We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Entertainment Review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #35 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
1 review
“Entertainment Review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013 via mobile

We are newlyweds and by far the entertainment group kept us busy during our stay with many events like tequila tastings, how to make guacamole sessions, poker nights and all the poolside events like blackjack, surfboard standing and volleyball. This would be the only reason I would go back here, thank you to Alberto, Jorge, Jose, Denise, Jonathan, Diana, Victor and I'm sorry if I missed someone but they were all awesome. Oh and I need to post some amazing pictures of them so they need to update this app.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Danny R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,949 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,860
    2,063
    636
    244
    146
See reviews for
573
6,094
123
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,275)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Playa Del Carmen
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

A must stay!! everyone at the hotel is super accommodating. . excellent service all thr way around. daily activities thru out the day. very clean !!! my only complaint would be the internet connection
. wifi is a bit spotty but the hotel provides free in room calls to the usa .

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Jeannette E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013 via mobile

This was our 3rd visit to Secrets Capri and this was my least favorite of the three times. We stayed from 11/02-11/09. While the food and drink remain excellent, the service was very good, the facilities have seen some decline from my past visits.
I can say we did not have a bad meal and the bar remains top shelf. The addition of the coffee bar on this visit was very nice. For the most part the service was excellent.
Now for the negative. The resort is starting to look dated and appears to be in disrepair from all the leaks that were visible after a day of rain. We had a leak right outside our room that was present all week. The water was mopped a few times a day but the leak was never fixed. This made the marble floor quite fun to navigate. The swim up bar was also closed the entire week. Really disappointing.
The resort was still nice despite it issues, just not as nice as in my past visits. I would go back if I could find a super deal but not at full price.

Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank PPMJAY09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 November 2013

I'm going to start this review by saying that we were married last year at Secrets Wild Orchid Montego Bay in Jamaica and we absolutely fell in love with that place. Therefore, I'm not sure if my review is biased. Also, I can be very picky but I expect to get what I pay for. That said, here we go.

This was our anniversary trip and while I understand that many guests are celebrating something, it is nice to feel special. When we walked in the resort, we were greeted by a women with lovely towels and drink. Impressed so far! Then, I tried to check in. Disaster! First we had booked over six months before with specific directions not to be on a first floor. We spoke to a women and emailed with a specific room request and she said she would honor it. Well when we checked in we were told me received a complimentary upgrade, to a junior suite. Sounds good, right? Until you find out that you were upgraded from a beach view room on the 4th floor to a room facing a street on the first floor. Not an upgrade at all! When we said we did not want the upgrade and showed the women the printed email confirming our room request, she repeated at least TEN times, "This room is better." I hate confrontation, but to the surprise of my husband, I used my BIG girl voice and demanded that this was not an option. After two hours, TWO hours of sitting on the couch, we were called over and handed a card to a room on the fourth floor, still not the room confirmed, but told "It was a better room." Not really so since it too faced the front of the property. So therefore, checkin was a disaster!
When staying at Secrets Wild Orchid in Jamaica, we were made to feel like royalty. Our room was what we paid for, we were congratulated on our wedding, we were even given a free dinner on the beach. At Capri, our anniversary was not even mentioned and the anniversary package we were promised for getting married at a Secrets the year before was never honored. In fact, I had my wedding certificate and the coupon given for the free anniversary package and nights and I was told, "We don't need that!" I wanted to cry!

The room, minus the mishap at checkin, was very nice. It was clean, bed was very comfortable. Room service was fast and pretty good. The light switches were a little tricky to figure out and the water temperature was never very hot, many cold showers. No bueno!

Restaurants were good. Buffet breakfast was great and the hibachi was DELICIOUS! You have to have reservations to sit at the hibachi but if you don't you can still sit at a regular table, which is what we did. The food was absolutely OUTSTANDING! We were so impressed that we wanted to go back the next day and unfortunately, it was CLOSED! Seriously? Anyway, we had buffet and I was not too impressed. When we walked in the man said he had a very special table for us. I started to get excited until I realized he was trying to get us to spend extra money to pay for a table by the window with some special mind. I don't curse but I wanted to say. "Are you f'ing kidding me?" So disappointing. Overall, drinks were ok....a little watered down.

Ok....now to the beach. Again, not sure if I'm being picky but I was horrified. The water was not blue (which may not be the fault of the hotel, could have been that time of year or the weather). However, when we walked up and down the beach, there was so much trash everywhere. Maybe that was not considered the hotel's property but it was disgusting. The lounge chairs around the hotel looked old and beat up. Overall, the hotel needed repairs. At one point, I was sitting in the lobby and a huge drop of water fell on my head from the leaking ceiling. Also, in the lobby was a turtle pond. I am a turtle lover and was horrified by the dead black turtle in there that left a terrible odor in the lobby. Stupid as it sounds, it upset me.

When I go on vacation, I realize that everything is not going to be perfect. But this vacation was nothing but a hassle. It was extremely upsetting to me because we were celebrating our first wedding anniversary and I had high hopes. Now, I have a bad memory. Thank god for my adventurous husband. We spend as little time as we could in the resort and visited Chitzen Itza, Cozumel, and Isla Mujeres. All fabulous! A word of advice, don't pay for a tour. Take a $20 cab to Playa de Carmen and buy a ticket at the bus station. SO MUCH CHEAPER, especially for Tulum and Chitsen Itza. You can check the schedule online by googling the bus company name ADO. Or if you are braver, ask the men by the door to get you a golf cart to the front of the resort. Stand right there by the street and take public transportation. When we went to Isla Mujeres, they were trying to charge us $55 for a cab there and $65 back. We took public transportation bus for $3!!!! Ask them to drop you off at the super Cosco in Cancun and then take a $2 cab to the ferry. SO CHEAP!

Again, overall I would not return to this resort. While the entertainment staff is fabulous, there were just too many negatives. I should never want to cry on vacation! I travel to get away from stress. This was nothing but!!!!

Room Tip: Pay for the beach view and bring proof!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Jessica L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Clyde, Ohio
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I just returned from a week at Capri. it is a great property with a great staff. Beach is a little plain but very nice soft sand with great service. Enjoyed the hotel very much. There are a few issues with leaking roof and walkways wet and slippery. While we were there the surf was very rough and washed away most of the south end of the beach and damaged a massage hut they had at that end. Loved the dinners that we had and it was great to have the room service as an option for those nights when we were just too tired to get dressed and go out after swimming and snorkeling. We did not ever get into the pool as we were on the beach whenever we could. My wife did get sick on the last day we were there. Also on the last day someone entered our room and her sandals were taken, not any thing of real value but frustrating. Even with the bad stuff this place is still worth the trip.

Room Tip: We were on the second floor jungle view and we could see the ocean
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank cazz806
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear valued guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your review about your recent stay at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun with us and the tripadvisor community.

We are glad to hear that your enjoyed your stay here with us and were able to experience the high quality of each service.

Hope to have the chance to welcome you back here at your home away from home.

Kind regards,

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Collinsville, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

First of all, staff is great, shout out to Denisse and Alejandro (They were awesome!), since I played a lot of volleyball. Also, Luis in room service, was great! However, not impressed by getting a sales pitch about their other resorts as soon as we walked on to the resort. Also, why is the jacuzzi tub only for one person, if this is an adult only resort? It needs a lot of maintenance and the electrical work is sketchy. The remote in the room worked half the time, which was inconvenient since it rained a lot while we were there. And, the sliding glass door to our balcony would not lock. This is not specific to just this resort, but all of the resorts need to invest in more blue rafts! Plus, we went to Excellence Riviera Maya last year, so this was a definite downgrade from that resort and our measuring stick for Mexico resorts.

However, the size of the resort was good, the drinks were good and the activities were good. All in all, it was ok. But, knowing what I know now, I would have spent a little extra money and went to Excellence again!

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Baton Rouge, LA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 November 2013

My wife and I just completed our second trip to Secrets Capri and once again we were blown away. The staff is so service oriented and makes you feel at home! It rained several days while we were there but there was always something to do. Jonathan, Kevin, Denise and the rest of the entertainment crew will get to know you by name and keep everyone laughing. Victor at the breakfast buffet is the best and Rita makes one mean omelet! Overall a great trip and we will definitely be back!

Room Tip: We loved our first floor room by the pool - easy access!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank T70817
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 23 November 2013
Dear valued customer,

First of all we want to thank you for sharing your second experience here at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun with all the tripadvisor community.

We're delighted to hear that we exceeded your expectations and you had a blast with all the entertainment staff. We will share your positive comments with all the mentioned staff.

Hope to have the opportunity to pamper you once again here at your home away from home.

Warmest regards,

Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,660 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.8 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,161 reviews
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#27 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,859 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel and Holiday Gems so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing