We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Another Fabulous Vacation at Secrets Capri”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 214 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Vacation at Secrets Capri”
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently returned from our 16th trip to Secrets Capri. As usual, everything was exceptional. We have been to many resorts in the Playa Del Carmen area, and always call this resort "our home away from home". We love the smallness of this resort and unlike others, it has true character. The staff can't be beat...they are so genuine and truly want your vacation to be memorable. We have made life-long friends with other guests as well as the staff. A special shout out to Ivan, the Sommelier, Antonio, Portofino manager, and the awesome chef's....Salvio, Enrique, Antonio, Luis, and Columba. Also, we could never forget our favorite bartender Juan, server Oscar, and e-concierge Jose Luis!!! People always ask us why we continue to go to the same resort.....when you have found perfection, why go anywhere else!!!! Can't wait to be back in October!!!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
5 Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,182 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5,982
    2,133
    656
    257
    154
See reviews for
592
6,273
127
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,338)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
wolverhampton
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can i say, really from start to finish ,this was an outstanding holiday. all the staff were very friendly and helpful, shout out to Moses at the seaside grill , and oscar on the beach.. allready planning our second stay also Jonathan on the entertainment staff . was a star. all in all ,i would recommend this hotel to anyone
special mention to Moses and the staff at the beach side grill, they made every night a pleasure x

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
4 Thank tescocarrierbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wall Township, New Jersey
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was my first stay at an all inclusive resort and I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was very accommodating and gracious. While there were many guests there, it never felt crowded. Drinks were delicious. Our room was very spacious and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. We attended a friend's wedding while there, and it was beautiful. Restaurants and food were very good with excellent service. After this experience, I would consider an all inclusive again!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jojothetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked the Capri for 7 nights, unfortunately we had rain for @3 days but the weather cleared up the last 3-4 days of our trip. The resort is very nice and the rooms were good. The food was excellent - especially Portifino's (Victor and both Antonios' took good care of us and provided excellent meals. We also had the special meal prepared after choosing the wine for the meal - it was awesome! The Japanese Hibachi was great too. All the food was good - no complaints.
As I mentioned we did have a significant amount of rain and some areas of the resort had roof leaks - we had one on our suite but it didn't cause any problems for us.
There is no snorkeling - or anything to see underwater - in front of the hotel. You would have to take a boat ride out to the reefs to see fish, coral, etc. If you go scuba diving plan on an hour to the boat and an hour back unless you are luck enough to get a boat at the resort.
We had a very pleasant stay even with the rain. I would recommend it unless you are going for the diving - if so go to Cozumel.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
3 Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hammonton, New Jersey
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We're here now for our 2nd time and having lots of fun! No rain this time - lots of sun! Once again, we met some great people here, especially the new Mr. And Mrs. Hums and their wonderful family and friends! Lots of folks here this time from New Jersey! And Nicole and Tim! And Holly and Greg from Missouri! And the entertainment staff are EXCELLENTE! Victor, Alex, Al, Carmen, Enya, the Hawaiian whose name escapes me right this moment, sorry! And Juan at the pool bar is the best! Elisio and Charlie keep the drinks and food coming at the pool! And Laura makes the best Irish coffee in the lobby! The food is fabulous and the wait staff are very attentive. I don't know who writes the negative reviews about this place! Just come and have fun! We cant wait to come back for the 3rd time! We love it here❤️

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Lulu1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For starters I didn't choose this resort, we were oddly enough forced into it. I did however expect great things based on the photos and the reviews here. Unfortunately nothing could be further from the truth.

There isn't much to complain about with regard to the look of the resort. However, the photos on the website look about a thousand times better than reality which was disappointing. Also the beach appears to have been massively eroded by a hurricane or two making it smaller than what was pictured. It also wasn't a particularly nice beach, to which most commented that they had just had a hurricane. However, when we saw the beaches near Tulum and Playa Del Carmen we were shocked as they were absolutely gorgeous. Although I don't think this bothered many people as the vast majority of guests were from the US and seemed to prefer the pool over the beach. I don't really see the point of going on vacation if you are just going to sit by a pool, but who am I to judge.

The rooms were decent, although, once again, looked much better in the photos. Also a warning to other travelers, turn on your occupied light when in the room. The amount of times that the staff visited the room in one day must have been at least 5. We weren't in the room much, but every time we were it felt like someone was ringing our door bell about something. And if you don't answer it within 10 seconds they'll come in, which can lead to some awkward situations. Additionally the cleaning service couldn't seem to take a clue that we had the A/C turned off every day. We would come back to the room after the maid had been there and the A/C would be cranked to uncomfortably cold levels. So cold in fact that I caught a cold during our stay.

The food service was one of the real disappointments of the resort. People claiming that the food here was good are absolutely clueless. We ate at every single restaurant and I had 2 dishes that I could call good. One was the whole fried crab and the other was a steak. However, I found it odd that the previous night's steak was so horrible and this steak so good. When I probed further I found out it was the steak for the wedding about 100 feet away. The italian restaurant was downright abysmal. I had a fish carpaccio that was still frozen and a steak that been frozen not too long ago and wasn't even cooked evenly or all the way through. The restaurants for which they had a dress code were actually worse than the others!

Drink service was equally bad. I tried about a dozen different specialty cocktails that were all generally bad. The best drinks and cocktails were either straight shots or ones I mixed myself. The pool bar can get crowded and they only had one bartender servicing it. Quite obviously this seemed to be the popular spot with US travelers who were boisterous and incessantly drank the entire time.

Overall staff were attentive and courteous with a few minor exceptions. Those dealing with transportation services were extremely attentive and were full of helpful advice. I do wish the hotel had a shuttle into Playa del Carmen for free instead of being forced to pay a taxi service $20 each way. Also if you need money the hotel will charge you a 10% fee, which I consider egregious. And don't bother with the on site ATM as that will charge you even more, in some cases double that!!

The resort had plenty on site activities for those wanting to stay occupied and were very good about delivering the day's activities (And they should be since they were in your room so often!). However, the nightly show had the production values of an 8th grade musical, but the older folks seemed to enjoy it. They also had plenty of excursion opportunities but value wise I'm not sure they were worth it. We were able to do much more in less time by renting a cab for the day which ran about $200 for 11 hours. Also if you have 4 people in your party you can shove them all into the cab for the same price.

I'd have to recommend people pass on this resort. There was really nothing that stood out for us to have made this a worthwhile trip and the food just about ruined it. For the money there are better and cheaper resorts in the Dominican and I'm sure in Mexico as well. Furthermore please please please take tripadvisor reviews with a grain of salt, they really need to implement an trusted review program.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Brsullivan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 16 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First of all thank you for taking the time to review our resort. It is a very satisfying feeling that someone takes the detailed time to share his experience with us. We do wish to extend our most sincere apology to any inconvenience. We do feel very sorry that you did not enjoy your stay and most important for not meeting your expectations.

Should you require further assistance, don't hesitate to contact tus.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Snowmass Village, Colorado
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2014

For an "all-inclusive" type of VK this place is great! We visiting for a wedding; it was well done and beautiful. Service and food were wonderful! Our "garden room" was beautiful and we even a a little view of the ocean. The dress code for the indoor restaurants is kinda silly for men. They make you wear shoes, pants, and collared shirt..... Not typically things one thinks to pack for a beach VK.

Room Tip: We paid for the least expensive room and we were very pleased and surprised.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank jmoss54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#58 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 5,044 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#49 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,352 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
17.7 mi away
Breathless Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#32 of 214 in Playa del Carmen
4.5 of 5 bubbles 3,966 reviews
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LoveHolidays, Ebookers, Southall Travel, Expedia, TravelUp, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Priceline, Travelbag, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing