We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect honeymoon destination”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #40 of 210 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Wickford, Rhode Island, United States
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Perfect honeymoon destination”
Reviewed 25 July 2014

Flipping through a brochure for Secrets Capri, it looks too good to be true. Up close, the resort keeps every photographic promise. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and very well kept, and the staff is phenomenal. From waitstaff to housekeeping, everyone is friendly and helpful, and it really does feel like a home away from home - true to their "welcome home" introduction at check-in.

We checked in for our week-long honeymoon and were immediately given two glasses of champagne and water bottles. They make everyone feel like a VIP customer. The process was quick and easy, and they gave us a map and rundown of the facility and what we could expect. Help is always easily accessible at Secrets, and the staff is more than willing to offer their recommendations on different excursions or services. Eddie, a member of the waitstaff, was one of our favorite employees, but they were all great! The one downside is that they do spend quite a bit of time trying to up-sell you on things. It can be aggressive at times. We had previously booked a dinner on the beach and an excursion to Xcarat (wedding gifts), though, so we were able to brush off most of the sales pitches pretty easily. We also did a couples massage, which was fantastic, but my advice would be to get a brochure and pick out the services you're interested in in advance. If you visit the concierge with a clear idea of what you want, they won't push too much for additional services. Several nights, there were "Mexican marketplaces" set up near the pool with vendors pushing local wares. I'm not one for trinkets, so you just have to keep your head down and walk by or you'll be stuck there forever.

Our room was very comfortable, located in the center of the hotel with an ocean view. The ocean view upgrade is definitely worth it. You can hear the waves from your balcony, and you get a great look at the entire facility. Being able to see the ocean while you're laying in bed, waking up in the morning, really set the tone for the vacation. It was incredibly relaxing! The rooms are spotless each day, and after turn down service, you can usually expect some rose petals or another nice surprise. The TV channels are mostly in Spanish, but you're in Mexico, so why do you need to watch TV?!

There are six restaurants on site - a buffet (we only ate here at breakfast time, but it was really good with SO MANY options), Asian/Hibachi, Italian, seafood, traditional grill with a little bit of everything and Cactus Club, which is only open during the day until 5 p.m. Cactus Club is right at the edge of the beach, with an incredible view, and has tacos, sandwiches, etc. They will deliver to your beach chair, too, which is great. In addition, there is a daily buffet by the pool with hot dogs, hamburgers and Mexican food mixed in. My husband has celiac disease, so we did not eat in the Asian restaurant for lack of options. The restaurants were all good (not mind-blowing, but consistently very good),and we liked Oceana, the seafood place, the best. The blackened salmon was my favorite meal of the trip, aside from our dinner on the beach. The dinner on the beach isn't cheap, but I thought it was wonderful. The food was amazing (the filet was cooked perfectly!) and so was the presentation, and the service was truly unbelievable. Your champagne never went past the halfway mark before Enrique was topping you off. Enrique also went above and beyond when he saw my camera. He took a TON of photos of us, posing us on the beach, at our table, etc. It was really sweet and I'm so glad we have the photos to look back on. The other dining spot is the cafe, which has some really great desserts if you haven't filled up at dinner. We liked to hold off on dessert at the restaurants and then grab something at the cafe to bring back to our rooms. In the morning, don't miss the Caribbean Frozen Latte made with coconut milk - it was delicious! I looked forward to it every day.

My only real complaint of the resort has to do with the restaurants. On four different occasions, my husband ordered items that were clearly marked as "gluten free." For him, it's not a diet choice - it's an allergy. Thankfully, he told the waiter that he needed to eat gluten free. The waitstaff is very educated about the menu, so they warned him that the options were not, in fact, gluten free. I'm grateful to all the waiters because they instantly knew what he could or could not eat, and they were always willing to make accommodations, but the menus need to be updated to reflect the accurate gluten free options. That's a pretty serious error. Had he not mentioned it, and just trusted the menu, he would have felt very sick - and who wants to be sick on vacation?

As for the beach and the pool, they were both great. It's not a huge resort, so it never felt crowded (we were then in mid-July) and as long as we got to the beach by 10:30, we could easily get chairs under one of the large umbrellas. Mexico is hot, obviously, but the breeze at the beach never stops, so it is very comfortable. It's warmer by the pool, but we usually saved that for late afternoon. The swim-up bar is a lot of fun, and once again, the bartenders are all attentive and helpful. There are a lot of different spots on site to grab a drink, and my favorite was probably Desires, where you could play pool or darts, or play a game. Sprinkled throughout the resort there are a lot of other activities, too, like dance lessons by the pool in the afternoon, exercise (yoga, beach volleyball, etc.), poker games - the list goes on. Every night, housekeeping leaves a guide to the next day's activities, which is really helpful and lets you plan your days accordingly. It lists the nightly entertainment, too, which was hokey at times but still really fun. The aquatic show, in particular, was fantastic.

Aside from the gluten issues with the menus, our trip really was perfect. The resort is beautiful, and so is the view, and I can't say enough good things about the entire staff at Secrets. I hope we will be back!

Room Tip: Spring for the ocean view - it's worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Meg F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun and for the wonderful description of your recent experience. Rest assure we will do our very best to work and improve the areas of opportunities. We apologize for the wrong information situation about gluten free options. We will make sure our staff is well informed and that our offers are respected when asked for.

We do want to inform you that we encourage guest with special diet needs to contact us. We are more than glad to welcome them and assist with our available options.

Thank you again.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,498 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,185
    2,204
    678
    270
    161
See reviews for
624
6,505
139
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,401)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 July 2014

We loved our experience! The service was absolutely fantastic, and the entertainment crew does a great job of setting up things to do each day so the guests have a little variety from day to day. We loved Portofino for dinner (I think my friends and I ate there 5 times...). This hotel is a definite "repeat" for us!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rossalex2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

A repeat guest is what we look for, welcome to the Secrets Capri family!

It was a pleasure to have been a part of your vacation and help create memories. That is part of the amazing experience that you are to have in Capri. Thank you very much for leaving your comments, we are very excited to know you would return and hope that happens in the near future.

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This was my first real vacation in over five years. It was like a trip to paradise! The food and drinks were amazing! The entertainment was also very fun--the "entertainment team" guys were so friendly. They also had fun outdoor activities like kayaking. The place was always super clean. Everyone, from the bell boys to the chefs to the wait staff, to the cleaning lady, everyone was just so nice, friendly, helpful, and just so welcoming. The hydrotherapy at the Spa was phenomenal!

Can't wait to go back!

  • Stayed July 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Esmeralda T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued customer.

We are very happy that you have enjoyed your stay and you were kind to leave your experience comments. Noting better than to hear from our clients directly their decision was worthwhile.

Hopefully we have the luck of having you again in the near future.

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philadelphia, PA
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 24 July 2014

This resort is amazing!! The entertainment staff is unbelievable with them all being my favorites. Paco, Al, Victor, Nery, Wendy and Amy were amazing with all kinds of energy and excitement about what they do. The pool bar service with Juan is amazing and works so diligently. I wish I could stay all year long. This place does a great job and the room cleanings are above and beyond. 100% recommended.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jmstaudenmayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

Thank you first of all for taking the time to post your comments. We appreciate your trust to give us the opportunity to host you.

We hope you can soon return and relive a much better experience once again!

Best regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ukiah, California, United States
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 July 2014 via mobile

I am sitting in the lobby waiting for the shuttle to the airport after a beautiful, relaxing and romantic week at Secrets Capri. The staff here are amazing. Anything you request is immediately granted with a "It's a pleasure." We had a few low points, but overall the most relaxing amazing vacation I've ever had.
The GOOD: Variety! Many restaurants to choose from: Italian, Seafood, Japanese, Steakhouse, beach front grill, Buffet, a small 25 hour room service many as well as a little coffee shop, similar to a Starbucks. We ate at least once in each and enjoyed ourselves very much, although the Italian and Japanese were our favorites. You absolutely must see Edgar in the buffet for breakfast at least once. His charm and humor were the highlights of our mornings - that and the bottomless mimosas. Another favorite was the Shrimp tacos delivered on the beach. Delicious! We were fortunate enough to have Charlie as our server most of our days poolside and beach front. Definitely the BEST server out there. He always remembered our names, our favorite drinks and greeted us with a big smile and hug! We had the "Romantic Dinner" on the beach our last night. Every course was more delicious than the last. Biggest lobster tails we've ever had. The only downfall was being eaten alive by bugs. Which leads me to
THE BAD: bed bugs! Woke up the first morning covered in bites. The hotel staff was not as responsive as we'd have liked regarding this. Free several phone calls to the concierge and the front desk they finally offered to come "change our sheets." They ultimately agreed to switch our room and didn't encounter them in the new room. Unfortunately I spent the remainder of the vacation covered in horrible itchy bites which doesn't go over well when you are wearing a bikini or sundress. We also got bitten alive at night when enjoying both the Mexican fiesta and the Water Show, although we should have been better prepared for that. Make sure you keep your screen door shut - Mosquitos here are vicious!

All that being said we would most definitely return! The hotel, pool and beach are absolutely heavenly and worth every cent.

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank KarlaVH1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 25 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

Thank you for choosing Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun. We are glad you enjoyed your stay and we are mod thankful you left your comments.

It was a pleasure to have the opportunity to host you and hope you decide to return soon. All we can say about mosquitos is you have to close your screen door and if you go out at night wear some repellent lotion. We have some available with concierge.

Once again thank you.

Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez
E-concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Burns Harbor, Indiana
1 review
Reviewed 24 July 2014

We had a fantastic 7 days at Secrets Capri! We stayed at Secrets Silver Sands couple years ago and had high expectations and Secrets fulfilled them very well. We got there and Edwin did a great job of checking us in and out. We had a great view and loved that we got snacks and hard liquor in our room.
The entertainment team is fantastic. Victor, Paco, and Alejandro (¿Por qué señor) were great about answering questions, entertaining and fulfilling requests when we were at Desires Bar. Water volleyball was my personal favorite with Al, Andi, Alex and Wendy (Mexican rules!!). Wendy you’re a great salsa teacher too! As far as the room service goes we didn’t order too much, but the level of service we got from Hugo took our breath away. Not only did he setup our food perfectly on the table he also moved our table so we had a better view and also offered to take pictures of us for our first breakfast.
As far as the pool bar is concerned we really enjoyed phenomenal service. Jose, Luis, and Clemente are extremely good at what they do. They remember you and your drink choices. My favorite server was definitely Charlie. I can see Charlie in management with the level of service he provides. Quetzal and Mariana were also very good at the bar.
Every night they had amazing shows put together. The water show, the hypnotist, and the fire show were among my favorites. I highly recommend getting a partial (or better) ocean view room, so you are guaranteed a better mini bar, and king size bed, it was definitely worth the minor cost ($200 for 7 days).
After going to Dreams Punta Cana last year, it was such a pleasure to come back to Cancun. The level service is always top notch at Secrets.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank be1ieve1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 July 2014

Myself and my partner stayed here to celebrate my 21st birthday in Feb earlier this year.. The hotel has a very relaxed atmosphere, it was truly an amazing relaxing break.

We were welcomed with cold towels and champagne whilst we waited to check-in. Upon entering our room we discovered more complimentary champagne, chocolates, spirits and crisps. and more drinks in the mini bar.

The food in all the restaurants was outstanding, - our first night in Oceana bar we had Pina Coladas and a meal which comprised of five types of meat! The quality of the food was outstanding and this was even apparent in 24hr room service-, which we made full use of! The selection at breakfast was also amazing, with egg station and choice of cooked, continental meats etc.

The rooms and hotel itself were very very clean and gives the vibe of a very traditional style relaxing Mexican themed hotel. I would recommend this hotel for couples looking to enjoy a very relaxing 5 star experience!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Georgia D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 24 July 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#50 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
663 reviews
2.0 mi away
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Suites & Spa Resort
Platinum Yucatan Princess All Su...
#59 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
5,518 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#44 of 210 in Playa del Carmen
1,418 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,647 reviews
15.5 mi away
Dreams Riviera Cancun Resort & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#21 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#33 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Southall Travel, Holiday Gems, Travelbag, Ebookers, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing