of new complaints and arguments never previously brought up. We will leave it to others to decide if the word the guests use here properly applies, or what word might fit the situation best.

In the end, again, the unfortunate reality is that people can sign up here and post what they want. However, the saving grace is that other TripAdvisor users who read this in the future can of course also decide for themselves, based on our overall record and the comments from so many guests here and our various awards and so forth, what kind of establishment we really are and what kind of experience they are likely to have here with us.

Stephen Ryberg
Public Relations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    484
    123
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
109
304
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 June 2014

My family of 5 hasn't traveled much, so when we decided on Mexico, we didn't know whether we should go AI or not. I am SO thrilled we chose Playa Maya (based on all the great reviews here).

The rooms were perfect: we stayed in the Economy Suite with kids 16, 13 and 10. It is not fancy and there is no view, but plenty of light. We didn't care-we came for the sun, surf, food and people. Kids loved the towel animals-different every day. 10 year old tried to hoard them in the closet so she could have a whole menagerie.

The staff was beyond wonderful. We were told that the staff is kept on year round, although the place was nearly empty when we were there in early June. Thus, they are a long-term, dedicated, professional, not to mention happy, group. We loved getting off-5th restaurant ideas from Pablo, and practicing our Spanish with Juan in the morning over the fabulous breakfast.

The location on the beach, just off 5th, near the Cozumel ferry and the bus station, can't be beat. The rocks near the hotel posed no problem, we swam to either side of them. They also provided a good place for the kids to search for little fish and shells.

The food was fantastic and the service better. On our last night there, we had a long conversation with the delightful owner. We loved every minute of it and I can't wait to go back.

p.s. I loved that it could only be reached by trekking through the sand. I had sand on my feet all the way home to Minnesota!

Room Tip: If you don't mind not having a view, the Economy Suite was a great deal!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MinnesotaJaneO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Port Huron, Michigan
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Stayed for 10 nights in March.. Enjoyed having a room on the water with a small balcony. Had Wi-Fi for our laptop computer to check e-mail and read our local paper from back home every morning. Had a huge bed that was always decorated with towel art each day. The mini fridge kept our water and beer cold.
Walking distance to 1st class gym called Evolve each morning that kept us fit, as that's what we do. Also walking distance to Wall-Mart for drinks and snacks too. Breakfast is included in the package and was very good!! For lunch we enjoyed everything they had on the menu and the price for beach front was reasonable. The beach loungers are close together, but that's the way it is in all off Playa. The staff was the friendliest bunch, they will let you be, or wait on you as much as you want. When in Playa we will always consider this hotel.
that made out spring vacation one to remember

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rbcamp1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Las Vegas, Nevada, United States
Level Contributor
42 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 June 2014

Stayed here for 5 nights with my mother, we both enjoyed it and would stay again. The staff work incredibly hard and were very helpful. Hotel is located right on the beach so entrance may be a little difficult to locate If you don't know the area. After confirming your res You will be given detailed instructions on how to enter the hotel. Breakfast is very good you are given about 4 different options and its served right on the beach. the beach is probably one of the nicest beaches in the downtown area. I was a bit worried about noise from the hotel that is being remodeled next door. It was not a problem at all, I heard no noise at all. Rooms were very clean and decent sized. Would not hesistate to stay again!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sammie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fresno, California
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014 via mobile

My husband and I (both 29) stayed at Playa Maya from May 18-23. Our stay was everything we hoped for!

Food:
The fish tacos here don't get enough love. They're amazing! We liked them better than the coconut shrimp. We ordered the tacos a few times during our visit. Included breakfast was also very good. Asked for chorizo and eggs (not on the menu) and the staff was happy to oblige. Waiters were friendly and very helpful.

Rooms:
Room was very clean. Each day we'd return from the beach or 5th avenue the room was clean and ready for us. Had drinks out on our small balcony one night. Perfect size for two.

Staff:
Pedro was our favorite. Gave us directions to a live rock music bar that we loved (kitxen on 5th ave.) Pedro also called a cab for us to get to Xcaret the next day and makes the best mojito I've ever tasted.

Overall:
The owner's wife greeted us as we hung out by the beach on one of our last days. This place met every mark. Will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cynmrt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tampa, Florida
Level Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 May 2014

You have to enter this hotel from the beach side, but after you get in there it is worth it. The prices are really reasonable, the rooms are adequate and the restaurant is excellent. The service is outstanding. If I hadn't bought a condo in Playa, I would stay only here, every trip.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 60LOLO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Long Island, NY
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

Just back from 8 nights at Playa Maya, another great stay and the beach came back to make it even better! Friendly service from Pablo at the front desk and all the folks working the rooms and the restaurant/beach. Nice to meet the owner also, who was very friendly and eager to make sure that we were enjoying our stay. Best value in Playa!

Stayed May 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank tippboyLongIsland_NY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
292 reviews
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#67 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#137 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Carmen Hotel
The Carmen Hotel
#4 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
384 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#25 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
838 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#44 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,415 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing