We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Travis Review”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Ranked #38 of 209 Hotels in Playa del Carmen
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Florida
1 review
“Travis Review”
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Had a wonderful experience with our 7 night stay for my sister's wedding. Service was friendly and timely. Entertainment staff was super friendly and funny. We especially enjoyed the company of Wendy and Al. Also, the pool bartender Luis was always very quick with service and super friendly.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travis H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

9,280 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    6,050
    2,154
    662
    258
    156
See reviews for
599
6,351
128
71
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2,361)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
dixon Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

I gave this resort a Very Good grade because, Secrets Capri is a beautiful resort! The property is very well kept and the staff does their best to meet your every wish.
I especially like ONLY needing a reservation for the Japanese hibachi table dinner. All others are as available.
I will say the closing of the steak house and opening of the Mexican restaurant, was not a good idea. Service was slow and the food was average.
We also encountered an incident of missing items of medication from our room on our last night.
Lock your meds in the safe along with all your other valuables. The investigation by security turned up nothing and we were given a small discount upon check out. So they did try to compensate us for the unfortunate occurrence.
I would return to this hotel, however I will not stay on the ground floor in room 126 again.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Patricia L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Martinsburg, West Virginia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Secrets Capri has outstanding customer service; by far it's the best we've ever been treated at any resort we've ever stayed at. We're Disney Vacation Club members and the service at Secrets even exceeds Disney! Every person, from the front desk to the maids, waiters, bar staff, and housekeepers are all very friendly and go out of their way to smile and help you.

Ok...so here's the good and the bad:

The Good: Beautiful resort, friendly people. Food was good but not 5-star by any means. It was hit and miss...the buffet was average at best. The a la carte restaurants were pretty good, we enjoyed the Japanese, Italian, and the Seafood restaurants quite a bit. They also did a poolside "picnic" type of cookout each day and the burgers were awesome. Very large and tasty. My wife and I were there on our anniversary so we did the romantic beachfront dinner and I have to say, the food and the waiters were just incredible. Easily the best dining experience we had all week. A huge thumbs up to Hugo, Mateo, and Enrique. They went out of their way to make our night very memorable.

Oscar was one of the poolside and beach waiters - he was constantly running back and forth to the bar, refilling drinks, and bringing lunch food to people. Very friendly and very efficient. Our morning breakfast wait staff was usually either "Crazy Eddie" or Ruth. Both were excellent, very friendly.

The beach has very warm water and silky sand. However it's very narrow, and there's lots of seaweed. Even with the resort staff constantly raking it up and bagging it and hauling it away, it's just impossible to keep ahead of it.

The pool was very warm and felt great and there is a swim-up pool bar, which was pretty cool.

Ok, the not-so-good:

I really disliked being "stuck" on the resort without a vehicle to come and go as I please. We usually stay in Myrtle Beach and we're used to coming and going all day, riding bikes, going for long walks on the beach, different shopping and dining experiences...and so it's a bit of a shock when you're basically stuck at the same place for the entire week. We did go off-site into Playa Del Carmen a couple times, and we did two excursions - but even then you're still either riding in a bus or a taxi.

This might sound like a minor issue - but I also missed not having Diet Coke for the whole week! They have Coke Light down there, which is a lot like our Coke Zero. It has no calories but it definitely doesn't taste like Diet Coke.

The excursions were good, but they're expensive. We went to Chichen Itza Mayan ruins, which is quite a distance and takes an entire day. We also did the Dolphin swim adventure and that was a half-day trip, and it was great fun.

So would I recommend it? Well, Yes - as long as you realize that you're basically stuck on the resort the whole time unless you have a rental car, or unless you do some excursions. As far as the resort goes, it's a very nice place with good food and good service.

I just wanted to alert you that if you're the type that likes to come and go from your resort, check out other places, walk or bike to different stores or restaurants...then it might not be for you.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Red Oak, Texas, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 16 August 2014

Let me start off this review by saying that Secrets Capri is absolutely one of the most amazing resorts we have ever been to! Amazing enough for us to be repeat visitors in 2 years! We are frequent travelers to Mexico (10 visits since 2012) and of all the resorts we have been to, this is definitely one of the best!

Why?
1) The service – what amazing staff work here! From the wonderful “welcome home” statement along with a glass of sparkling wine and a cool aromatherapy towel the moment we arrive, to each and every staff member going above and beyond each and every detail from drinks to housekeeping to food to entertainment…just “WOW” on the service!!
2) The property – Of every resort we have been to, this has been my absolute favorite for décor and property appearance. I am not into the “modern” décor…I like classic, luxurious elegance…and this place NAILS IT! The marble floors, the elegant chandeliers, the baby grand piano on the balcony in the center of the winding staircase, the hallways with dark wood tables and giant mirrors and elegant painting and flowers…Just a beautiful property! And the lush landscape and architecture set up of the buildings not only makes it a tropical paradise, but it isolates yourself and makes you feel like you are secluded with the romantic privacy of just you and the guests of the resort. Absolutely beautiful place…”old world style”.
3) The food – absolutely delicious! Oceana and Portofino were our favorite, but everything we ate was fantastic. Of all the resorts we have stayed at, this is the only one where the pool service waiters serve us drinks AND food. They have a menu filled with delicious shrimp ceviche and fish tacos…you can also get the staple poolside items like salads and chips and guacamole and so on, but the ceviche and tacos were awesome!
4) The fitness – yes, I said the fitness…this needs to be noted because I have never seen anyone comment about the fitness/exercise aspect of resorts. When we travel, we actually enjoy working out/exercising on the properties. This is the only resort we have visited that actually has a jogging trail. Though I love running on the beach, it really bothers my ankles and knees. Its beautiful, but uncomfortable and sometimes downright painful. This resort has an actual jogging trail that from hotel room and back to hotel room is approximately 2 miles. Running on the trail surrounded by the lush tropical landscape, passing by the “critters” along the way (iguanas, coati mundis, even a deer!) makes the run VERY enjoyable…and the surface is solid and much better on my body. PLUS…their fitness center AWESOME! Several treadmills, elipticals, spin bikes, nautilus machines and free weights, mirrors all over to watch form, and they have not only cold water available to drink, but also “spa water” (chlorophyll water…delicious and good for you!) is ready for you to drink as well. By far the best fitness center we have ever been to anywhere in the world!
5) The atmosphere – so many of the resorts in Mexico are “party resorts”…that is great and we LOVE going to them! But this resort is very laid back, relaxed. Yes, it is a lot of fun – the entertainment staff has great activities and people are drinking and having a blast – but, its only “wild” when it SHOULD be….its not obnoxious all day long and all night long. In fact, its very quiet in the evening during dinner and even later. It was only “loud” during pool volleyball games and that was it. The nights we wanted to go to bed early, we did and it was no problem (and our room/balcony faced the pool area). The attitude of the whole resort and the people there was that they were there for a romantic or quiet get-away, and they respected that, and yet they also had fun as well. What a perfect location for this particular trip with my husband. We went with the hopes to relax and rest as well as a romantic weekend, and this place gave us more than we wished for.
6) The room – A big complaint people have about their rooms in Mexico is that they are too hot. Our hotel room had an individual thermostat and it was set at 70 degrees and it stayed 70 degrees the entire vacation. It was a perfect temperature for us and we were thrilled to sleep through the night every night on our VERY comfortable bed. Though it wasn’t our favorite hotel room, it was very comfortable and we were VERY happy with it and loved (again) the classic elegance décor. Our fridge in our room was constantly stocked as well. We had a first floor room with the patio set directly at the pool and a view of the ocean. The ocean view wasn’t really easily seen from our chairs on the patio, but you could hear the waves perfectly and the pool was actually a romantic scene at night….especially one night when there was a white baby grand piano literally ON TOP of the water in the middle of the pool, and a man (dressed in a tux) was playing romantic music for hours….the lighting of the pool on top of that made that a perfect romantic evening.
7) Water activities – the hobie cats, the kayaks (and the kayak tour)…those were a blast! And for $47 a person we got on a boat, right there at the resort property, and they took us out to the reef to snorkel. They had fish food, so you were immediately surrounded by huge and colorful fish!
8) The beach – okay…this was on the bottom of our “love it” list. Yes, it is very small. VERY small. Only two rows of beach chairs can fit on the beach and then its water. And though we prefer a bigger beach, I will say that the smallness of the beach added to the “isolated seclusion” of the resort. It was very romantic, the sand is soft, the water is swimmable (many swam out there daily). In its quaint way, it was actually quite nice. The staff did a fantastic job keeping it cleaned of seaweed.

We have been to Secrets Capri (twice), Secrets Silversands (4 times), Dreams Puerto Aventuras, Dreams Riviera Cancun, Paradisus Cancun, Omni Cancun, and NOW Jade. Of these resorts only the two Secrets were adults only. My advice to anyone deciding on an adults only resort – go with any Secrets resort. Between Capri and Silversands…if you want to party, go to Silversands (it is amazing also, btw). But if you want a quiet, relaxing, romantic trip, go with Capri. You will NOT be disappointed.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
12 Thank 36HeatherH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 16 August 2014

We had a great stay again . Ivan greated us after checking in and was great to deal with. Also Wendi in entertainment was awesome, this girl was non stop all the time. Give that girl a raise! We had excellent service through out the stay from our room service to our bartenders, Carlos by the pool always checking to see if we needed something. Thumbs up guys. We got engaged at secrets capri and had our 1yr anniversary there. Will be returning soon!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tim B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Topeka, Kansas
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I have been several places, two spots in Jamaica, Dominican Republic, and this was my 2nd time to Mexico, and HANDS DOWN this was the best entertainment staff EVER! I honestly looked forward to the evenings, bc the night time entertainment was that good. The overall experience there, from lounging during the day, to the food (again, one of the best out of the places I've been) to the staff who go out of their way for you, to the fun shows they had at night. Most places, once the sun goes down there really isn't anything for you to do, but not Secrets Capri, they had everything from magic shows, fire shows to cirque de soliel type shows....I'd prefer to try new places (why not, there are so many places in this world to see) but I would definitely go back to Secrets Capri

Room Tip: we stayed on the side that overlooked the front entrance, and it seemed much more quiet than the fri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Jenna L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edmonton
1 review
Reviewed 15 August 2014

Went to restaurant and order a steak came out overcooked and fat. Sent it back to the kitchen and never received anything in return. Room located on second floor and carts were ran back and forth on the tiles which kept us awake half the nights Service around the pool excellent and improved with a small tip to servers.

Room Tip: Stay away from where carts are run up and down all night
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank LuckBeALada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SECRC-EConcierge, E-Concierge at Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, responded to this review, 26 August 2014
Dear valued guest.

First we wish to thank you for taking the time to review our resort, it is a pleasure to have been your host on your recent visit.

We also would like to inform you we are working harder every day to improve our services and exceed future guest expectations. On everyone's behalf we thank you for choosing us and hope to have you back very soon.

For any assistance please don't hesitate to contact us.

Sunny Regards.

Jose Luis Alvarez Espino
E-Concierge
info.secrc@secretsresorts.com
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Playa del Carmen
6.0 mi away
Magic Blue Hotel
Magic Blue Hotel
#58 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
638 reviews
17.1 mi away
Secrets Silversands Riviera Cancun
0.2 mi away
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hotel
Blue Diamond Luxury Boutique Hot...
#47 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
1,380 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.7 mi away
Royal Hideaway Playacar
Royal Hideaway Playacar
#33 of 209 in Playa del Carmen
4,044 reviews
18.9 mi away
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort & Spa
Dreams Puerto Aventuras Resort &...
#10 of 17 in Puerto Aventuras
4,553 reviews
18.4 mi away
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
Zoetry Paraiso de La Bonita
#4 of 25 in Puerto Morelos
2,228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun

Property: Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun
Address: Carretera Federal 387, Chetumal | Cancun Km. 299, Solidaridad, Playa del Carmen 77710, Mexico
Phone Number:
Region: Mexico > Yucatan Peninsula > Quintana Roo > Riviera Maya > Playa del Carmen
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#20 Top resorts Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#27 Family Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#28 Spa Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#29 Luxury Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#30 On the Beach Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#34 Green Hotel in Playa del Carmen
#40 Romantic Hotel in Playa del Carmen
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £££
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun 4.5*
Number of rooms: 290
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun, a proud unlimited luxury resort has received special recognition from the esteemed readers of Condé Nast Traveler Magazine in Mexico and AAA as a Four Diamond Award resort. Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun was awarded the Best for Romance and Best Luxury-World by the 2008 TripAdvisor Travelers' Choice Awards. Only TripAdvisor's hotel awards represent the opinions of millions of travelers. The winners were determined by a combination of the highest traveler ratings and the TripAdvisor Popularity Index, a measurement of overall traveler satisfaction. Situated five minutes from exciting Playa del Carmen and a short 35-minute drive south of Cancun International Airport, the world's second largest barrier reef lies just offshore, while underground rivers, caves and jungles lure adventure-lovers. Bordered by sugar-white beaches and the brilliant, crystal clear Caribbean Sea, this Preferred Club, Unlimited-Luxury, adults-only oasis truly embraces beauty and splendor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Holiday Gems, Southall Travel, Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, TravelUp, Evoline ltd, Traveltool, S.L.U., TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Secrets Mayan Riviera
Secrets Cancun
Secrets Capri Riviera Maya
Secrets Hotel
Secret Hotel
Secrets Capri Riviera Cancun Hotel
Secrets Playa Del Carmen
Riviera Cancun
Hotel Secret
Capri Riviera Cancun

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing