We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Family atmosphere makes for great stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Playa Maya

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Playa Maya
Ranked #99 of 213 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
St. Paul
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Family atmosphere makes for great stay”
Reviewed 14 February 2010

We stayed at Playa Maya the first week of February. This was our third time. What makes this hotel so special is the family atmosphere. The entire staff does their best to make your stay enjoyable. I attribute this to the management provided by Delmy and Steve. When you talk to the emplyees they tell you that they really enjoy working there. This year the beach had recently been expanded and was much deeper than other years. The fish tacos are the best I have had anywhere. The location is perfect for an easy walk to restaurants and night life on 5th avenue, and the hotel is quiet at night, making it easy to get a good night's rest. It is a great place to flush your mind of life's stresses.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TravelLadySt_Paul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    482
    122
    25
    11
    12
See reviews for
109
303
23
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Oklahoma
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 February 2010

I used tripadvisor to select this hotel and the positive reviews were right! We stayed in 202 which had a balcony and ocean view and it was great, all that I had hope for! The staff was so helpful, the room was very clean, the remote controlled A/C worked great and the breakfasts were yummy! It was nice to have the small frig in the room and the beds were very comfortable, too. We were delayed arriving by a snow storm two days and we were able to add two days in a different room and were not charged extra for the days we missed. We really appreciated that. One morning was windy, and they brought our breakfast up to the room.

  • Stayed February 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KathyandAndy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
120 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 February 2010

We stayed here over the Christmas break this year based on all the positive input from the Tripadvisor reviews. The reviews were right on the money. The staff is very pleasant and goes out of their way to make you feel like you're at home. The location is perfect! One block to the middle of 5th Avenue and you can walk in either direction to many great restaurants. We never felt uncomfortable and didn't worry about our 18 and 20 year old sons that stayed out at night. We're returning for the same period next year and would recommend this hotel highly. It's unpretentious and a nice break from the all-inclusives that we've stayed at up until now. We can't wait to get back!

  • Stayed December 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank BeachDLT-50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Natick, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
167 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 February 2010

We stayed at Playa Maya 24th to 27th Jan 2010. When we arrived 2 staff were there to greet us and carry our suitcases over the sand to the hotel. We were late booking so did not have a sea view but had a jacussi room which meant we had a small secluded shady space to sit in which was wonderful. The breakfast and lunches were great - basic and tasty. The staff were exceptionally friendly. Easy access to main street and all attractions.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank MOWO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Arkansas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 February 2010

I meant to write a review as soon as we returned home around this time last year. I never did, but have thought of our time at Playa Maya so frequently that I still wanted to say just a few words.
The comfort, staff friendliness, beautiful beach, delicious food ...all were better than even expected! I POURED over tripadvisor when I planned our vacation & was SO happy that all those previous reviews were exactly right - I HAD indeed found the best beachfront hotel there was! We even decided to stay a bit longer than originally planned because of what a great time we were having, but they were booked after our reserved time. So, we just went over to Cozumel & tried out an all-inclusive. We quickly learned that that was NOT for us & that the charm, calmness & personal attention at Playa Maya was definitely the best. Oh, and we stayed in both the beachview & the garden room (we knew beforehand that we'd need to change rooms due to being booked). I must say that we thoroughly enjoyed both rooms. The beachview was, of course, beautiful, but the quiet, pretty garden space with a jacuzzi for the 2 of us was wonderful as well. Also, the hotel is very quiet at night (which we loved) but is also so close to everything that if you want restaurants, bars, etc...it's a VERY short walk away. HIGHLY recommend Playa Maya!!

  • Stayed January 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank judark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
michigan
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 January 2010

To sum it up Quick,...big group every february,..it's an annual thing....Love it every year! Great Staff, love them all, great mgmt! Rooms,..always clean with fresh stock of water, and cute towels on the bed to make ya smile,..restaurant awesome food and service,..pool not huge but will to to cool off if ya don't like the oceans salt.!! AWESOME! Can't wait to go this feb.! 2 weeks!!!!

  • Stayed February 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank msstylist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton Canada
Level Contributor
47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 January 2010

We stayed at the Playa Maya for 9 nights January 8-17th .This hotel lived up to and surpassed all the good things I had read in reviews .From the moment we arrived we were treated so well.The staff took great effort in making us feel welcome and if we needed anything to just ask.I cannot say enough good things about the people who work there.From Nora and Pedro at the front desk to Jaun the room attendant also all the great people in the restaurant ,Carlos,Othman,and Jesus .we so enjoyed visiting with them all each day .

Our first impressions of the place were how incredibly clean it is .The main reception ,the pool area,and the rooms are kept immaculate.I think this was honestly the cleanest hotel I have ever stayed in .There was alway someone working, tidying and taking care of things.The fellow that cleaned our room Juan was so efficient and it was a pleasure to visit with him each day.He always took the time to teach me a little spanish each day .The next day he would check in with me to see if I remembered last days lessons.We had fun with that.

One of the owner /managers Steve happend to be there during our stay . It was great to meet him as I have communicated with him through booking and on Trip Advisor. The booking process was handled by him very well as I had many ?'s etc and he answered promptly and gave good info.He was out and about with the guests and staff the whole week .each day checking in with us and other guests to see how everything was going.

We enjoyed the breakfast that ws included in our stay everyday.It was plentiful and provided several choices.We also ate lunch there quite a few times and the food was very good.We loved the Coconut Shrimp and split sandwiches with fries for lunch or a late afternoon snack.Our friends had the burger and chicken sandwhich and said both were good.I liked that we just put everything on our room bill and payed at teh end of the week.That was you did not need to carry cash down to the beach .We would write the tips down on the room bill as well.

Something else we really enjoyed was the size of the hotel.From my room to the beach or restaurant was less than a 5 min walk .This is so much better than at the large AI's where it is a 20 min trek to get anywhere.The other advantage to being in a smaller hotel was meeting people.we met so many other guests here more than on any other vacation we have been on.This was nice to be able to visit and share info about different things to do or reccomendations of where to eat etc.It really added to our trip.

While we were there a wedding was going on that week .The wedding was beautiful and held right there on the beach with the reception in the restaurant also on the beach.The staff did an incredible job of helping out with this.Steve and the staff went to great lengths to help make it as private for them as possible blocking off the area as best they could.I had made friends with the bride earlier in the week and spoke with her that night and the next days afterwards she says it was a perfect wedding .

One thing that did occur while we were there that was no fault of the Playa Maya was the beach reconstruction.When we arrived it was happening all the way down the beach and no where near us .As the week went on it stayed down there and did not get any closer .We asked when it would be in front of the Playa Maya and they thought from all they knew it would'nt be until closer to the end of the month .Then on the Friday the crew just came and put up the fence and told staff that the beach would be unusable the next day .This was shocking and very poorly communicated to the staff of the hotel.Seems to me the manager of the Beach Project should have been more forthcoming with info to the hotels . The hotel gave us a 30% discount on our nights that were affected by this.For us it was only 2 days but for some who had just arrived they would be affected longer.The hotel did all they could it seems to find out when and how long they would be without beach access but the communication seemed poor from the workers of the project. Hopefully all is a go now and people are back to enjoying the new bigger beach as they said they hoped to gain 25 meters more of beach form the project.Again this was not any fault of the Playa Maya and to me handled as well as could be .

we loved the area so much with such great access to 5th avenue but also in a quiet spot.
At night you could hear the music at times from teh bar down the beach but barely over the lapping of the waves .

I would not hesitate to recommend this hotel to anyone .Go you will not be sorry .Please feel free to private message me if you have any questions.I will also be writing a few restaurant reviews soon.

  • Stayed January 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank shellster
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Playa del Carmen hotels
0.1 mi away
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Xtudio Comfort Hotel by Xperienc...
#77 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperience Hotels
Illusion Boutique Hotel by Xperi...
#42 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,368 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Mimi del Mar
Hotel Mimi del Mar
#126 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hotel Cielo
Hotel Cielo
#28 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
813 reviews
0.0 mi away
Pelicano Inn
Pelicano Inn
#141 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
289 reviews
0.2 mi away
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Condos Hotel
El Taj Oceanfront & Beachside Co...
#32 of 213 in Playa del Carmen
1,322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Playa Maya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Playa Maya

Property: Playa Maya
Address: | Zona FMT entre calle 6 y 8 Norte, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#21 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#68 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Playa Maya 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Playa Maya is right on the beach and centrally located, just 1 block from 5th Avenue, the heart of activity in Playa del Carmen. Our unusual off-street location and beach-only entrance make us a very tranquil base from which our guests can easily explore all the shopping & nightlife of Playa, along with the other wonders of the Riviera Maya. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com and Ebookers so you can book your Playa Maya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Playa Maya Hotel Playa Del Carmen
Playa Maya Del Carmen
Playa Maya Mexico/Riviera Maya - Playa Del Carmen

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing