We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A great holiday”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #39 of 217 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed 11 June 2014

Where to start, spent a wonderful 10 days at Secrets Capri. We were a little cautious about going to the resort after the mixed reviews, but as soon as we arrived we knew everything would be ok. We arrived after the 3pm checking time so went straight into our rooms which after travelling for over 13hrs was great. We found our feet and way round resort and then settled in for a lovely dinner at the seafood restaurant, yes there was a bit of a wait, but armed with buzzer we headed off for a few drinks in the bar, and didn't have to wait longer than 30 mins. There were no problems getting sun beds by the pool the whole 10days we were there, umbrellas are a bit short in supply but it doesn't help that people who moving them to just between their 2 beds instead of the 4 beds they are put between and its a great way to start chatting to other guests.

Entertainment at the hotel is excellent the guys (Al and Jonathon in particular) work hard all day and night to keep guests entertained, you can do as much or as little as you like and they leave you alone if you are not interested, we had great fun watching some of the antics they got up to... Well done guys.

The food is good and at some restaurants is excellent our favourite was Portofinos but sampled them all and no compliants from us. Drinks were fine, the wine served was good, did not see the point in buying the bottles from the wine cellar option. The staff work really hard to make sure you enjoy your holiday a couple that stood out was Laura in the Lobby bar we looked forward to talking to her, she always had a smile, another was Perla at Portofions.

Our room was kept clean and tidy, we did encounter a bit of a musty smell when you 1st go into the room but that soon disappears and to be fair we where not in the room that much. Make sure you put your DND light on otherwise you tend to get disturbed by the cleaning staff.

Loved Mexico, loved this resort, Loved Adults only gives you the break that you need.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank FREDJNR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (10,289)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

5,337 - 5,343 of 10,289 reviews

Reviewed 11 June 2014

Stayed for 7 nights at the Secrets Capri, below is my experience:

Pros:
- Honeymoon package offers great value - perfect resort for honeymooners!
- Excellent customer service, handled my incident report with professionalism
- Clean areas, clean beach
- Nice variety of food, although some of the food menus weren't accurate when stating something was gluten free - needs revision.
- Evening activities are fun, hosted daily at the resort around 7-9pm.
- Friendly staff that helped us learn basic Spanish

Cons:

- Menu's need to be updated to "properly' reflect gluten free items
- We had $160 stolen from INSIDE our hotel room (the main reason this review . 1 $100 bill stolen from my backpack and 3 $20 bills taken from my wife's purse. We HIGHLY recommend you put the money in the safe they provide as soon as you arrive to your room. Granted, it's completely unacceptable to have property stolen, regardless if it's in a safe or not. I reported the incident to management, they preformed an investigation but were unable to obtain a confession; thus, they couldn't replace the money. They did; however, offer my wife and I a free spa session worth $200 each ($400 total), and we happily accepted. Overall, the hotel isn't responsible for your belongings and without video surveillance to prove the cleaning lady (or whoever came into the room & stole the money) actually stole the money, you are at the mercy of the management (again, not condoning what happened just understanding of the circumstances).

Overall: We would recommend this resort to friends and family.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank shanem288
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

I do not book my transportation through Amstar as recommended because their prices are much higher than other companies. I always use Canada Transfers and Ramon and Manuel are the best. The charge for round trip to Secrets Capri is $60. They are always there on time waiting for me with a cold towel a cold beer and a big smile. Makes me feel like I've come home again.

Upon arrival at Secrets Capri we were escorted to the main check in area. I asked about preferred check in area and was informed they don't have one nor a preferred club room. I found this surprising as I knew they used to have one but no big deal, especially after finding out that Coco Café went into where the lounge used to be. Love Coco Café so it was a good trade off. Our room wasn’t ready, which is normal for an early arrival, and when it finally was, after 4pm, we were given only one key. That I found to be unusual but was told they ran short and could we come get another one tomorrow. No problem. I especially liked that through UVC we had been upgraded to ocean front. All in all check in was fine.

Our room was a corner ocean front (#219) and while much smaller than the rooms at Secrets Silversands was still fine. Nice balcony with two lounge chairs and a table with two chairs as well. Regular amenities for Secrets preferred guests being the Pringles, M&M's and 3 airplane size bottles of spirits. I have become used to the full size bottles that other resorts offer (Hard Rock, El Dorado, Palace Resorts) and now find the airplane size of spirits kind of cheap. But hey I still love the Secrets resorts so it is what it is.

Like everybody I cannot say enough about all the staff. Across the board they are helpful, friendly, and truly seem to love their jobs. The entertainment staff are great at getting everyone involved and really keep the action going. The servers around the pool and beach really work hard at keeping your drink fresh and always asked if we wanted to order food, although we never did. Housekeeping did a wonderful job as did our mini bar guy. We never had a bad server and they were only good, better and the best. Everyone works so hard and all are well worth the tips we dole out during our stay. Please don't be fooled into thinking all inclusive really means tips as well.

Just loved the beach grill for lunch. For dinner my favorite was the chef's dinner. It was simply amazing! Yes, you need to purchase a bottle of wine but with the coupon discount it was well worth it. We only found out about it by overhearing our server telling the party next to us about it. Food across the board was very good as was the service in all the restaurants.

The shows were really worth going to. They were actually better than Secrets Silversands but that could just be because I've seen the shows at SSS to many times.

The tennis courts on the other hand are a complete joke. They haven't been worked on since we were there 7 years ago and they were bad then. The surface is like an astro turf and it's ripping in places so it's actually pretty dangerous. My husband caught his foot in a loose section, fell and tore his arm up pretty bad. Didn't stop us from still playing, but it's a real shame that they have not fixed the court yet.

There was a storm during the last three days of our stay. It was raining on and off but mostly on and that is when things started getting worse. Mind you the staff, service, food, and fun was still all there in spades but the disrepair of the resort really started to show. I became aware, then simply amazed that Secrets Capri has been allowed to become so run down. Our room had at least three leaks so we had to maintain the towels all over the floor but even worse was the rest of the resort. There were leaks all over but Desires Lounge and the buffet area had parts of the ceiling that had fallen down. Leaks are not uncommon I suppose and I would not be put off by them, but it is such a shame that a great resort has been let go so badly. I love the Secrets properties as is evident by the fact that we are UVC members and travel to Mexico almost every month. While Secrets Capri was a fantastic property in the past, especially for those that like smaller properties, I do not feel it is up to the Secrets standards. I would not go back again or recommend it until major repairs and upgrades have been done.

In summation: I loved the staff, service, food, activities, shows,
am very disappointed the owners have allowed it to deteriorate so badly.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank dawnsdlite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

We recently returned from our 16th trip to Secrets Capri. As usual, everything was exceptional. We have been to many resorts in the Playa Del Carmen area, and always call this resort "our home away from home". We love the smallness of this resort and unlike others, it has true character. The staff can't be beat...they are so genuine and truly want your vacation to be memorable. We have made life-long friends with other guests as well as the staff. A special shout out to Ivan, the Sommelier, Antonio, Portofino manager, and the awesome chef's....Salvio, Enrique, Antonio, Luis, and Columba. Also, we could never forget our favorite bartender Juan, server Oscar, and e-concierge Jose Luis!!! People always ask us why we continue to go to the same resort.....when you have found perfection, why go anywhere else!!!! Can't wait to be back in October!!!

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
5  Thank linda j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2014

What can i say, really from start to finish ,this was an outstanding holiday. all the staff were very friendly and helpful, shout out to Moses at the seaside grill , and oscar on the beach.. allready planning our second stay also Jonathan on the entertainment staff . was a star. all in all ,i would recommend this hotel to anyone
special mention to Moses and the staff at the beach side grill, they made every night a pleasure x

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
4  Thank tescocarrierbag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 16 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

This was my first stay at an all inclusive resort and I was very pleasantly surprised. The staff was very accommodating and gracious. While there were many guests there, it never felt crowded. Drinks were delicious. Our room was very spacious and well appointed with a very comfortable bed. We attended a friend's wedding while there, and it was beautiful. Restaurants and food were very good with excellent service. After this experience, I would consider an all inclusive again!

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jojothetiger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 June 2014

We booked the Capri for 7 nights, unfortunately we had rain for @3 days but the weather cleared up the last 3-4 days of our trip. The resort is very nice and the rooms were good. The food was excellent - especially Portifino's (Victor and both Antonios' took good care of us and provided excellent meals. We also had the special meal prepared after choosing the wine for the meal - it was awesome! The Japanese Hibachi was great too. All the food was good - no complaints.
As I mentioned we did have a significant amount of rain and some areas of the resort had roof leaks - we had one on our suite but it didn't cause any problems for us.
There is no snorkeling - or anything to see underwater - in front of the hotel. You would have to take a boat ride out to the reefs to see fish, coral, etc. If you go scuba diving plan on an hour to the boat and an hour back unless you are luck enough to get a boat at the resort.
We had a very pleasant stay even with the rain. I would recommend it unless you are going for the diving - if so go to Cozumel.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
3  Thank Mike E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SCRE-Concierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2014

Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
1 mi away
Fairmont Mayakoba
Fairmont Mayakoba
#9 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,493 reviews
4.1 mi away
Secrets Maroma Beach Riviera Cancun
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#35 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
4,720 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.7 mi away
The Royal Playa del Carmen
The Royal Playa del Carmen
#10 of 217 in Playa del Carmen
17,067 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
6.7 mi away
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
Valentin Imperial Riviera Maya
#1 of 1 in Playa del Secreto
12,534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#22 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#26 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#31 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range: £197 - £511 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelbag, LoveHolidays, Hotels.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Expedia, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing