We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Unhappy with Resort Condition” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #34 of 212 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Playa Del Carmen
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Unhappy with Resort Condition”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

The resort is older and it's age shows in the leaks in the ceiling during our stay. We had a lot of rain and the roof leaked all over the hotel. Considering it has a tile floor, it created very hazardous conditions even though the staff had towels and buckets everywhere. The walls and ceilings had water and mold stains and the resort had a very bad odor especially in the desires bar area and near the showroom. We spent a good portion of our trip in the bathroom, due to Montezuma's revenge. Upon check in our room was not what we expected, and a lot of the amenities had to be requested that should have been in the room upon arrival. In fairness to the resort, we have stayed at two other Secrets Silversands and Maroma. If you have never been to Maroma you probably would not be disappointed in service or resort. But if you have been to either one of those two resorts especially Maroma, you will be disappointed with Capri.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
1 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

8,970 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,874
    2,067
    639
    244
    146
See reviews for
573
6,112
123
69
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,282)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Severance, Colorado
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 November 2013

This was my first time visiting this area of Mexico and it was such a wonderful experience! The resort was smaller but for a relaxing vacation it was perfect! We had a lower level room that came right out to the pool and you were able to see the ocean as well it was beautiful. The staff was very friendly, but the pool activity staff were fantastic there were three that made everything just soo fun Jonathan, Alex and Kevin. We were with a large group an if I had to think of any complaint it did take a while to get our food almost every night but the food was very tasty.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Motogirl05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

I stay in a lot of hotels and have been to a number of all-inclusives. This ranks right up there among the nicest. The food was good to great. Drinks were good. Wine was OK (that's to be expected). Service was spectacular.

We were with a group of more than 60 people and they were very accommodating with our entire group. We hosted a cocktail party for our group as well as a beach party/dinner that was moved indoors due to weather. They were very accommodating and helpful and gracious.

The facility could use a bit of a refresh, as someone else mentioned, but the property was well-kept, clean and I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank HeatherPA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013

My husband and I have stayed at other Secrets & Dream resorts in Mexico and D/R ...as we love the aspect of this chain and were looking forward to staying at another Secrets. As previous reviewers have said they are in desperate need of a new roof and definitely need to do some work on this resort ..until then it's is definitely not a 5 star...pushing a 3.5 star. The weather was awful which no one can control but the little things that set it apart from other resorts.

Cons:
* Housecoats in our room were yellowed and tattered, light outside on our balcony worked once in a while at night and when it was sort of it would crackle and snap, the two uncomfortable chairs on the balconey had moldy seat pads (well one chair did, the other chair only had half a pad), the shower knob that turns the water kept falling off and the a/c made our room like a meat locker.
* With the rain the hallway's were extremely slippery and there was plaster falling down everywhere. The tables and art work were covered in plaster and rain, not the best look. In the cafe coco I went to sit down and the chair was soaked from the rain coming in and same with sitting in the lobby...water dripping onto my head. Not something that I enjoy.
* Food was good at the a la carte restaurants, the only thing is how noisy Portofino was. Trying to have a conversaton was difficult, almost seems the design, acoustics is reason why it was so loud. Other Secrets that has this restaurant, is always so quiet.

The entertainment staff were good and the poolside service was nice, when they had staff on. The swim up bar was closed when we were there which was a downfall. Be carefull going into the pool it's definitely slippery.

Wish there was more of an outdoor bar at night to sit and enjoy, other then the sugar reef at the ocean, which had the most uncomfortable concrete stools. SSS has a great outdoor bar for people to sit around at night and chat.

Make sure you take bug spray as they like to bite at nighttime as well.

It was a trip that we made the best of by going into town a times as the weather was awful but I wouldn't go back to this resort until they some major renovations and upgrades.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jake4567
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

My husband and I along with another couple chose Secrets Capri after looking into several resorts in Riviera Maya to celebrate our 25th wedding anniversary. We booked an Ocean Front Suite through our travel agent, which presented very well. The service and attention by the serving staff in the restaurant and at the pool were really wonderful and the Spa was outstanding. The size of the resort was highly conducive to easy access to activities, despite the fact that not all restaurants were accessible by elevator - they were only accessible by steps, which could be a problem for anyone who is disabled. This however was not the biggest issue with the property.

We arrived at the resort on Tuesday and on Tuesday we had a rain event. Throughout the resort, we saw signs of caution (cones) on the floor to watch our step. The reason they had these signs was that the ceilings were dripping water. They were even painting the ceiling in the lobby area to cover up water spots. Both of our rooms had leaks during our stay. This was not the first time there was a leak in either room as there was mold around the cracks. The doors need more of an overhang to prevent rain from coming into the hallways. Also there was a gap in the door near our room which also needs to be sealed.

Additional cons include: lounge chairs are on one side of the beach and chairs are on the other side. It was difficult at times to find someone to help bring the chair over, which are heavy, so my husband dragged the chair. Staff is not always attentive to details. For example, the soap dish in our bathroom had chips and when my husband told the housekeeper, it was never changed. We were supposed to have bathrobes in our room. We had to call the concierge to have them brought to us. The employees need to be empowered to assist when there are issues. We could not always get through to the concierge from our room. The call would be transferred to the operator, who would not pick up and there was not a way to leave a message.

My girlfriend and I went to the spa and had a Swedish massage which was fabulous. The hydrotherapy prior to the massage got us ready. My massage was done by Margulies who was outstanding and would highly recommend her. My friend's massage was done by Wendy who was equally as outstanding.

One night we went to dinner at Secrets Maroma to the French restaurant, which was one of the best meals that we had. This was truly fine dining at its finest. The only negative was that when we got to the resort we had to wait in the taxi for a larger vehicle as the road was flooded. We were not told this prior to leaving Capri and this was disconcerting.

The food at Secrets Capri was mediocre but there is enough selection that everyone can find something to eat. The breakfast buffet was what we enjoyed the most, especially the French toast.

The wait staff was fabulous, especially Edgar, who served us breakfast every morning at the buffet. The entertainment staff, especially Victor was great. He was very engaging and energetic.

We were disappointed with the Caribbean Ocean. We were expecting crystal blue water and what we saw was cleaner than the Atlantic but you could not see your feet. We still enjoyed going in the water as it was warm and the waves were gentle. We walked the beach and passed several other property and in comparison Secrets Capri clearly has the nicest, cleanest, beach, hands down.

I don't think we would stay there again unless we was sure that the maintenance was fixed. Without this occurring I don't feel that I can recommend this resort.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Melinda H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Richmond
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

This was our second trip to Playa del Carmen. We had stayed at the RIU Palace last year and enjoyed it very much. Our only complaint about the RIU was the bad wine, with no option to upgrade. We decided this year to try the Capri Secrets on the recommendation of our travel agent. The Capri needs a bit of refurbishing, and a new roof. There were leaks everywhere. The décor is very simple, somewhat austere. I prefer the glitz and glamour of the RIU Palace. The food, service and wine selection at the Capri were consistently good. The pool is beautiful and crystal clear clean. The beach was a big disappointment and had we had much beach weather for our trip that would have been a bigger negative. The beach at the RIU Palace is much, much wider, with palm trees for shade and a wide sunny area. The water there was much prettier than at the Capri. In a perfect world I would combine the size, food and beverage service, spa and adult-only elements of the Capri with the beauty, beach and proximity to the little town of Playa del Carmen of the RIU Palace.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with AMResorts

Helpful?
Thank Shelley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

We arrived after a delayed flight from Gatwick on a Saturday evening with one of our Party's luggage missing (offloaded at Gatwick) so not in the best of moods but were greeted by the wonderful staff who did all that they could to ensure that we were straight into Holiday Mode.

We were shown to our rooms which were situated on the third floor on the South Side of the main building. Bed was enormous 4 poster with great mattress. Room was a fair size with mini bar and 32 " TV (why I would want to go to Mexico to watch TV is beyond me) Bathroom was a very strange layout with a glass doored WC looking out into the main bathroom and then through a large "service Hatch" into the main Bedroom area great if you are an exhibitionist but little privacy for anyone. Jacuzzi bath was holed and had been repaired but must have been made for midgets as I couldn't get into it!! I know that I need to lose weight but this was ridiculous!!

Shower was a good size but had very little pressure it needed a pumped system and two days we had no hot water only lukewarm.

Room was cleaned to a very high standard daily and also a turn down service in the evening with nice towel art on the bed.

Patio door didn't lock and patio furniture and general décor were very tired. The hotel is 10 years old I understand and it really needs some money spending on it. There was water ingression in many places throughout the whole complex and a musty smell in lots of areas.

The food was very very good well presented and as much as you wanted.

Pool area was outdated with a pretty small pool and not enough umbrellas to go around the loungers. A lot of the time senseless music was played through the garden speakers modern rubbish and after 3 days I managed to find the volume control behind the sound desk and took it down a few notches. There was then a different type of music thumping out at the bar or from the mobile system used by the entertainment crew for different activities.

Day time entertainment was very varied and mostly good and the service by the entertainers and poolside staff was excellent, however the evening entertainment was fragmented with no cohesion between the events which took place in the Lobby the Dining rooms and the Nightclub bar. You had to move around to follow the entertainment it would have been better to have a full variety show in the Ballroom every night so that we could dine and be entertained for the night in one place.

The one thing in the evening entertainment which was really annoying was the inclusion of the daytime animation team in the shows. Get people to stick to what they do best with the daytime sports entertainment and leave musicians and dancers to do what they do best which is entertain. The team were trying continuously to do silly dances on the dance floor which emptied as soon as they put these records on. They tried to grab people up and onto the dance floor and one thing I noticed was that the people were straight back to sit down again after the song they had been dragged up for. I felt that they could have had one person to introduce the show and the others stand down for the night and get ready for their great efforts in the daytime.

We realised that this was a 95% American destination Hotel when we booked and there are certainly some things that you wouldn't expect to see at more realistic 5 star hotels, they were very loud in the main although we met some lovely people as well from all over the USA.

Doesn't compare to other 5 star Hotels that we have stayed in but with a good facelift and change of evening entertainment could easily be up there. One other thing that did seem strange was the tipping culture like it was expected every time I know that tipping is compulsory in the USA but felt it was over the top here.

Would we go back? Probably not unless it had some changes

Room Tip: Not near the pool if you want peace and quiet!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SimonBarter1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.1 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#56 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 4,694 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.8 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.8 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#26 of 212 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,860 reviews
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 26 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, TravelUp, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Agoda, Ebookers and Destinology so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing